Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire, UK

A few days break

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly considerate staff, excellent atmosphere. First class food in the Royalist restaurant.
Location: The Prince Rupert is in the heart of the main shopping area, so very easy to get to everywhere. Would recommend the walk around the river.
a few days in lovely Shrewsbury. Very good shopping and sightseeing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne from West Yorkshire

Very good for being in the heart of the town.

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient for the centre of town.
Cons: The floorboards on the first floor. Some re-furbishment in the standard rooms.
Location: It is a lovely town to just potter around in and look at the architecture.There are some very good shops that you don't find in other towns.
The hotel seemed quite full when we arrived and we were put into a very small room which was stuffy, warm and noisy . The following day we were asked if we wanted to upgrade. The new room on the floor above was lovely: large, well furnished, a four-poster bed and a very nice bathroom. it was also quiet. The breakfasts were good and went on until 10am. The staff were very nice and helpful.The hotel was central and there was a very good bar and a restaurant not far away.
2 out of 5
by Ani from Berkshire UK

Sadly not up to the value of spend

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building, lots of nooks and crannies with some stair cases definitely on the 'lean' the Breakfast room was gorgeous and bar was quaint.
Cons: Standard of the basic rooms improved. This was not up to VFM, Gym to be fully operational and reception attitude to be open to Expedia customers
Location: Ideally situated right in the hub of the center with beautiful cobbled street alleyways. You don't have to walk far to see some spectacular buildings
It seemed that as soon as we mentioned that we had booked through Expedia and had already paid, the receptionists attitude changed and she didn't seem to bothered about us at all after that and just insisted that we had had a room upgrade - I would not like to see the original room if in fact it did exist. We were placed in one of the petite rooms on floor 3 (304). The bed was at the end of a narrow corridor and far side was difficult to access. I scratched my arm on a broken piece of TV cable conduit that was sticking out. I did take pictures but can't them for you to see. I would like to show you these please advise. The furniture was really in need of updating. It wasn't antique/charming but basic and fairly cheap and very worn, some of the drawers were difficult to open. The bed was a standard double but with an extremely hard mattress so neither of us slept really while we were there. I did use the gym on the first morning, which the receptionist kept advising was complementary (surely that is standard for a hotel gym?) but out of the three electronic Nortilus units, only one was working, but not the running machine that I was hoping for. The rest of the units were quite old. There was no shower down there so in order to use the sauna then Jaccuzi you couldn't shower first which was less than hygienic. The steam room/chamber wasn't working On the plus side, the building is lovely and the breakfast was good. The breakfast and bar staff were great btw
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Midweek break

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Got a suite rather than a double room as we thought. Great breakfast & bar in hotel. Right in the centre of Shrewsbury. Cromwell's wine bar recommended for steaks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from West Mids.

overnight stay

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Central position. Helpful, friendly staff.
Cons: On leaving, I commented that the back of the bathroom door and behind it had been forgotten by the duster!!
Location: Very handy for everything and lots to do and see.
A Sat-nav is handy for finding Prince Rupert. Once parked outside the hotel with a bit of a squeeze, hotel staff very quickly sort out your luggage and the car which they park in their garage. The hotel is near the shops, restaurants, churches, river, library.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zoe from Northamption

Good in parts...

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Great location. Lovely breakfast. Free valet parking makes it good value for money.
Cons: Ancient kettles and hairdryers should be replaced, guest information should be up to date and staff could be a little more welcoming.
Location: Great live music at The Bull next door and The Three Fishes nearby do a good selection of real ales and ciders.
Overall we were a little disappointed with this hotel as it did not really live up to our expectations – the décor in parts is very shabby, the staff were efficient but not particularly friendly or helpful and there’s really no excuse for out of date guest information! Having said that, however, the location is great, the food is good, refurbishment is ongoing (they were re-fitting the ladies cloakroom while we were there) and, if you have a car, the valet parking is free and makes a stay here good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by seanatlilac from isle of Wight

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Hotel was very welcoming and provided an excellent stay in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury. Fantastic location for exploring the town.
Cons: Water pressure in our room was low and needs upgrading.
Location: Excellent location for shops, pubs, restauarants and the local heritage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sammyjojo from Cambs

Wonderful 'Oldie Worldie' Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful old hotel with lots of character, but with rooms that have been tastefully updated. Having breakfast next to suits of armour was good. The only snooker table in the whole of Shrewsbury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the hotel was spot on - I could not fault it in any way.J
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay!

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: Heating in the room.
Location: Great food in Number 4 restaurant, just a few doors down.
Excited to be visiting the hotel after great reviews, was disappointed! Greeting on arrival ok, but not outstanding. Reception staff on check out had no Customer Service skills! Room although nice was freezing (heating was switched off). I'd of thought as I'd let the hotel know in advance that we'd be checking in late, they'd of made sure the heating was on. We switched heating on and went out for dinner, on returning to the room we realised the heating wasn't working so phoned down to ask for a heater. Only to be greeted by ' have you turned the heating on?' We had to wait for another member of staff to start their shift before they could bring us a heater (arrived around 11.30pm). On the plus side - Bar/lounge area lovely, bar staff great – Lots of choice at Breakfast, staff lovely - Location brilliant (made Christmas shopping very easy). Great food in Number 4 restaurant, just a few doors down