Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Rich from Iowa

Old and smelly.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact, I will avoid Best Western hotels from now on.
Cons: ee comments above.
Location: I was in the area for work and did not visit anywhere else.
Hallways smelled from cigarette smoke. TV control did not work. AC was bad, either too cold or not cooling, could not control, very old unit. WiFi was very week and would not stay connected. Thursday rate was OK, Friday rate was very high but was not explained when making phone reservation. Breakfast area was small and not appealing.
3 out of 5
by Katherine from Syracuse, NY

This Best Western was Not

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Cleaning staff should be better trained and sensitive to the looks of not only guest rooms but the hallways etc.
Location: Found a great restaurant (AJ's) in Shippensburg that had been recommended by the Best Western. Excellent and we dined there two nights.
This was our first experience at a Best Western, selecting it because it was the closest accommodations we could get to Gettysburg for the 150th Anniversary celebration. Room was clean and neat upon arrival but never vacuumed after day one and we stayed four days. Bed hastily made and pillows simply flung upon it after day one. Hallway rugs were unclean as was staircase from second to first floor. Breakfast room was neat and clean with a pleasant hostess, but hot food was deplorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Best Western in Shippensburg was a nice crashpad! The hotel serves a complimentary breakfast that includes eggs and biscuits and gravy, a great way to start the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult stay

Posted Jul 5, 2013
It seemed that everything went wrong relative to our room including a missing shower head, broken AC unit, and standing water in the refrigerator (and the cereal was stale at breakfast). The staff was somewhat helpful yet overall it was a difficult night of rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Near Ship

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Nice hotel, close to campus. Kids liked the pool and breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Polly from Dover, DE

Great pool, dirty rooms

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Pros: The pool and hot tub.
Cons: How dirty the rooms were.
Location: Very convenient to the highway, just off Rt. 81. Convenient to the town of Shippensburg.
The good: a very nice indoor pool and hot tub. The desk staff were friendly. Continental breakfast was typical scrambled eggs, cereal, waffles, coffee, juices, etc. The bad: my room and the room my friends were staying in were pretty dirty and a bit long in the tooth. My friends had hair in their tub. My room had a stained bedspread and a ripped curtain. Both rooms suffered from lack of vacuuming: dirt on the rugs and dust bunnies all along the wall. The hotel could use a little mending and scrubbing. I mentioned it to the desk staff and the woman there said she had received many complaints and they were thinking of firing the cleaning staff. That or more training or supervision would be a good idea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJ

Best Western, Shippensburg.

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Swimming pool/hot tub
Cons: Unfriendly staff.
Location: Close to attrations.
Hotel is nice. Close to many locations. Staff could be a little more friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Lancaster, PA

Good value if you don't choke on the smoke.

Posted Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Convenient for our trip.
Cons: SMOKY!
Inexpensive in a town with very few choices so I am not complaining at all. The condition of the building and rooms is great for the price but they should get rid of smoking. The hallways reek of tobacco smoke and the even the non smoking rooms have lingering odors. One of our rooms did not have and bedspreads or comforters in it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff

Good stay for the price

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Pool and breakfast
Cons: TV - older model that whined and not all channels had sound (weird).
Location: Very easy access from I-81
For the price, this place was worth it. Well kept, good breakfast (good variety and polite staff), quiet, nice pool. I was happy with my stay. Seems to be a popular place for those looking for a good deal - range of clientele included young couples, truckers, families with young children, Shippensburg college students and parents, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Ship U, give them an "A"

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Easy access, pleasant front desk lady, clean room, nice breakfast.