Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Cons: Wi fi in the rooms.
Perfect, couldn't ask for more. Will be more than happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Nice hotel in the city centre

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Prince Rupert Hotel is ideally and centrally situated in the very interesting city of Shrewsbury. This was our first visit to the city and we were very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bathfordrichfrom Somerset

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good location with excellent car-parking facility. Bearing in mind that it is a very old and historic hotel, comfort etc was excellent. We had to get the light bulbs changed in order to be able to read! Service very good and breakfast excellent with good choice of food. Staff very attentive and helpful. All in all, we shall certainly hope to stay there again, next time for longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Wales and Northants

Good hotel in heart of town

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We wanted a hotel close to the station and this was a good choice. The night porter was a gem, keeping the bar going for a late nightcap. My sole, and minor, criticism regards the breakfast arrangements in that, although they served until 10am, when we arrived at 9.30 it seemed that most guests had been and gone and we were shunted into a table in the far corner, away from everyone else. I don't know why, there were plenty of tables available and why make the staff walk so much further? I suspect it was toward the end of the session and I got the impression that if everyone else got down in good time then why couldn't we. If we return, I'll make sure I insist on a table of my choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Hotel with character

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Chambers restaurant is excellent, I would make a point of going there even if not staying in the hotel.
Old building with plenty of character. Only downside was our room faced the street and there was a fair amount of noise outside on Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark Gfrom South Yorkshire

NIce apart from the noise....

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in the town for an event at the showground and had decided not to camp. On finding the Prince Ruport and seeing the mixed reviews, I thought I would give it a go. The room was very clean and nice fluffy towels were provided. The bathroom was lovely and clean, and very moden which contrasts the age of the hotel. There is a lift which is small so if you have bags you can only fit one person but that's not a major gripe. The food ?..well I only had breakfast both mornings and I have to say that it was very good indeed, they provide a great choice of cereals and juices, pastries etc on a huge table and then offer you a cooked breakfast etc, which was well cooked and very tasty. The Valet parking works very well, although I was nervous about letting someone drive my pride and joy !. The hotel is hard to find for sure !, I was circling around and around before finally stopping in teh street down the road and walking back to the hotel to ask exactly how to get to it by road !..The ONLY real negative thing that I to say is that the noise in the early hours from people out on the town and at around 4 am was a HUGE issue and I was awoken both nights at around the same time by screaming and shouting and general hustle and bustle which although is not in the control of the hotel, was still at right royal pain....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northamptonshire, UK

A few days break

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly considerate staff, excellent atmosphere. First class food in the Royalist restaurant.
Location: The Prince Rupert is in the heart of the main shopping area, so very easy to get to everywhere. Would recommend the walk around the river.
a few days in lovely Shrewsbury. Very good shopping and sightseeing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paddy Greenfrom Aylesbury

Very good location

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good typical old hotel with creaky floors and odd shaped rooms but very clean and great location - like the complimentary valet parking!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PBKer

Great location, good value hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I only had a short stay but the staff were all very friendly, the location is excellent being right in centre of historic town, room very clean and had everything needed (except fridge), very good value overall. Only down side is the hotel a bit dated inside.