Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom

Professional hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: It was a big, safe, clean hotel
The hotel is one block fom Nanjing street, the big pedestrian mall and People's Square. The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and full of all amenities. The restaurants were the best we ate at in Shanghai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from London

Great location well situated to explore the city

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Great Location
Cons: No very good service
Location: Hotel has a list of thing to do and see, they have a card with all the details in Chinese ...just point at it and show it to the driver.
Travel trip..... When arriving at airport avoid the hordes of hustlers trying to get you into unofficial taxi's you may have to wait outside for upto 50mins for a city taxi. The other point is make sure you have the hotel address in CHINESE or the taxi driver will not know where to take you as 95% cannot speak English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joon from vancouver bc

Very clean hotel!

Posted Feb 9, 2014
I love this hotel because room was clean and staff was very nice. However room was a little bit small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R. from Mexico City

Pitty because the staff

Posted Jan 26, 2014
This hotel is very good until you need to interact with anybody, and that includes the checking-in. The front desk staff made my life miserable to give me a non-smoking room but finally I got it. I boom a package that includes a dinner, and in this matter they really make my life miserable, wasted my time and leave me ashamed in front of my colleagues cause they didn't want or didn't know how to honor it. The english of the staff was extremely poor which is something surprising cause you are in Shanghai. The room is excellent and very comfortable, fitness center well equipped, the breakfast amazing tons of choices and kinds of food to choose from and finally the location is not the best but easy to take a walk and connect everywhere. In sum, the hotel is very good but due the staff the whole experience could be a nightmare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mai from brisbane

Great service and location

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: The service of the staff and the cleanliness
Cons: If some of the wait staff for breakfast were a bit better at English
Location: The bund, hop on hop off red tour bus - great value for money, shopping is great and so is the food
Overall had a great experience at the marriott. Staff were all extremely helpful especially the two concierges we dealt with Andy and Eric, who were both very helpful with booking tours etc and answering any travel queries that we had. The location was close to all the tourist spots we wanted to visit. Will definitely stay here again if we end up going back to shanghai this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2013
We got a club room upgrade with a four night stay. It was great. Breakfast was much more than continental with eggs and omlete orders from the service staff. It is centrally located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by bob from London, UK

Great Location

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The rooms were amazing with great views
Cons: The overly pushy staff
Location: Great central location
Good central location and the staff can't do enough to help you, my only negative was that I was charged for items not taken by me from the mini bar and while this was rectified quite quickly I was questioned about this by several different people before it was reluctantly agreed to remove the charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Jul 16, 2013
First time stayed here. Will definitely stay again, Beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by westynut from Thailand

Continued Excellence

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: The staff and the rooms
Cons: Leaving
Location: Perfect, right down-town but in a quiet location. Ready access to metro lines.
A great hotel in a great location. Staff are excellent and the design and quality of the rooms is fantastic. This is always my first choice of hotel in Shanghai.