Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Lovely open fires that were lit in the evening. Some effort was made to provide me with something gluten-free to eat. The garden was very pretty.
Cons: A breakfast menu should be provided, so you can choose what you want. I was offered some things, and my husband got offered different things to me.
Location: We found the most amazing vegetarian only cafe in Cheddar village called The Sitting Room. Great value, filling and wholesome food. Wells was nice.
The hotel is on a fairly busy road. The curtains in room 1 don't close properly, so the lights from oncoming traffic shine in through the gaps and reflect in the mirror opposite, meaning you can't get any darkness in the room. The walls are extremely thin and you can clearly hear conversations in other rooms. The floorboards are extremely creaky and uneven. The bathroom door had a huge gap underneath and didn't close. We didn't find the bed comfortable, and got very little sleep. In fairness we are probably spoilt at home with our memory foam mattress. The pillows were too soft with no support at all. I had a great shower the next morning, but when my husband got in, the people in the room next to us turned on their shower. My husband's water completely stopped coming out, but luckily he hadn't shampooed his hair and had just about got the shower gel off his body. There was a small fridge on a table, but it was quite noisy, so I switched it off overnight and turned it back on in the morning. There were gaps all around the door where you could see through. The kettle wasn't big enough to make 2 drinks at once, and the lead was too short to reach the socket properly. I was pleased to be able to get some gluten-free toast for breakfast, and some gluten-free cereal. The homemade marmalade was nice, but I prefer savoury things. It would have been nice to have been offered something hot, even if it was only some baked beans or scrambled egg to go on my toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SE England

Small hotel/restaurant

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Small, friendly and homely.
Location: Kilver Court Gardens are beautiful and there is a designer outlet adjacent to the gardens.
Lovely small hotel/restaurant except the two nights (Sunday and Monday) we stayed they do not do evening dinner. We had not realised this when we booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Lovely hotel with great breakfasts

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Beautifully presented hotel with friendly staff, excellent breakfasts and very clean. Some road noise in the front rooms but fine at back. Creaky floors but to be expected in such an old building and adds to charm. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Philfrom Seaford

What a jewel in Shepton Mallet

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a find, a great hotel, very friendly, comfortable and clean.Also the best bit is the resturant! We had a fantastic meal for diner, and an equally fine breakfast. For example at breakfast we enjoyed home made bread, toasted with the chef's own marmalde!The owners have only been there for 6 or so months, and I have no doubt they will improve the hotel in a very positive way, building it from a very good starting position.We can not wait to find another reason to head back and stay again. Thats if diner alone is not a good enough reason! Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom New York

Convenient to Wells sight-seeing

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The proprietors were friendly, served good dinner and breakfast. The building has seen better days, outdated plumbing, no sound privacy, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thierryfrom Bern

Übernachten im alten Herrschaftshaus

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Athmosphäre, authentische Einrichtung.
Cons: Auf ausreichende und einladende Beleuchtung im Eingangsbereich achten, damit das Hotel auch auffällt und nicht unbewohnt erscheint.
Location: Nähe von Wells mit einer eindrücklichen Kathedrale.
Auf den ersten Blick erscheint das Hotel alt und beinahe unbewohnt zu sein. Wir kamen in der Dämmerung an und sahen kein Licht von aussen. Im Innern ist vieles noch sehr rustikal, aber dadurch dann auch wieder sehr lieblich. Die Besitzer sind sehr nett und kochen selbst für die Gäste. Sehr familiäre Atmosphäre. Die Zimmer knarren und knacken und wenn man den ersten Eindruck ausser acht lässt ist es wirklich eine nette Übernachtungsmöglichkeit. Mit dem Auto ist man schnell und unkompliziert in Wells wo sich der Besuch der Kathedrale lohnt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allfrom Surrey

Comfortable stay

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Super friendly hosts and lovely served breakfast. Made a nice change from the usual buffet style breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
by shawnfrom nyc

great place to stay, centrally located

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The couple that owns the hotel were very inviting. Although the room was a bit dated, it was large, clean, with a modern bath. The included full English breakfast was also quite good. The location was excellent if you are thinking of taking in Glastonbury and Wells. Don't be put off by the dated condition of the hotel as it delivers an authentic experience that you will not find staying at a larger chain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com