Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, IN

Country Experience

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a stage coach stop in the early 1800s. We liked the friendly service and a clean comfortable room in a historic building.
Location: Staunton VA and several other nearby towns have attractive historic districts. The hotel is located in a National Forrest which is great for hiking.
The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed the history and19th century charm of the hotel . We arrived after nearby restaurants were closed so the hotel owner prepared a tasty supper for us. A wide variety of choices were available for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claymont, DE

Delightful

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, homey, historic.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Fall foliage.
My wife, mother-in-law and I visited the inn during the government shutdown in 2013. The facility is clean and homey, and the couple running the inn are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. And oh my, the breakfast was magnificent! The best at any B&B I've ever visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Feng Yan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rich & Cathy Ghigliotty from New Jersey

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful time!! The hospitality shown to us by the Yoder family was most enjoyable. Beautiful B&B, beautiful surroundings, great food, great hosts....would highly recommend it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Virginia

Perfect B&B!

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great stay with wonderful hosts!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin G. from Williamsburg, VA

Great service and location, but the Inn needs work

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I went to the Buckhorn Inn for our anniversary and had a great time. The proprietors, Garlan and Sylvia Yoder, were wonderful, and they served us a wonderful breakfast each morning we were there. We like to get outdoors and hike and get exercise, so the proximity to a lot of trails in the GW National Forest (the Inn is actually inside the National Forest) was great. It was still only 15 minutes outside Staunton, so we were able to go into town for a nice dinner and catch a play at the American Shakespeare Center. The only concern we had was the condition of the Inn, particularly the first floor. There was a strong, musty smell coming from the Banquet room that permeated the first floor--they really need to just tear out the carpet in there. The wallpaper in our room was discolored in places and probably needs to be replaced as well. That said, we didn't come to the Valley to hang out in our rooms, and the combination of a great breakfast, friendly hosts, and a great location were everything we could ask for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Made very welcome by sylvia and garlan and their children. A beautiful location in George washington national forest. Excellent breakfasts both days. On our next stay would book one of the larger bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Doc Gunn from Virginia

JMU Parent's Weekend

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Charming BB&B, circa 1811. Our first. One mist remember it's an old, refurbished house. There were room a/c units, but not in place as it is October. The rooms were very clean, thanks to inn keeper Sylvia. Breakfast was made to order and very good. No mobile cell service, but they made their inn phone available at no charge. Wi-fi was available, but only from one central spot. All-in-all, an excellent stay. Further updating of rooms would be possible in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah from PR

Fun fun

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Get away from street lights for a romantic stay off the beaten path. History buffs and nature lovers will especially appreciate this place. We sat on the balcony outside our room with coffee and watched the hummingbirds. Great service too
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot to see Appalacians

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
comfortable room and very clean. Innkeepers made us very welcome. Great food.