Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

did not come up to 4 star rating. All a bit tired

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Accommodation, cleanliness and food.
Location: Near Sheringham Park. Close to Sheringham town..
On arrival showed to a dark and grim room. We were then upgraded to a better room. Service and waiting time for meals was poor. Mediocre food was expensive. Did not eat at restaurant after the first night. Was shocked that at premium rates, breakfast was an extra. Very nice setting but gardens were not well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Lovely grounds and hotel with plenty of character

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Our room had a great view and was spacious but we felt it could do with a bit of refurbishment ie bathroom and headboard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel next to National Trust Park

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Its location and ambience. Country house hotel sums it up completely.
Location: Sheringham Park adjoins the hotel which is great for walks. Sheringham beach is pretty and is a few minutes drive away which is well worth visiting.
We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of May on a room only basis. The standard twin was fine for my sister and me. We wanted the flexibility to eat out and on occasion eat in the hotel. We had breakfast one morning and three evening meals. The food in the dining room was super and we couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly as well. The Park is next to the hotel so you can go for walks - the rhododendrons were all in flower so the park was spectacular . Sheringham is a few minutes drive away which has a lovely beach, nice shops, esplanade and steam train. Lots of interesting historic houses not far away if the weather is mixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Essex

Hotel of character within a country setting.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Character and setting.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Superficially ok but needed a good vacuuming.
Location: North Norfolk coast, national trust properties.
Our stay was only two nights but staff very pleasant and food good. Location convenient for our purposes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by eggy from Norfolk

what a great small hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It mathed everything we were expecting and the service was great. We had a great evening meal and a very comfy bed for the perfect end to a romantic break would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Country hotel with excellent character

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of the staff and excellent breakfast
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Near Sheringham Park, town and sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Booked as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday and was so pleased with it. The staff were lovely and friendly and even had a giggle with you. The room was amazing and the food was gorgeous and well worth the price. All in all excellent stay, will be going back in the summer to see the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing place to stay on the North Norfolk coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely quiet hotel tucked away in its own grounds

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: It was very quiet
Location: Seaside towns nearby. Coastal Railway. Castles and Stately Homes. Bird Watching. Walking. Boat trips
We booked this hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The weather was very bad and they had been experiencing power cuts due to power lines being blown down. This put a strain on the kitchen staff, who coped so well we were not aware of the difficulties until the receptionist told us that the chef was having to boil all water for tea etc in a pan while the power was off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from London

A lovely stopover

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were welcomed very warmly by all the staff who could not have been more helpful. The setting of this hotel is magnificent in a tranquil leafy location. We had dinner on arrival which was excellent and a most comfortable night. All in all , a most enjoyable , relaxing and perfect stay.