Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sallyfrom york

breafast at foregate

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had pleasant stay.the room was comfortable.breakfast was fine.the muesli was delicious.not so keen on virtually raw tomato on cooked breakfast.my only complaint was the dining room was freezing I don't think there was heating on in the building so that detracted slightly from the overallpicture which was a good one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craigfrom Devon

Nice hotel close to city centre.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Welcome. Comfort of bed. Proximity to town centre. Off-street parking. Breakfast.
Cons: Water pressure. Decor update.
Location: 15 minute walk into town centre with bars, shops & Shrewsbury Abbey enroute. Easily accessible from main trunk roads.
Very warm welcome from Cameron. Check-in quick & hassle free. We were given a room in the annex which was away from traffic noise at the front of the hotel. Small room but warm & comfortable. Slightly dated bathroom and poor water pressure made for a rather uninvigorating shower. Off street parking and we were allowed to leave our car there after check-out whilst we explored the town which was greatly appreciated. Nice Full English breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gretafrom Queenborough

Overall a good nights stay

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed for one night on our way to wales, everything about the hotel was excellent, if there was anything I had to find wrong that would be parking as it was quite compact.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kayfrom dublin Ireland

Close to the town

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Cons: Update decor.
Location: Lots to do beautiful location,abbey and river walks.....
Enjoyed our stay,very friendly staff close to town centre.Breakfast was fab.......
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Nice place spoilt by fire-alarm problem

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was OK but lack of sleep due to fire alarm fault causing alarm beeper to sound from 01:30 untill 07:00 when we got up with very little sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Basic

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely people very basic hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Location within walking distance of the Abbey

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Breakfast
Cons: Housekeeping-our room was cold on arrival-window left open, and had two light bulbs out and a TV that had an intermittent sound
Location: Abbey & Central Shrewsbury
Pleasant Stay, Good Breakfast. Clean but perhaps a little tired for a 4 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Groundhog70from wednesbury

Easy access to Shrewsbury Town centre

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our one night stay was fine. Breakfast was nice with a good fresh cooked full english. Bathroom could have done with a bit of decorating but was fine. Bedroom was cold but not a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Convenient for my needs. Easy to come and go.
Cons: Cleanliness round bases of taps etc see above. Decor a bit tired.
Location: Reasonable walking distance into Shrewsbury, near Abbey Church, an interesting land mark, and easy to find interesting places to eat nearer the middle
Kind and helpful staff at the hotel, substantial breakfasts, room en suite and tea/coffee making potential. Someone who cleans needs to get in the bath and clean the bases of the tap pillars and grab handle, not spotless from below. Slight overdose on fabric conditioner smell. But very convenient and it fitted the bill well for my needs. Stayed two nights midweek. Not expensive.