Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck

Good Hotel in Downtown Shenzhen

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Very nice, inexpensive hotel in downtown Shenzhen. Most of staff is fluent in English and very helpful in making transportation arrangements. Hotel is located near subway and shopping. Just across the street is a very nice public park with many social activities throughout the day and night; a great place for an after dinner stroll.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Hoboken USA

Fitness center not up to par

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is ok. More like a nice Ibis than a true Novotel. The neighborhood of the hotel is good. It is across the street from the Shenzhen Communist Party Headquarters and near to Terminal 1, a very poplar mall. Walk from the Science Museum metro is about 4-5 minutes at most. Hotel is a little hard to spot as it is not facing the road and the sign is not very big. My biggest complaint was the completely in adequate fitness center. Staff was helpful and room was clean enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from San Fransico Bay Area

Good Hotel in City Center?

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Near Lizhi Park and KK Mall.
Cons: Vacuum rooms daily
Location: Near subway, can reach anything you desire to see.
My first trip to China and Shen Zhen. The city is spread out over a very large area. I think I was in the financial center. I took the ferry from Hong Kong airport to She Kou port (about 1/2 hour) then a taxi to Novotel Watergate ( about one hour to hotel, next time I will take direct coach from airport to hotel, much cheaper and takes less time). The hotel is located across the street from Lizhi Park and near KK Mall ( the tallest building in Shen Zhen), you must take the underground passage to reach both. The Shekou and Luobao lines can be accessed at the Grand Theater. The park is a gathering point for dance and song at night and is a very safe area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Agent 007 from Toronto

Hotel condition

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel lacks good view, high ceilings, good english speaking staff. The washroom countertops are too basic with old faucets and low water pressure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tk from singapore

Bed as hard as rock, a little overprice

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's was unfortunate that the hotel gave me a corner room due to over-crowding, and the room is much smaller than the regular room, that once my luggage is open, I had not much space left to walk! There is no shower/tub combination nor weighing scale as stated by the hotel.com and novotel website. The bed was absolutely hard and awful, and I feel like I'm sleeping on the floor without any mattress. The hotel was poorly located, and to make matter worse, the only underground pavement that leads to the Grand Theater Station is closed due to construction works, and it is almost impossible to get to the subway or the shopping mall for food. This is not even a 4 stars hotel, probably 3 stars with a pathetic lobby. Breakfast was acceptable, and the staff provide good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anuj from Delhi

Good for stay

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is good like any regular 3-4 star hotel would be . Gym pool all is there as well . The rooms don't have a microwave so be aware hotels.com has given in false info . To use the microwave we need to go to the second floor . The mini bar is free has juice coke and beer . The tv has only 2 English channels and no paid channels . The hdmi connection etc don't work properly. No iPod station in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Devon, England

Great Hotel

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Location
Location: Great location for eating, shopping malls and Metro.
I've stayed in this hotel many times and never been disappointed. Staff are friendly and helpful, Rooms are very clean and the hotel is in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gaynor from North West

Close to the expedition we were attending

Posted Mar 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
stayed before and the hotel was upto its usual standard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not what we had hoped for

Posted Aug 20, 2012
This hotel looked tired and certainly not what I could consider a four star hotel. It felt old and dirty although it was clean. The room was what I think of as a US budget hotel type room. Nothing special and adequate for a one night stay. Certainly not what I would think of as a four star hotel room. By far this room was a disappointment compared to the four other hotels we stayed in while in China. The staff was not very helpful and wrong about information they gave us. We had asked if breakfast was included on our reservation and was told no only to find later that breakfast was indeed included. We missed out and were not happy about it.