Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from Boston, MA

Nice hotel with comfort

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: quiet and cleanness.
Cons: taxi service is not well managed. The taxi drivers seem not be willing to go to some routes that are less profitable than going to airport.
Location: There is not much nearby. You can take a taxi to nearest subway station: Shanghai Science and Technology Museum.
The hotel lives up to its brand (ClubCarlson). It is in a quiet neighborhood and clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very nice hotel. Room are clean and comfortable. No issues at all. Food is excellent. Staff will try their best to serve you, even if you don't speak any Chinese. The surrounding area has several very good quality restaurants nearby. Only minor downside is that the subway stop is a few blocks away. But otherwise, this is a fine hotel to stay if you need to be in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francisco from Miami, FL

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Location, Amenities, Shops around.
Location: Shops, Park for running, walk.
I was there for only 2 nights. Very nice hotel. Conveniently located, close to Century Park if you want or like to run outdoors. The bar was very convenient. Everything was perfect. I made the mistake to do not book a room with breakfast included since I did not know what would be for offer (Chinese food only or something more western style). The breakfast was the best I had in China during my 15 days trip, the problem was the cost if bought at the buffet door was over us$30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tami from USA

Convenient Location

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is conveniently located next to Thumb Plaza with lots of dining choices and a large Carrefour. The hotel is very clean and in good repair. Breakfast was tasty and diverse. A few complaints, however: I booked a club-level room with breakfast for two people; at check in, I was told that only one person would be allowed breakfast and club privileges. Absolutely ridiculous. Then, while having a lie-in one morning with the "Do Not Disturb" light on, on two occasions people knocked on the door wanting to make up the room, and then called asking if they could come clean. Obviously the phrase 'do not disturb' was not properly explained to the staff. The food offerings during the happy hour at the club lounge were repulsive and consisted only of deep-fried, lukewarm food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Kentucky

Great hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with lots of local restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The truth

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Hotel is 20 min from the bund or pushy / pearl tower or down town area. About 40-70 RNB by cab should be but from experience shanghai taxi drivers will try to rip u off and take u the long way trying to make $100-$150. Then when u tell them u charged to much they just talk re fast in Chinese and u just pay it. The hotel staff was the same. Not much English and not really helpful when it came to the cabs. They do not speak real well but real helpful as much as possible The hotel is located in its own area surrounded by stores and shopping and a strip of stores. It was awesome. It was a small community. We had many choices of resturants and food. Great stores and malls. Bottom line this hotel is not on its own. U can get out of the hotel and walk around to see many stores etc. We picked this hotel to be close to the convention center. 15 Rnb Overall I will be back at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Perhaps best hotel on Shanghai Pudong

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
HOTEL: The hotel itself is a large art-themed hotel with something as unique as a garden with large pieces of art AND a very nice swimming pool with beach chairs and table-service. The garden is transformed into a myriad of colors at night. Very unlike any other hotel I have been to. ROOM: We had "Business Class" room, which is more like a suite, split into two separate rooms by a sliding door. Room featured an amazing bathroom with glass windows to bed-part of this mini-suite. CLUB-FLOOR: Really nice, with a full breakfast buffet and chefs cooking for you. OUTDOOR: The hotel lies at a shopping area called Thumb Plaza & Laya Plaza. It is a very nice area with with lots of western and chinese shops at the doorstep, as well as an abundance of dining options and a few bars (which is not so common in Shanghai). FINAL COMMENTS: Perhaps the best Pudong hotel overall, assuming proximity to a special location is not required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com