Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Fairly decent location

Posted Oct 29, 2014
My first concern is there is no wifi in the 'lobby' and internet is only accessibly by a cable which won't work with any macs. Please be warned of this situation. The lobby is dreadful and the staff while friendly and have ok English, aren't the most energetic. There is no eating facilities but a salon for nails and hair which is good but very limited English here. The lobby smelled quite a bit but the room itself, while small was fine with comfortable beds. Not somewhere you would tell someone you are staying but of you can ignore the exterior, lobby and lack of internet the room itself is good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lytham St Annes UK

Good Location, Great Value.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet room clean bed. helpful staff.
Cons: General cleanliness, particularly net curtains and bathrooms.
Location: For my purposes, the location was ideal. Taxis are cheap and plentiful, tube not too far.
The hotel was tired and definitely a little grubby, although the bed was clean and comfortable. It was great value as part of and excellent Expedia package. I didn't use the pool or the restaurant as I was busy visiting my son and seeing the sights of Shanghai and Hongqiao. I would stay there again as I slept very well and the room was quiet for a city centre hotel in Shanghai.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

The facilities need to be improved

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Handy!
Cons: A microwave is needed in the Kitchen when guest book one or two bedroom apartment, and a washing machine and cloth hanger should be supplied without o
A microwave is needed in the Kitchen when guest book one or two bedroom apartment, and a washing machine and cloth hanger should be supplied without of charge. A single bed mattress should be supplied when the guests require.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

nice hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: clean and large , good price and close to everything accept the bund but its a 60 cent metro ride
Cons: staff is not pleasant and does not make a lot of effort the locals are better to deal with
Location: the bund a short metro trip down the road .the old town called yuen gardens is just down the street and lots of shops close by .
the hotel was clean and large which is incredible for a Asian hotel but close to subway and easy to get to but remember always have your directions in chines ,mandarin because all drivers don't understand English
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego CA

Its bad

Posted Sep 11, 2014
No Internet Very small room Not very clean Bad service I do not recommend this hotel there are better ones cheaper in that area Sucks Sucks Sucks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MrGoodCatfrom Sweden

4* is obviously a joke, and no wifi, really?

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Obviously a complete joke at 4*, but if you look at value it's OK, but should be 2,5 or 3* tops. Maintenance is not very good, very aged rooms and has no WIFI (not even in the lobby!). So getting WIFI means you'll have to go to a restaurant or McDonalds, not fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom china

good location reasonable close to subway

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: location / price / room site
Cons: the apartment had a kitchen but zero utensils facilities to cook anything
Location: many western and Chinese restaurant and large supermarket nearby by . convenience shop very close
Good rates for longer stays of 5 days plus . 5 min walk to subway .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington, NZ

OK Hotel conveniently located

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Extremely well priced and well located
Cons: Cleanliness, number of pillows (there are only two per bed) & things to use in the kitchen, ie glasses, plates, cutlery.
Location: Is actually quite close to underground line 9 which means you can get anywhere in Shanghai
When we checked in the room which had been booked and paid for was not available and they put us in a two bedroom in lieu of the three bedroom. Having moved into the room, which was far from clean we then considered this and complained at which point a three bedroom unit mysteriously became available. The rooms themselves are very generously sized, good air conditioning and a kitchen which is disappointing to say the least. There were four cups and that was the only crockery provided and were certainly not what a European would consider to be "clean". Bathrooms are good with good showers. Some reviews of this complex are that it is a reasonably distance from the underground but it is only about a five minute walk to Line 9 from which points all parts of Shanghai are accessible. In short it is a very well price apartment well located but fora European is a little disappointing on the small things ie cleanliness and a kitchen which is usable as nothing is provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lindseyfrom Yiwu China

It was a great hotel, just not in the action

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the hotel one night to make a flight the next morning. It's in a safe area, but a bit away from all the fun of Shanghai. The hotel itself was beautiful, and the room was very clean and comfy, I just wish it was a bit closer to more stuff.
1 out of 5
by Jakefrom Beijing

Very misleading

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: That it was affordable.
Cons: The hotel could be demolished and it would be an improvement.
Location: The location is quite inconvenient, it requires a taxi ride to get to anywhere worth visiting.
It's called the "celebrity hotel" but I can't imagine even a D-list celebrity agreeing to stay here. The Hotel lobby was tiny, having only one front desk clerk (when they had one at all, several calls to the reception went unanswered). When the key card to the room suddenly stopped working after night 1, I went down to the front desk at midnight but no one was there to help. It took a little bit of waiting before someone emerged from the back room to help. The room itself was quite dirty. The top of the fridge was covered with dust and a sticky residue. The electric water heater was filthy both inside and out. There were body hairs from previous tenants in the bed (I'm guessing they don't change the sheets between every guest). The shower was filthy as well, there was brown residue all over the shower curtain. The maids did a lazy job and did not fold towels nicely or arrange anything neatly. There was no internet access available.