Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Armend

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I didn't like the hotel no wifi at the rooms even in lobby the internets are very poor so one day I stayed at this hotel and I changed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 20, 2012
Pros: Great pool
Cons: Construction sites next door.
Nice hotel. Hasn't been updated in years, but still not bad.
2 out of 5
by JOSEPH from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Keep on searching for other hotels...real bummer!

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Cons: Optional
What a real letdown!!! This hotel is old and worn. Much better value for,money can be found nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ronnie

Excelent!!

Posted Jul 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent service and location. Walking to ferry connecting shekou to hk airport and central. 4 mins by taxi to seaword bars and viva club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Carson City, Nevada

Nice relaxing, well-run hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel and grounds, very attractive ground-floor restaurant, good service.
Cons: Mattress is hard if you don't ask for a "soft mattress" (foam topper). Buffet not quite as good as a lot of the bigger hotels, though less expensive.
Location: Pretty far from central Shenzhen. In a western enclave. Close to ferry and metro station.
A somewhat old but well-maintained and very well-managed tropical resort-style hotel. I had one of the small single hillview rooms but it was clean, in good condition, and comfortable, even the twin bed. I normally have to ask for a "soft mattress" to get a foam topper added to the pretty hard spring mattress but this time it was in place when I arrived. Only one 350ml bottle of water is provided and none of the usual disposable amenities other than a small round of soap, but these are the essentials and enough. Hotel is relaxing with nice garden area in back with the pool, small gym, salon, etc. Buffet dining area off the lobby may be the most attractive I have seen anywhere with very nice view of tropical garden. Soft music throughout the hotel. Not really what is normally thought of as a luxury hotel, but everything works as it should, it is very relaxing and pleasant, and all staff are helpful and friendly. When you ask them to charge you in RMB rather than USD they do so (better exchange rate) and don't act like they don't know what you are talking about as some of the bigger hotels do. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Shenzhen and this is still my favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from UK

Nan Hai Saturday 25th February 2012

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Hotel is OK, its just a bit outdated now could do with refurbishment. Rooms clean and tidy and location very convenient for Ferry to Hong Kong International Airport or Hong Kong Central or Macau.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

unfortunate booking experience

Posted Feb 6, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: staff was not interested in the fact that the mistake was between expedia and the hotel....
Location: good location near the ferry terminal
Booked with Expedia but the hotel did not receive the booking. Was a mess. Did not know the booking had not been received by the hotel and had to contact Expedia to cancel the reservation the next morning. Paid the hotel directly at the hotel's rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from Carson City, Nevada

Still a very nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2011
Reviewed this hotel a few weeks ago and still as good as usual. Service not as overpowering as a lot of hotels try to make it, but excellent and consistent, and really genuinely good service when you need something. Rooms a little dated, especially the bathrooms, but maintenance very good and actually cleaner than almost anyplace I have been including much more expensive hotels. Only thing that bothered me was that there are no non-smoking rooms in the single hillview category that I booked. Costs more if you want a non-smoking room. Would be better if they were willing to upgrade to a non-smoking room if available at checkin. Smell not too bad, but not great for a non-smoker, and I did book a smoking room since there was no choice at the lowest rate. Or just book the more expensive room if smoke smell bothers you. Restaurants are good. Buffet is reasonably priced and good, especially since dinner includes soft drinks, water, and beer, though I would like to see a better variety of greens for the salad and some whole-grain bread or rolls, and a better selection of fruit at breakfast - mostly watermelon and bananas, and occasionally apples. Outstanding feature of breakfast, however, is that they make eggs, pancakes, and waffles to order - even the best hotels here haven't figured that out yet. And green (Chinese) tea comes in a pot with leaves, not bags - much better, and is refilled. Nan Hai Hotel is older and doesn't flaunt it, but has class and integrity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from Carson City, Nevada

Favorite hotel in Shenzhen

Posted Jun 20, 2011
A somewhat faded older resort hotel on the coast, but well maintained with excellent and friendly service. Not a western hotel, but in an area with a lot of foreigners, imitation restaurants from just about everywhere else, bars, shopping. Used to be a lot more nightlife in the area but has calmed down, probably for the best. Hotel grounds a relaxing place to sit or walk. Don't expect to get to the beach (there is none and a coastal strip is secure anyway). Tropical atmosphere. Always nice relaxing music in the hotel. Restaurants good. Exceptionally attractive buffet restaurant makes eggs, pancakes, waffles to order (unlike most hotels in Shenzhen).