Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GSO, North Carolina

Ok for the money...

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The view is fantastic. Be sure to ask for a room facing the ridge if any are available. The town is charming, I recommend driving over and walk around
Cons: The beds, shower/tub, and linens. Clean, but worn.
Location: There is way too much to list. There are caverns, golf, antiques..etc
I checked in knowing this hotel had a low rating. The beds are not very good and the shower/tub was stained but clean. BUT, the front side of the hotel gives a great view of the ridge and the town of New Market is charming. If you are on a tight budget like me, you won't find much better in this area for the money. Is it a 4 or 5 star hotel? Heck no, but they don't claim to be. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Altoona, PA

Nice and clean

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: The refrigerator was very noisy.
Location: Not a lot to do in yhe area, but there were some nice shops in town, also some excellent restaurants.
The room was close to the Battlefield, and the hotel wad easy to get to.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

OK hotel if you are in the area and on a budget

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The lobby and dining area, the breakfast and location.
Cons: Attention to maintenance and décor of the rooms. Staff should practice smiling and extend warm welcomes.
Location: It is next to the New Market Civil War Battlefield. It is a very walkable battlefield with a very nice museum. Worth a visit if you are on I-81.
Hotel lobby and dining area are nicely appointed. My room was clean but in poor condition. TV was modern and the bath area looked like it was updated. The mattress was fine. The rest of the furniture was old with numerous mares, chairs with worn out cushions and scraped walls that needed paint. The bath curtain rod looked new but did not fit the space, so two planks of unfinished wood were used to fill the gap. The breakfast was good. The desk staff, especially the evening I checked in, was not welcoming. It was like he had other things to do and I was intruding on his work day. Given the price it is an OK alternative if you have to be in the area and you are on a budget. Unfortunately for this hotel, there is competition in close proximity with rates that are only slightly higher.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Old, musty, and smelled bad. Pillows didn't look clean. Left and found a different hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manassas, VA

Good location for Civil War Museum

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Best location in New Market, VA for visiting the Civil War Museum. Just down the street from the historic downtown district.
Cons: Friendlier/professional evening staff. Morning staff were great.
Location: Great for visiting the New Market Civil War Museum and battlefield. Can also visit caverns in either direction, and just outside Shanendoah Natl Park
Standard hotel experience, was not expecting too much. Was very please to find that it is the closest hotel to the Civil War Museum and Battlefield. Evening check-in staff was not terribly helpful or friendly; he appeared annoyed when I checked in and came back later to ask a question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Comfortable, connivent hotel.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
My girlfriend and I stayed here overnight. We got there shortly after 11, and had boo problems checking in. The room was clean and comfortable, and the added continental breakfast was a plus. The rate was great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pa

Ok for a short stay.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Price was ok for what you got.
Cons: Need to clean rooms better. Went to plug in my charger behind end table beside the bed, well that area hadn't been looked at it a long time.
Location: Location was good and lots to do in area.
Breakfast rather sparse. Old hotel in some need of updating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Nice and comfortable

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Mor signs to direct us from town
Location: We didn't visit the town
Although hard to find, (didn't come out on our GARMIN GPS), but luckily we saw te the large sign while on the i-81. Was a verry nice stay. Would certainly stop there anytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Good price to go see Luray Caverns

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Snow came and they did not prepare at all, no salt on drive. My car got stuck for hours. Horrible. Night clerk has no customer service skills.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Slept well - beds comfortable. Room clean. Disappointed in breakfast.