Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JC from New Orleans LA

Jing 'An District Gem of a Hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The service, the comfort and the visual interest of the decor.
Cons: Have no suggestions for improvement.
Location: Within walking distance of important historical sites, the subway and modern shopping.
The wall of aged leather suitcases behind the front desk bodes of interesting decor. Excellent service with great city advice followed after my check in. I had luggage delay difficulties expertly handled by the multinational staff. I enjoyed my stay immensely. The room was so accommodating that my party made it the center of organization and relaxation on our visit to Shanghai. When I return to Shanghai, I will definitely stay at the URBN hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terence from Beijing

Great location, great feel, unique concept

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall I enjoyed my stay. The location was fantastic - much better than staying on the over touristy Bund strip, or amongst the cluster of skyscraper hotels in other gentrified areas. The concept is unique, with good use of recycled materials for the interior. Room was comfortable and creative, though not entirely practical - for example needing to climb over part of the sofa to enter the 'living room area'. Towel rack a bit too high, and one side of the bed required walking across a table. Nonetheless room was spacious. A slight mishap when I arrived the first night and they didn't have my booking - but not sure whose fault this was! Check in thus took a bit long, although they did honour a room first. Breakfast was good - buffet table was limited, but a-la-carte options better than an ordinary buffet breakfast. Shame the hotel didn't have a pool, and the nearby gym requires a 5 minute walk, offsite. DVD player in room did not work, but this was quickly and helpfully resolved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Alfredo from San Francisco

Urbn Oasis

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great place to stay in the middle of the hustle and bustle of shanghai but with a real neighborhood feel! All the western amenities at a reasonable rate! Chic rooms with an eye to environmental design! Will come back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location, and non-smoking hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The stay was nice except the air conditioning did not work while it is was 100 degree outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TGP from Singapore

Outstanding

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Outstanding architectural touches; all reclaimed wood and stone from demolished buildings in old Shanghai. Thoughtful touches too numerous to mention. Solicitous attention. The most delicious included breakfast I have ever experienced. Nice bar on roof, terrace on ground floor, and quite places to work with a cocktail, coffee, and cigar. Fabulous location in the heart of it all, just minutes from Jingan Temple. Only issues are weak wi-fi signals in room, and only English TV channels are Bloomberg and CCTV, I guess the propaganda wings of their respective empires!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by farknsorsi from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Relaxed and Funky

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: my room and evening drinks in the courtyard.
Cons: the memory lapse with some orders.
Location: ideal for all
From the moment I arrived I was in good hands. I happened to meet the Hotel Manager 'Samson Li' who immediately had address' and road maps organized for each inquiry I made with regard to my itinerary. The service was sometimes slow or I didn't receive what had been ordered, but the staff did do their best to rectify the situation. My room was luxurious and immediately felt like home. The style of the Urbn differed from all the glossy hotels one usually encounters at this level, it's recycled decor impeccably re-distributed throughout the building was tasteful and unpretentious. It's location was central to all in Shanghai and an easy walk to the French Concession. I highly recommend the Urbn to all, just leave your stiff expectations at the door and you will be most pleasantly impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by megd from Manila

Beautiful

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a calm and clean oasis in busy Shanghai. The rooms feel large and comfortable yet serene. The reclaimed wood adds character and charm. I loved being able to contribute to a cleaner society. The restaurant and bar was cozy with a crowd for brunch each day. It was a restful sleep in a loud city. Also an easy taxi ride to other bars/restaurants in French Concession. I will go again next time in Shanghai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Flavio from Miami, FL USA

Central Location close to Metro Station

Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel has a hip atmosphere. Rooms are big and have a theme based decoration. Breakfast is OK, but nothing to brag about, but there are several other options nearby. There is a big shopping center across the hotel with several restaurants. Hotel caters mainly to the Chinese audience, but overall a very good experience. Don't expect fluent English speaking employees.