Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleenfrom Virginia

Lovely bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Yoder family were so welcoming and warm. They put together a lovely happy birthday package for us and the cake was delicious. In fact, the breakfast was amazing both mornings! We would definitely stay there again.The only drawback is that it is far from town and the road very dark at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linefrom Denmark

NIce quiet break in a lovely place

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
After spending the first two weeks of our US vacation in big cities, it was so nice to have a few days at the Buckhorn Inn to relax and enjoy the quietness and lovely nature. We felt very well taken care of by Sylvia and her family. The level of friendliness and service was extraordinary and breakfast was great. We especially enjoyed the homecooked meal we shared with Sylvia and the kids. Definately recomendable if you need a quiet break sorrounded by good people, hummingbirds and trees. We took some trips to nearby towns where there were plenty of restaurants, historical sites and shopping.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darylfrom Demorest, GA

Disappointed

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We expected more for a 3 star hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable and the A/C noisy. The owner offered us another room but we checked out after the first night. It was not conveniently located to what we wanted to see.The breakfast however, was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, IN

Country Experience

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a stage coach stop in the early 1800s. We liked the friendly service and a clean comfortable room in a historic building.
Location: Staunton VA and several other nearby towns have attractive historic districts. The hotel is located in a National Forrest which is great for hiking.
The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed the history and19th century charm of the hotel . We arrived after nearby restaurants were closed so the hotel owner prepared a tasty supper for us. A wide variety of choices were available for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Claymont, DE

Delightful

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, homey, historic.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Fall foliage.
My wife, mother-in-law and I visited the inn during the government shutdown in 2013. The facility is clean and homey, and the couple running the inn are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. And oh my, the breakfast was magnificent! The best at any B&B I've ever visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erickafrom Pittsburgh, PA

Perfect Historic Inn

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing innkeepers who are obviously proud of their very historic Inn. We were shown around the inn, told of its history and made to feel completely at home. The room was large and the porch was a great wind-down at the end of the night. Breakfast in the morning was amazing and the perfect way to start the day. Can't recommend this inn highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Feng Yan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rich & Cathy Ghigliottyfrom New Jersey

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful time!! The hospitality shown to us by the Yoder family was most enjoyable. Beautiful B&B, beautiful surroundings, great food, great hosts....would highly recommend it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Virginia

Perfect B&B!

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great stay with wonderful hosts!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin G.from Williamsburg, VA

Great service and location, but the Inn needs work

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I went to the Buckhorn Inn for our anniversary and had a great time. The proprietors, Garlan and Sylvia Yoder, were wonderful, and they served us a wonderful breakfast each morning we were there. We like to get outdoors and hike and get exercise, so the proximity to a lot of trails in the GW National Forest (the Inn is actually inside the National Forest) was great. It was still only 15 minutes outside Staunton, so we were able to go into town for a nice dinner and catch a play at the American Shakespeare Center. The only concern we had was the condition of the Inn, particularly the first floor. There was a strong, musty smell coming from the Banquet room that permeated the first floor--they really need to just tear out the carpet in there. The wallpaper in our room was discolored in places and probably needs to be replaced as well. That said, we didn't come to the Valley to hang out in our rooms, and the combination of a great breakfast, friendly hosts, and a great location were everything we could ask for.