Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Its bad

Posted Sep 11, 2014
No Internet Very small room Not very clean Bad service I do not recommend this hotel there are better ones cheaper in that area Sucks Sucks Sucks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from china

good location reasonable close to subway

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: location / price / room site
Cons: the apartment had a kitchen but zero utensils facilities to cook anything
Location: many western and Chinese restaurant and large supermarket nearby by . convenience shop very close
Good rates for longer stays of 5 days plus . 5 min walk to subway .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

OK Hotel conveniently located

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Extremely well priced and well located
Cons: Cleanliness, number of pillows (there are only two per bed) & things to use in the kitchen, ie glasses, plates, cutlery.
Location: Is actually quite close to underground line 9 which means you can get anywhere in Shanghai
When we checked in the room which had been booked and paid for was not available and they put us in a two bedroom in lieu of the three bedroom. Having moved into the room, which was far from clean we then considered this and complained at which point a three bedroom unit mysteriously became available. The rooms themselves are very generously sized, good air conditioning and a kitchen which is disappointing to say the least. There were four cups and that was the only crockery provided and were certainly not what a European would consider to be "clean". Bathrooms are good with good showers. Some reviews of this complex are that it is a reasonably distance from the underground but it is only about a five minute walk to Line 9 from which points all parts of Shanghai are accessible. In short it is a very well price apartment well located but fora European is a little disappointing on the small things ie cleanliness and a kitchen which is usable as nothing is provided
1 out of 5
by Jake from Beijing

Very misleading

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: That it was affordable.
Cons: The hotel could be demolished and it would be an improvement.
Location: The location is quite inconvenient, it requires a taxi ride to get to anywhere worth visiting.
It's called the "celebrity hotel" but I can't imagine even a D-list celebrity agreeing to stay here. The Hotel lobby was tiny, having only one front desk clerk (when they had one at all, several calls to the reception went unanswered). When the key card to the room suddenly stopped working after night 1, I went down to the front desk at midnight but no one was there to help. It took a little bit of waiting before someone emerged from the back room to help. The room itself was quite dirty. The top of the fridge was covered with dust and a sticky residue. The electric water heater was filthy both inside and out. There were body hairs from previous tenants in the bed (I'm guessing they don't change the sheets between every guest). The shower was filthy as well, there was brown residue all over the shower curtain. The maids did a lazy job and did not fold towels nicely or arrange anything neatly. There was no internet access available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by happy fimaly from CA, USA

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
good location to shopping. short taxi ride to most of the places. hotal is old, so looks not clean enought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location, large rooms, comfortable stay

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a VERY convenient location, close to all the essentials and if you like taking the metro it is right between two line 9 stops, very close to both. Near a mall that you can get all fast food, coffee and groceries you need. Easy to get a taxi outside -- close to family mart. Large enough rooms, spa in lobby, and nice pool that you can use.
1 out of 5
by Mel

Filthy, filthy hotel. Staff are terrible.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: It's cheap.
Cons: Friendlier staff, better cleaning. I'd have paid more for a clean room!
Location: Location was OK, between two subway stations within a 10 minute walk.
No internet. Wired connection available for extra fee. We tried it & tried to pay for it - it didn't work. The place was just so dirty. Hairs in the bathroom, under the bed was horrific, the wall covered in dirt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grendizer from home sweet home

Nice hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
For starters, the balcony had a great view since we stayed up on a high floor level. The rooms are very comfortable yet they are small. Didn't regrent any bitnof my stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sufficient for Shanghai for a few days on a budget

Posted May 22, 2014
Convenient: good location in Shanghai with easy walk to metro and Tianzifang, good price through Expedia, room size good, safe box in room, check-in and check-out process were seamless despite language barriers Things to improve on: dirty lobby, washer/dryer in room did not work, room mostly clean, very poor signage from road, difficult to see from a taxi for non-Mandarin speakers, arrived at hotel at 5am from airport but couldn't check in until 9am even though a room was ready, would have preferred a non-smoking room that didn't have a stench of old cigarette smoke
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Margaret from USA

OK place.

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was nice but the pool area in the basement was old and moldy. Looks like some maintenance on this older property is being neglected. Watch those elevator doors, they will slam on you. The service of the staff was a little lacking, had to ask for help with my bags up the few steps to the elevators. The Internet was a problem, and the staff wasn't particularly interested in helping my computer get connected. Never did get their Internet service, which is 36 RMB for 24 hours. Changed my travel plan because I couldn't get on the net to make a reservation. The concierge helped me call another hotel to reserve, and helped me get a cab there. The walk to the subway is about 10 minutes, a little far. I had a massage at this hotel, and the masseuse watched a Chinese soap opera during my session...... since she spoke no English I didn't feel like arguing..... sometimes you just have to be flexible in China.