Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from New York

Nice Hotel 5 min walk to East Nanjing Station

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Nice hotel, well kept, clean spacious rooms, even though its on East Nanjing pedestrian road the room was quiet. Great location, lots of restaurants and shops within minutes. People Square is down the road easy access to subway lines 1,2 and 8.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Victoria Canada

Superb service and excellent location!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet rooms, included Wi-Fi..
Cons: Prices for drinks and food were outrageous. But you do not need to eat or drink there. Lots of choices right out the door.
Great place to spend a few days for our first visit to Shanghai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from NZ

Central and smart

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Right in Nanjing Rd and 10 minute walk to the Bund. Perfect location. My room was newly renovated and sumptuous. Room service good was beautiful and inexpensive. I would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aki from Gunsan, Korea

Nice hotel on Nanjing Road

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Good location, good service, kept my bag while I went exploring the next day before my evening flight.
Cons: No issues with the hotel, it was clean and comfortable.
Location: You are on Nanjing Road, but it's basically a shopping zone, didn't interest me.
This hotel was just a layover for 24 hours. I took the maglev from the airport, then a taxi to the hotel. I had asked for a taxi card by email and they sent it to me before I flew. I printed it out and handed it to the driver when I got a taxi at the train station. It was very convenient. The hotel itself is a nice Sofitel. Room was on the 17th floor. It's on Nanjing Road, which is really just a big commercial pedestrian zone with H&M and Apple store etc. Some places to eat but be warned that EVERYTHING closes at 10 pm except McD's, and they ran out of food. I arrived in Shanghai late, but walked around first after checking in. But by the time I wanted to eat, there was nothing open. If I had known, I would have eaten first, but even the lights on the Bund were shut off at 10 pm haha. There were street vendors of course though. I picked this place only for location, close to the Bund, and I actually walked to the Yu Gardens, though I would recommend not doing that next time, took about 45 minutes. The only thing that sucked wasn't the hotel, but outside on Nanjing Road. As a single guy walking around (obviously a tourist), I kept getting asked every five minutes if I wanted to go to a "massage" place by people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by flagontoo from new zealand

Top hotel in main shopping st

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Stayed on the 16th floor in a very nice room which had just been renovated to a high standard. Breakfast a wee bit pricey but top quality.
Cons: Couldnt really fault this hotel. Staff all very friendly and efficient.
Situated in a closed off shopping st. Station only a couple of minutes walk. The Bund is only a short walk away and also the hop on and off buses. Great area for shopping and food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mia from Sydney

Central location and excellent room with view

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stopover in Shanghai. Plenty to see and do. Great eating. No need for visa if staying up to 72 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sylviewu85 from Singapore

Great location & service but noisy construction

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fantastic and a high floor was given to us, which is always a bonus. The staff was ready to accomodate with the late check-out which we appreciated. Our bathroom sink was choked on our first night but the problem was discovered and rectified by the housekeeping staff in no time. The location was fantastic! Everything is within walking distance and we really couldn't ask for a more convenient hotel. The only downside was the construction noises on perhaps the 6-8th floor which starts at 9am everyday and that annoyed me for my 5 days there. The food in the hotel was not up to par as well and I should have dined outside for better tasting and cheaper alternatives. Other than that, awesome stay! Will return for my next trip :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gene from USA

Overall Good Stay

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for the perfect location, then Sofitel Shanghai is for you. You can literally walk out of the hotel onto Nanjing Road, which is the main pedestrian/shopping street in Shanghai. The hotel is very nice. The service was good and my room was very clean. The only complaint I have is that they are doing some remodeling to the hotel rooms, and working began on a Sunday morning around 7:30 A.M. It was very loud and noisy above me, and that interrupted my sleep. Also, I am very picky with beds. . . the softer, the better. For me, the bed was too hard which also made it uncomfortable. But, my room was clean and well taken care of. The bathrooms were nice. So, overall it was good for the price. I'd recommend staying at this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com