Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maxencefrom Arras

dans la campagne

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
bon sejour sans soucis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia, USA

Very nice, scenic bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The house is new, rooms are in new condition with up to date amenities. The gardens at the house are phenomenal.
Cons: Internet connectivity was intermittent at best due to the remote location. I tried a few times, then gave up and enjoyed the location.
Location: Their is a nice looking, well groomed golf course nearby. It is also only 40 minutes from downtown Dublin.
This is a first class, up to date facility. The family that owns it was very welcoming, the facilities were the most modern and convenient we saw in a bed and breakfast and the breakfast was outstanding. The location is secluded and somewhat remote which was exactly what we were looking for. We hiked through the forest area and over to a golf club which was a short hike down the road and it was absolutely charming. The only possible negative is that due to its remote location both internet access and mobile phone connectivity were spotty. For us, that was a plus since we were looking to enjoy being away from work - not to do more work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
B&B was hard to find - way out in the country. Staff very helpful, lovely rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great guesthouse

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Lovely guesthouse in beautiful rural location. Very friendly and helpful owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stoops guest house

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Gorgeous!
Great hospitality. Beautiful new house. Great food.q
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Catch up with old Friends

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable stay .Vicky and her Mum were very friendly and helpful. Will return next year. Bert and Marion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly welcome

Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was an excellent place to stay with individual and friendly service. The countryside is beautiful and it is within reach of some lovely sites/sights
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, UK

Stoops Guesthouse, Shillelagh - beautiful country

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Stoops for 3 nights whilst attending a wedding close by. Vicki gave us a very warm welcome and tried to make us feel at home from the minute we arrived. The house is very spacious and clean, and above all is in a very tranquil location (although the village of Shillelagh is nearby). Vicki really does serve a delicious full Irish breakfast which sets you up for the rest of the day. I have to say, having read the previous somewhat negative review, I did wonder what we were going to find, but we we pleasantly surprised and will definitely go there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Co. Kilkenny, Ireland

Stoops Guesthouse Coolattin, 3 stars

Posted Feb 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stoops Guesthouse didn't meet what it promised on its webpage. There wasn't any internet access. There wasn't a complimentary bottle of water. There was only one TV channel with bad reception. There wasn't a kitchen area or sitting room area. There wasn't a patio or a roof terrace. The kettle in the room was broken and needed to be exchanged. The tea making table wasn't clean. The radiator wasn't working properly and needed bleeding, which was done after I complained. The breakfast room wasn't warm enough to be comfortable. I was staying for two nights and the room and bathroom weren't cleaned, although the website promises daily housekeeping. Don't go there!
Comment from General Manager
Mar 26, 2012 by Hotel Management, General Manager
Stoops House, has promised and delivered upon its accommodation services for many years with no reviews less than good, very good and outstanding. These reviews can be seen on many global travel websites. Water is completely free throughout the house, there are two patios to the rear including two acres of garden, we also have a large kitchen for guests use. Whilst we at stoops strive to provide an excellent level of service and make every guest feel welcome, sometimes perfection is hard to achieve. On this unfortunate occasion our satellite was hit by a lightening storm which affected our TV and internet, this is just an unfortunate coincidence, which is now fixed. The house is exceptionally warm, cosy, modern and supremely clean so, if this level of service was not up to our excellent standards, we shall make sure this is fixed for the future. Guests are always asked if they want daily housekeeping and this was no exception, also to state "Dont go There!" is nothing less than outrageous. We humbly accept all guest opinions and its what makes us a better service provider, unfortunately malicious complaints that bear no truth are difficult to comprehend.