Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: LIFT and Carpets in room.
Location: Very good and good for shops and history,GREAT LOCATION.
Location Good,HOTEL needs updating,ie carpets Lift and bathroom,Also NEW CAR PARKING charge from November which was Free before is annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel full of old world charm and character.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Old world charm but with modern facilities.
Location: Sightseeing. Charles Darwin born here. Shopping. Beautiful bridges. Cobbled narrow streets. Tudor buildings,
We stayed overnight as a couple. We stayed in a mansion suite which dated back about 400 years. A large room with an iron bedstead which was very comfortable. Bathroom had a deep roll top bath.The door frames to the suite were very low so care must be taken? Steep steps to the suite. Very pleasant staff. Car was taken and parked away from the hotel. Location of hotel is ideal for shopping and sight seeing. Excellent breakfast and three restaurants to choose from for an evening meal. A very elegant hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Prince amongst Hotels

Posted Nov 25, 2014
A lovely stay at this town centre spot. With a sense of history this does not give fully modern rooms but where facilities matter (like the bathroom) nothing is spared. Nestled in the centre of the town this is also a wonderful spot to explore from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Cons: Wi fi in the rooms.
Perfect, couldn't ask for more. Will be more than happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Nice hotel in the city centre

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Prince Rupert Hotel is ideally and centrally situated in the very interesting city of Shrewsbury. This was our first visit to the city and we were very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom Dymchurch

Fantastic Friendly Service

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay very much in an excellant location The service was friendly and very helpful and the facilities offered were very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Right in the centre

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Initially given a room next to noisy aircon unit, I was transferred without fuss to a room with a lovely view at the front of the hotel. Friday night, so a bit of noise from revellers, but very quiet after that. There is no parking nearby, but valet parking is offered (I didn't arrive by car, so can't comment). Breakfast was excellent, with very efficient staffing and a good range of options. If you want a historic hotel (an all that this means) right in the centre of Shrewsbury, this is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Banofee51from Motueka, New Zealand

Central location

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay at The Prince Rupert. Very friendly and helpful staff, good cooked breakfasts and the location in the centre of Shrewsbury made our stay very pleasant. The only unfortunate thing was, as we were touring the UK not just having a pleasant week-end away, we had two large suitcases with us. The room was quite small, so space was a bit tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bathfordrichfrom Somerset

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good location with excellent car-parking facility. Bearing in mind that it is a very old and historic hotel, comfort etc was excellent. We had to get the light bulbs changed in order to be able to read! Service very good and breakfast excellent with good choice of food. Staff very attentive and helpful. All in all, we shall certainly hope to stay there again, next time for longer!