Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Nice location, easy to everywhere

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Spacious bathroom, friendly staff and very nice location only 1 min walking to subway and to the shopping mall
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by The Yangtze Boutique, Hotel Management
Dear Selena, Thank you very much for this amazing review and 4 Stars. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai. It was our great pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Sweet luxury hotel in the heart of Shanghai

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: It occurred to us that the hotel must have put a lot of work into building positive staff attitude. Everyone had a smile and worked hard to help us.
Cons: I am not a fan of the perfumed hallways. Fortunately, the bedrooms and the breakfast room were unscented. (I didn't visit the other public rooms.)
Location: Central metro stop (People's Park exit #14) offers an exit just 1/2 block from the hotel entrance. Short stroll to the modern art museum.
So much of China operates on a massive scale; this (relatively) small hotel offered a welcome oasis. The elegant rooms were thoughtfully equipped; staff was warm and tried hard to help us even if they didn't immediately know the answers to our questions. The a la carte breakfast menu was terrific; the continental buffet also offered a ton of great choices, even if one forgoes the more expensive hot options. I also enjoyed a fabulous Thai foot massage in the hotel spa. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by j from canada

Peaceful

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast had variety. Rooms were very clean. Quiet at night. Bed comfy. Art deco style beautiful.
Cons: Coffee at breakfast needed more caffeine. But thats it.
Location: Adjacent to metro. So you can take the metro from the airport with one change. In the heart of peopes square. Alot to take in culturally n the city.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with my queries. I was attending a conference and flew in from canada so i knew maybe two words of mandarin. Staff really tried to make me feel welcome and could easily be comnunicated with. They were knowledgable of the area. Breakfast is worth getting in apackage on exp. It has variety for everyone. Right next to metro line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from SYDNEY

NICE CLASSIC HOTEL TOP LOCATION

Posted May 30, 2014
WE HAVE STAY THERE FOR A WEEK. THEY HAVE FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD SERVICE. IT IS A NICE CLASSIC PLACE TO STAY. TOP LOCATION. WE WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK AGAIN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from NJ

Great location in Shanghai

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: I felt comfortable, the rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was extremely helpful.
Cons: The coffee, but that comment can be made for most of China and Hong Kong. Products in bathroom could be upgraded a bit.
I stayed 1 night, checked out but left my luggage and then came back the following night. After staying in typical Chinese hotels, this was an oasis. The staff could not have been more helpful. Nice heavy towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from UK

Attention to detail

Posted May 26, 2014
Amazing location - right next to Metro line 2. Great food, great facilities, great room. The hotel staff learn your 'habits' and over your stay tweak things, like the amount of coffee left in your room (there is a kettle for tea and coffee in the room). The downsides are that the staff don't speak a huge amount of English, so you need to be very clear with instructions and when you put your key in the slot to activate the lights, etc, the first thing you do after that is switch the TV off. After 2wks, I left the remote next to the light switch J Amazing hotel overall, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and hotel. Little bit small room.

Posted May 22, 2014
Great stay, but I with my room was bigger. But compensated by great bathroom, almost the same size as the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GP from England

Good location.

Posted May 20, 2014
In general is good, room was excellent , fantastic bathroom but vary disappointed with front desk. No greeting ,no smile and vary woody. Bell men are fine and friendly. I think required more customer service training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from New York

Fantastic boutique hotel

Posted May 16, 2014
I loved my experience at the Yangtze. The hotel is very centrally located in People's Square, and the rooms are really nice, fairly spacious and clean. Great breakfast in the morning, with some Western-friendly items like eggs and omelets. Very nice and accommodating staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends visiting Shanghai!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gud from Lima Peru

Nice hotel in downtown Shanghai.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Close to underground train. Good breakfast... very important when in China