Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

A Satisfying and Convenient Stay.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and the location is excellent for reaching tourist spots and good, hearty Chinese food at their true prices.
Cons: The shower drainage could be overhauled, and the floors (stained from the past, I surmise) could be replaced- but these will be refurbished in 2015.
Location: There is a restaurant nearby called Harvest-Festival which is delicious, and of course the subway line, Nanjing Road, Bund, and the Yuyuan Garden.
My mother and I stayed in Shanghai for three weeks, and happily spent all three of them at the Business Suite (Twin Room) Salvo Hotel. The staff were cordial (if not overly friendly- this is the Chinese way) and premises were clean and conventional, with the most comfortable single bed/pillow that I've ever had. Needless to say, thanks to the fact that we were on the 22nd floor (and kept the windows shut- the airconditioner is effective, you won't need to open them) we were well-rested each night. The room itself was functional; it had all necessary stationery tools and was kept very clean by the friendly staff lady. My mother speaks Chinese, so she actually had a good conversation with her - the cleaner mentioned that next year the hotel is going to refurbish some of its rooms, so the dim lighting in the living room area will probably be adjusted and the old-looking floor renewed. Food-wise, you won't need to dine at the hotel unless it's truly a shocking day rain-wise, which happened on three occasions when we were there in July. Firstly, I must say that breakfast is truly not worth its' price: most of the food is Chinese (even though it was advertised as being part western) and the quality isn't consistent. However, lunch and especially dinner were at an acceptable price and if you don't want to explore the amazing food at a ten-minute walk at the Yuyuan Gardens, Nanjing Road or the Bund, it is fine. I would definitely return and highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by gigi, Hotel Management
Dear valuable guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and giving a great input of our product offer to other reviewers. We are very pleased to read your satisfaction on our room cleanliness which added to our primary location has made your stay more enjoyable. I do hope that we can welcome you back again on your next trip to Shanghai .Keep everything goes well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located in a central location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
The staff was not too nice or willing to help. The bathroom in my room was not clean (spots on the toilet), when I asked to switch rooms the staff at the reception agreed immediately but was not too nice about it. In the new room I got the bathroom was not clean as well, and because it was late and I was exhuasted I just cleaned it myself. The internet connection was also terrible, but I heard that it's a common problem. Other than that everything was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by gigi, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay in our Salvo Hotel in shanghai,let each customer satisfaction is our goal, we will do best for every guest.Keep everything goes well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Pretty good hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: V Good location V Good buffet breakfast Price / room - if you stay for 2 nights or more
Cons: Very impersonal at reception Problems with bathroom - toilet flushing / leaking etc
Location: Metro - Nanjing Dong Lu - 10 mins and Metro - People's Sq - 15 mins away Bund - 10/15 mins away Very near WESTIN HOTEL
Good location Chinese style room - if you like that sort of thing Good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

very nice and convenient to nanjing rd, the bund

Posted Jul 10, 2014
very nice and convenient to nanjing rd, the bund. ........................
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by gigi, Hotel Management
Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon. Keep everything goes well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 days stay at Salvo hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
At times having problem to access my email. The system is unstable. I check with the front staff and they too told me the same thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by gigi, Hotel Management
Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon. Keep everything goes well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Skylar from Vale, Colo

Hotel very close to the famous Bund

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Update of the interior and brighter lights
Location: Near the Bund and other attractions, e.g. Shanghai Museum, Shanghai Opera house, etc.
The room was spacious but obviously dated and for some reason the lighting was very dim, especially in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on main road

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Cons: Staff speak more English as well as Chinese
Location: Nothing near hotel only shops stalls outside bad smell
The hotel staff only spoke broken English didn't no what I was saying had to get my friend to translate. The gym facilite poorly 5 gym equipment only in 1 room no1 in room to supervise you. Room cleanliness bad had to complain about bed sheets not changed cracks on bed. Would not recommended it no way 4.1 out of 5 I say 2 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kee from Sydney

My Stay

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Total stay is 5 nights. Pluses - Location, walking distance to the Bund and Nanking Shopping street. Room is clean and spacious. Minuses - Counter staffs speak limited English thus unable to help much in anything. No Wifi in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chelsea from vancouver

Traditional elegance in decent location

Posted May 31, 2014
Wifi does not work in the room no matter what they say. I found myself in the lobby more than I was in my room. Rooms are quite large and you're probably 15 mins tops from The Bund and Subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kee from Sydney

My Experience

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Only will return because of location.
Cons: Counter staffs needs training on service.
Location: Nanking Road and the Bund.
Counter staffs are not helpful, none can speak English nor understand it. If you do not speak Chinese you are going to have a hard time getting help. Saying thank you is not in their vocabulary.