Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The pool and the remodeling. Plus the free breakfast.
Cons: Finish remodel.
The hotel smelled like it had been smoked in at one point. Microwave did not work properly. Hope they redo the rooms soon to get rid of the smoke smell and replace the uncomfortable beds.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

cruise control

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
It's a bit hard to find anyone who actually works at this motel. You can press the button at the front desk for 20 mins and no one comes out. Once you find a person they are pretty nice, but the place is on cruise control. We were there a week and we couldn't get anyone to clean the room or change the sheets. We placed the card on the bed everyday and nothing happened so we asked a housekeeper to change them and again nothing happened.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judyfrom Lafayette

Very Poor

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was filthy, it stunk, look like the carpet hadn't been swept for a while, sink would not drain, and toilet wouldn't flush correctly. It would almost overflow every time!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Hotel GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not have the room you were expecting when you arrived at our hotel. We have addressed the issue with our front desk staff to prevent this from happening in the future. The property is going under extensive renovation. Sincerly
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Alright to stay at for a night.

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got adjoining rooms. My daughters room hS all she needed, but my room had no remote for the t.v., no soap or shampoo, and the diffuser for the bathroom light fell off. It's wS fine for what we needed, which was a place to sleep for the night. No frills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Hotel GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not have the room you were expecting when you arrived at our hotel. We have addressed the issue with our front desk staff to prevent this from happening in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The towels in the bathroom were very old and stained. The bed clothing was also old and thread bare. The pillows had stains on them. There was a centipede crawling around on the bathroom floor. The air conditioner woke me up every time it kicked on because it clanked loudly. The only good thing about the place was the free breakfast and it wasnt even that great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Hotel GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not have the room you were expecting when you arrived at our hotel. We have addressed the issue with our front desk staff to prevent this from happening in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by GLW

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Location: This hotel was out in the middle of no where - nothing nearby to do.
Dirty towels and bed sheets in my room upon arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very clean

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clean the room and the hotel
Bed spreads had brun holes in them. The beds were not comfortable. Floors needed swept and the fridge in the room was not working and when we opened it up it smelled like something had died in there. Not good for $90 room! The hallways were gross!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by GSfrom Varies

Mixed Messaging

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The outside of the hotel looks fine overall, inside however has dated decor and features. Upon arrival, I had to wait for the front desk guy to happen upon me standing there waiting for someone to appear at my 4pm check-in. Understanding him was slightly challenging due to the language barrier. The hotel overall is worn down and not of the quality I expected from the Choice properties. Notably there is a sign posted that states refunds are only provided within 30 minutes of check-in. This made me wonder how often this occurred to require a posting. Presumption is that either guests only need a room for a brief time or they don't care for the state of things. Our guest room was sub-par in some aspects. The room had an independent heater/AC unit which worked just fine. The room did contain a fridge and microwave which operated as expected. The linens on the beds were thin and made visible the mattress/pad underneath. The sheets on one of the beds had cigarette burn holes in it as well as a questionable stain on the comforter. My friends were slightly uncomfortable with the location but also knew we were up against possibly trying to book at other local properties for a rate at 1.5 times what was paid. The beds were comfortable although the pillows flattened very quickly. The towels in the bathroom were of a lesser quality and just dried off each of us after showering. Overall the stay was technically adequate; we had a place to sleep for one night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Adequate for one night

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
OK, but past its prime and needs refurbishing. Peeling wallpaper, kind of dingy throughout - except some perhaps recently carpeted areas. Everything worked and in-room coffee was surprisingly good. OK for a one night stay if you need to sleep.