Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peace from Loveland

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The front desk staff were VERY friendly and professional, they were very well trained. After we checked us in, the staff escorted us to the elevator, opened the elevator door and inserted the key. We were very impressed, The concierge service was poor, no one answered the phone after I called several times. The maids were very polite and professional as well. However, , this is a extra large-size Ritz Carlton, I still prefer a small boutique one that gives more personal attention and care through out the stay (i.e. chocolate in the evening), The missed care is nothing to do with the staff, it is a matter of the hotel management cooperate decision.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jocelyn Kao from Montreal

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Short but happy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The overall experience was very good. It is a very nice hotel with very good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business traveller from London

Fine without being exceptional

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is starting to look just a little dated, carpet, walls etc, though perfectly clean and functional. Service was good. Breakfast again fine, buffet style with plenty of choice. Evening buffet however was very expensive and fairly average.Overall a pleasant stay, but not stand out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RY

Strategic location

Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
With the fact that traffic is not really good in Shanghai, it'd be wise if you choose a hotel located right on Nanjing road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthew

Very good business hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel very central and surrounded by cheaper places to eat and drink. Service was always excellent and amenities very clean. Gym open 24hrs which is always useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great Hotel!

Posted May 13, 2009
This was my first trip to Shanghai and I was very impressed with the Portman Ritz Carlton. The Hotel is outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Shanghai. If possible, upgrade to the Club Level Rooms. It is well worth it.