Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was extremely happy with my stay.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very clean and extremely nice hotel. I would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worldly Traveler - Disappointed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Starbucks coffee
Cons: NEW MANAGEMENT
I was looking forward to staying at this hotel after reading all the positive reviews. I figured I could not go wrong with a reputable name such as Hampton Inn. I was very disappointed. The average age of the staff is probably around 17 years old and they could not care a less if their customers are happy. I dont blame them since they are kids however it was very apparent that there was no leadership there. The lack of direction was very transparent. The hotel did not have air conditioning in the lobby or hallways so the hotel had a very humid/mildy feeling and smell. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many different hotel chains. This is the first time EVER where the hotel staff did not try to accommodate me. I arrived at the hotel at 10:47am. I understand that check in is at 3pm HOWEVER typically - great hotels that put customers first will allow you to use a room to get ready/freshen up (especially if you were traveling for a wedding that started at 12pm). My kind requests were met with snarky remarks from the front desk associate. I asked for any options and she basically told me I had no options and to use the restroom to get ready. I returned to the hotel at 2:57pm - eagerly wanting to check in - the same front desk associate told me that I have to wait until 3pm and she needs to call her supervisor who is checking EVERY SINGLE room to make sure its up to standards. Everyone was waiting for 15-20 minutes past 3pm for a confirmation via walkie talkie.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Logansport, IN

Aggravating

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: a little leway would go along way I had to rate everything even though we never saw the rooms so the rating is really jaded.
We were going to a wedding in Middlebury, Indiana and when we arrived at the Hampton the parking lot was empty except for 4 cars. We had our clothes in our car and needed to change for the wedding at 3:30. My husband needed to iron his shirt and I need to shower and change clothes plus put on makeup. We were told that under no circumstances could we have an early check in. It was 1:30 p.m. When we informed the desk clerk she told us she was sorry and that she had strict orders to not check anyone in until 3:00 and that we could change in the public restroom. I am in no way upset with the front desk person she is only the messanger. Fortunately we were able to call the Das Dutchman Essenhaus Inn and Conference Center where we were checked in emmediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from north central Ohio

Nice Hotel near Shipshewana and related activities

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to activities and shopping that we had planned.
Cons: The only complaint is that they did not have enough breakfast crew to handle the hotel capacity on Thursday, July 4. We had to wait for hot food, more
Location: Near Shipshewana and Middlebury...Amish Country. Not far from Berne and Goshen either.
The hotel was nice enough for our return sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Appleton WI

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Close to everything in the area.
Location: Location is near all the great shops in the area (to many to name).
Very nice place to stay. Breakfast is good. The location is great. Easy to get to and close to some of the best places to visit in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

nice comfortable staff helpful

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: location staff amenities
Cons: more info on local events especially for late afternoon/evenings
Location: Shipshawana Essenhaus Blue Gate Theater Blue Gate Resturante Yoders
was told I would receive my points, lost because of 3rd party booking good location to do all we wanted to do staff very accommodating need to have more information available regarding the local area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short yet sweet!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Great staff, nice rooms, good area! Enjoyed the stay! I'll go back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The hotel was very nice, up to date furnishings, good breakfast choices. The rooms were clean and neat, the staff friendly and helpful. Situated in a nice area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Loved our stay - the nighttime staff gave us wrong directions and we ended up lost for an hour and he was really slow when we checked in, then I had to go into the linen area to help the night staff find a blanket. But overall everything else was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from F

Fun stat

Posted May 29, 2014
Thought a casino stop would be fun since we had been on the road for 6 hrs. Hotel was very nice, would stay again.