Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from fin

The hotel Sunrise Select Island View Resort

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this very nice hotel with my 2 daughters.The room was big and clean.Food was good.I really would like to stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Washington, DC

Good value for your money

Posted Aug 10, 2011
The positives: The location of the hotel is excellent. Having an all inclusive service in Egypt is great. There was food and drinks available mostly all day. It is located in the Soho area which have many shops and things to do. The diving and snorkeling are just beautiful in the area. Some of the hotel managers were very professional! The negative: A few(not all) of the employees at this hotel were rude specially to women. My wife ordered spaguetti with red sauce and she was given it with white sauce, when she asked the waiter, he just told her "just take it and eat it" I had to complain to the manager and they were very apologetic and told me the employee was just tired. Like this case there were others. The food can be better, it was OK Overall, good service and value for your money. Managers, please train your employees with great customers services since people have choices now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Very good value, awesome location!

Posted May 10, 2011
The best thing about this hotel is the immaculate grounds and the beach. It is a huge campus and there are canals and walkways with beautiful landscaping throughout. The hotel is next to the much more expensive Savoy and the beach is just as nice--lots of sand, two jettys, fantastic snorkeling (a much larger area for this than other hotels in the area), a bar and grill and a diving center right on the beach. There are about 2 flights of steps to get to the beach level from the hotel level. There is a vehicle ramp you can use if you have a stroller or wheelchair, but it is quite a workout. The hotel is also next to Soho market for shopping/entertainment/restaurants. As the other reviews said, the rooms are a bit tired, but were kept clean and are fairly decent size. Given the size of the campus, you should request a room next to the place you most want to spend your time. The two main pools, including the kids section, are furthest from the beach, near the lobby and main restaurant. There is another pool near the beach but on the hotel level that has spectacular views of the sea and Tiran Island and also has a waterfall and hanging vines. There is a restaurant on the beach on top of a small cliff, also with spectacular views, serving Egyptian cuisine for lunch. It was very good and convenient if you are like us and spend most of your time on the beach. The staff everywhere was great and they were especially nice to our son! We will likely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Dubai, UAE

Wonderful time

Posted May 2, 2011
This was a wonderful holiday location for my daughter and I. We loved the pools. As has been noted in other reviews the rooms were a little dated, but we had no time to spend in the rooms except to sleep and shower. The evening entertainment at the amphitheater was great and mostly family friendly. The food was good, except for the variety for the kids. There wasn't much variety, the "kids corner" food was the same as the adults food except for the occasional fries. This was the only real down side of the stay. For larger families it appeared difficult to sit together because there were only a few tables set up for them. The day trips from the in house travel agents were a bit pricier than if you booked them on line with local agents, but for piece of mind book with the in house agents. Loved the holiday and hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent

Sunrise Island View

Posted Apr 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
Spent 10 days there with 2 kids (8 ) and (12) my wife & mother & farther , how to start from the moment we got there every one treated us like royalty great hotel great staff great food super beach & 100% location on soho square , if i wanted to be really picky the rooms could do with a make over as there a bit old and tatty but are very clean, but ha ho you only sleep in your room so give this a go will be going back soon :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Sunrise Island View - Comfortable hotel with good

Posted Apr 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed at The Sunrise Islandview for 8 nights and totally enjoyed the experience. Restaurant staff were great and the food was good. We liked the option of having four different pools depending on how quiet/action your mood was. Only negatives were that the massage lady around the pool was pushy and the concierge was rude when I told him I would bring his tip to him after I unpacked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt.

Perfect hotel with affordable rates.

Posted Apr 7, 2011
I've spent there my honeymoon, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean. the food was OK but overall it was really a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Service of a 5 star Hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2011
My son and I just returned from 5 days at the Sunrise Island View resort, and I must say that I was very impressed. I have stayed at several all inclusive resorts in Mexico, been to Hawaii, Italy Switzerland, Africa, and many other places. The Hotel grounds were very well kept and in excellent condition. The 4 pools were all extremely clean, lounge chairs all in like new condition and plenty of shade if you don't want to be in the sun all day. The beach area was large and accomodating with more than enough chairs for everyone. There is a coral shelf that extends about 100 feet out and then drops off sharply to 20' or so. They have two docks that you can walk out and snorkel or swim from there. I did not mind the lack of a formal "beach" and the layout worked very well. The food was as good or better than most All inclusives I have stayed at. Great selection at the buffet and excellent service and food at the formal restaurants. The drinks were made with plenty of alcohol, and they would add more if requested. The service here was what set them apart from the rest. Everyone would go out of their way to provide you with anything you needed. I have not seen this level of honest service in ANY hotel or resort I have stayed at. When you try to tip the help, they all but refuse it saying it is not necessary......... what? when does that happen! They have a local dive shop (pyramids diving) on site and they are extremely nice. Great diving right off the dock!!
1 out of 5
by Jimmy from Moscow

Expat family holiday disappointment

Posted Apr 19, 2010
From check in to check out this hotel was a let down, definately not worthy of the 5 star rating it has on Expedia. We are a well travelled expat family currently living in Moscow & this resort was chosen after reading reviews & matching our needs with what the resort offered. Unfortunately this resort was nothing like we expected. The porter showing us to our rooms carried the key for us, don't porters carry bags?? We found the rooms shabby, dirty, worn & uncomfortable, to make a double bed they pushed 2 single beds together, then laid 2 mattresses across the base. The food included was poor quality, bland tasting & monotonous. The drinks were also very poor quality, described by us accurately as jet fuel. The staff were generally not friendly or helpful unless they were looking for a tip. Our room attendant became a pest after insisting we fill in a feedback form half way through our week there. The 'animation' team was enthusiastic but it was all very unprofessional & at times embarrassing to watch. The speciality restaurants were not much better than the main buffett, and we were rushed to order, out the door in 30 minutes! Nothing special about that! We decided to eat out for 2 of the 7 nights we were there, to get a decent meal & drinks. The positive parts were the pools, slides, snorkelling & weather. Nearby SOHO square offered some shopping & dining and a chance to stroll around without the pestering that we got in Naama Bay. We would NOT recommend this hotel.