Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark and creepy

Posted Jul 29, 2014
I look online, saw the reviews thought I give it a shot, I was skeptical but I booked anyways. Upon arrival I took a taxi, the location is at the back of some housing estates is facing the so called river bay but it's like a sewer The reception gave me the room. I booked for one king bed. Off I go to drop off my luggage in my room I realize they gave me 2 single beds ... I went back and showed them my booking receipt, they change it. The hotel is too old the room was full and dark, there was maybe 4 lights available but the watts on the bulbs were to low hence making the room dark as it is even in broad daylight. It had a smell too but hey it's what you pay for. The bathroom was old nothing was free apart from towels, even toothbrush had a price tag. I couldn't even find a soap bar. At night fall there would be so many noise that made it so uncomfortable to sleep, scratching noise, knocking on walls, either walking and as if someone drop something on the floor could be heard from above. But when I checked on my room floor it's so rock solid, the flooring seems thick enough that even if you did walk etc it be hard to cause the noise .... Don't know what that means..... :( but the room just feels dark as it is and it was uneasy sleeping there. The curtains were old some were ripped . I booked for two nights slept for one night and I checked out. I wouldn't go back at all there are plentiful around
3 out of 5
by Carlos from London

Very old hotel rooms

Posted Jun 4, 2014
It was tricky to find this hotel at first. The surroundings are not that good but it is close to the metro station and a big shopping centre (mall). The hotel rooms are big and old fasshioned. I actually paid a bit more than the lower price to have a good room, but then had to change it because it was too damp. My second room was not that smelly and smaller, but good enough to stay the rest of my trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P from HK

good location, inexpensive

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
room ok for price, quality of service so so, location good,
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Stayed as it is 1 block from work

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This WAS a 3 star many years ago. I stayed as it was close to work and I can put up with anything for a couple of weeks. When I checked in I went to the room, touched the shower and it fell off the wall. I then went down and the asst. manager told me if I wanted a 3 star room I had to pay 30% more! She said I had to stay on floor 2 where all the rooms were bad unless I handed over more cash. I went to another room and a few days later the bath light went out at 21:00 hrs. Before changing rooms I had to wait for maintenance to fix the wiring! I gave up after 45 minutes and insisted upon a new room. 3 rooms later at 3:00 hrs the next morning I got into a room where everything worked, though it was a 1 star at best, gaping holes in floor, smaller ones in walls, old tile painted over! Appreciation of the Customer does not exist here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel rating

Posted Jul 24, 2013
hotel wall papers are falling off. Bed feels itchy while sleeping at night. Toothpaste not provided as complimentary compared to other hotels. Terrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Fine Place to Stay Overnight

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
As with many hotels in China, the beds at the Hedong Citycenter Hotel are hard. Mind you, they are not unbearable, but yes, they are a bit hard. Aside from that, the hotel is fine. Nothing to write home about. The wired internet connection works fine and is relatively consistent. The hotel is conveniently located near a mall and two Starbucks. Overall, a fine place to spend the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JC from Malaysia

From Mal

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Convenient to metro and shopping
Cons: Too many people from group tours and night call for massage.
Location: Just behind Shenzhen Financial Centre building.
5 minutes walk to the metro Grand Theater station. Check with hotel staff for the direction. McDonald is just behind hotel and in the morning, the hotel operate a small stall at the side with plenty of Chinese breakfast foods. Internet connection from CNCC available. If prefer, use the cable connection - recommended. Ask for quite room and you will not be disappointed. One drawback is receiving call at odd hour for massage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Drew from Boston

Great for a quick stay

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
There's not much to see at all in Shenzhen, though it makes an excellent port of transfer between mainland and Hong Kong. Our cohort of six had a one-night stopover in Shenzhen and stayed at the hotel. It's conveniently located near the metro, lots of restaurants, and at least a couple of shopping malls. The bed was hard as a rock, as are seemingly all budget beds in mainland China. Other than that, the staff was helpful, the wired internet worked, and the hotel is definitely a good value!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenience location, hotel needs update
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel is old, bed hard like rock. spend some more money and choose other hotel