Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jensen from Malaysia

Clean and strategically located hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Strategic location
Cons: Condition of the balcony, not cleaned during our stay. WiFi at reception area would be faster if the hotel staff stop streaming videos themselves.
Location: Shopping of packed food available at WalMart supermarket located 5 mins walk from hotel. Plenty of local foods available too!
Hotel is located between 2 MRT station, each about 5 - 7 mins walk away. Multiple 24/7 convenient store available and 5 mins walk to WalMart supermarket. Room was clean, air conditioning working well and many TV channels available. Only disappointment was breakfast isn't included, but you can get plenty of yummy local foods along your 7 mins walk from hotel to XiaoNanMen MRT station day and night without any issue.
3 out of 5
by Dimitri from London

just one main problem: no english signs outside

Posted Aug 26, 2013
We stayed at the hotel only the night before leaving early for the airport. We had two main problems that a traveller may need to know: 1) outside the hotel there is no english sign, there is just an R and everything is written in chinese. (But the staff speaks english better than many other hotels in china.). The hotel is the first (big new) building after passing a gate, you can guess it is an hotel but it is not obvious. 2) get to the hotel from nanpu bridge subway stop. Don't get there with your luggage from the stop in Xiaonanmen, from there you will be in the middle of a crowded market and it will be difficult. The hotel is not near the main commercial area of the bund so you will need to get the subway to go there. The kind of room we booked was not available so they give as suite which was very nice and much better than that we had in the center of the bund.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Old 2 stars hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not 4 stars hotel, but 2. 2 stars for the services provided only. Service is as offered, but no room cleaning (including bed change), not even between guests-- bathroom is cleaned everyday. Room walls are falling apart, as well as shower head and others. Dust everywhere: walls, curtains, lamps, and a lot on carpeted floor. Mold in bathroom and in the bathroom walls facing room. I left before I would fall ill. Rayfront Celebrity has same services at better conditions. However, I would recommend Asset Hotel: a true 3 stars hotel with very kind staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Seattle

Community stay

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Easy check in.
Cons: The floor smelt like smoke. Needs to enforce the no smoking policy.
Location: Far from the bond but nice and quiet.
Overall, a good hotel for China. The check in and check out process was easy. The room is a bit small but the staff was good. It is about 15 minutes walk from the metro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Lynn from Singapore

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is conveniently located near to most of the tourist spots. It's bit too noisy at night though the room is with all windows closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Md from London, UK

good hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: koridoor
Location: London
the hotel should have more qualified and friendly reception team who can speak in English and deal with the customers in friendly manner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient but with some surprises

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, Room Decor
Location: Custom Tailored Clothing
The location of the hotel is very convenient to the subway and gives you access to the whole city. However considering this the 'South Bund' is a bit of an exaggeration as you are not really close to the main Bund area at all. That being said, you are right next door to the spinning market which is perfect if you are looking to get custom tailored clothes, which we did. The rooms are spacious with decent furnishings but not comparable to US style hotels. The door to our bedroom had a hole smashed into it. We also had some torn towels. Clear that there is not an eye towards details here. One thing you should keep in mind is that through 5-6 taxi rides, not a single taxi driver knew about the location of the hotel. We had to tell them to goto the spinning market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is good

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Room is too small. Location is good. Overall it is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kal from india

hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: clean room
Location: good location in heart of shanghai
room were small but good for value offered like 55 USD. Reception staff is not co operative or friendly.