Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pearl from Singapore

Great for family

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
A little noisy which is same for most hotels in China. Location was great, near a number of malls and restaurants. 10-15 min walk to SML centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Terrible!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not recommended for leisure travel! Poor maintenance and cleanness!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Plumbs from EngLand

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We are on ur family holiday ( 11 and 9 years old kids too) Fab location, room excellent but we only booked this hotel because it had a swimming pool. BUT it was not in use as they were building a new lobby. No apology abOut this and this was a shame,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from SF Bay Area

Excellent residence hotel, very reasonable price.

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Great value. New. Clean. Location. Access to transit. Staff quite helpful.
Cons: See above.
Location: You can get anywhere you want on the metro although trips can take a while. Shanghai is amazing.
First time staying at Somerset, would definitely stay here again. Our unit was clean, completely upgraded, provided just about everything we needed (few nits below). Location is very convenient to the metro system providing access to all of Shanghai and beyond. Price was very reasonable. Nits: They provide clothes line for hanging up washed clothes; I would like a drying rack. Breakfast was ok. Hotel location map is fine if you're traveling by taxi but a little lacking if you're traveling by metro. Some notes about the area: Shanghai closes around 9:30PM. This surprises me as it's such a big city. Some web sites you maybe useful aren't available; this is China. Immediate area didn't have a lot of dining.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rover from Singapore

comfortable room

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
stayed in a one bedroom apt. Like the room size and faciltiy. Breakfast was a buffet, spread was limited but the Restaurant Manager was always there to ensure that service ws good and guests were taken care of. Location was ok. THere is a starbucks and Costa coffee within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Judith from Texas

Good location. Subway No. 9 only a few minutes wa

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very satisfying
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Singapore

Service Can Be Better

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Location wise, it is convenient, being only minutes away from subway Line 9 Jiashan Road Station. Just across from the road about a minutes walk, is a convenience store where you can get essential supplies. There are also 2 massage center nearby if one craves for a rubdown. Hotel room does look a bit old, though generally it is clean. No liquid soap provided to wash kitchen utensils which was provided. And also no washing detergent provided for the washing machine too. In terms of replenishment of bathing supplies, I had to ask for them to be replenished. One of the female reception staff was rather abrupt in answering questions and when I asked for shower gel to be replenished, she misinformed me that it was supplied only once, which made me astonished! Luckily, during the evening while back in the room, when I called concierge, they were able to replenish my shower gel. Overall, the stay is okay but I would expect more for a serviced apartment for the price that I had to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tan from Singapore

Good Value Service Apartment

Posted Dec 29, 2012
Pros: Location, Rooms and Toilets.
Cons: Rooms if you get a low floor
Location: Great
Stayed x2 in this hotel. First round was given a room on a high floor and condition of the room was very good. Great shower and beds. On the second occassion, got a cheaper deal and ended up with a room on the 5th floor (the lowest floor with guests room). Quite different from the first round. Room is still clean and comfortable, just that things looked much older. On of the cupboards was slanted to one side. Would have had a much better impression if the rooms were like the first occassion. But as they say, you get what you pay for. In anycase, the location of the service apartment is good, with Metro just a stone throw away.