Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Large and comfortable rooms. History associated with the Mayhurst Inn.
Large and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast provided by the Innkeepers. Great recommendations provided for dinner locations and area historical sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Excellent in all respects. Impressive to know that we slept at the same house where Robert Lee's daughter had her babe baptized in the presence of her dad and husband. Good southern history there. Not easy to find for Yankees like us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful location, friendly owners, attentive

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Apprise guests of breakfast menu prior to serving.
Location: Great
Fabulous! Loved it! Also, thanks for not requiring a two-night minimum. We were in a hurry but really wanted to stay there. We only wish that we'd had more time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Place To Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Exceptional service; Innkeepers informative and attentive; Lovely setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern New Jetsey

Perfect Getaway!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
This was our second time visiting Mayhurst Inn for a long weekend, and it was as wonderful as the first time we were there in July. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the breakfast delicious!! Jack and Pat are welcoming hosts, and it was nice to have wine and cheese with them, and the other guests at the end of the day. The Inn is in a great location, with historical sites just a short drive away. We hope to return for another long weekend to escape the busyness of our everyday lives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Inasmuch as I gave the hotel the highest marks on each criterion, I recommend the Mayhurst Inn, mayhurstbnb@aol.com.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ronda Giangreco from Sonoma Ca

The ghosts of the civil war!

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
We actually slept in the same room in which four civil war generals stayed (presumably not on the same night!). It was like a step back in time. Beautiful home, lovely hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kim from Fairfax, VA

Beautiful Historic Plantation Home

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful historic VA plantation home just outside town limits of Orange. Not the easiest location to find. GPS directs you initially down an old carriage road - U-turn to get back on track! Gravel road leading to home, asphalt immediately in front of home. Rain has kept owners from finishing outdoor painting of steps. Tulips line sidewalk. Wine & cheese in evening. Soda, water and snacks too. Restaurant dining limited, as one might expect in small town. Stayed in SchoolHouse- very quaint! Big problem in VA these says with Stink Bugs- this property no exception ... kinda freak you out as you try to rest. No opinion on food - as brekkie served after 0800hrs and we had to be on our way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rob from Great Falls, Va

Very Nice B&B in Orange, Va

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hosts were great, we stayed in the school house, an old one room house with a fireplace. Very secluded and romantic. Wine & Cheese at 7pm, Breakfast at 9am - baked apples followed by Eggs Benedict. Yum!