Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom leek

Expensive

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: could be a little cleaner! a little expensive for size and comfort if the room
A well located hotel. pulled up outside in car and car valet parked, nice I thought ,then got a £5 invoice on checkout! wasn't informed of this charge at all! Room very small, and small bed. dust on heated towel rail and in corners of bathroom. all staff very pleasant and welcoming. A lovely breakfast in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was lovely

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Location: Lots of things to visit also a good shopping centre
Staff very helpful had free upgrade would return again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jersey

An Hotel dripping with history.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: The Prince Rupert is a simply delightful old style hotel with a near perfect location.
Cons: Just keep gently modernising a bit at a time and keep the character of the place.
Location: Central, far too much to do justice to in this limited space.
I first stayed in the Prince Rupert in the late 1960s, it has steadily moved with the times and has gradually evolved into what it is at present, a charming old style hotel with the sort of old fashioned manners lacking most modern chain hotels. This will not appeal to those seeking an ultra modern experience, the hotel has charm and history in plentiful supply and it moves along at a relaxing pace. Located in the centre of town this is a great base from which to explore Shrewsbury and the surrounding countryside, the staff will always try to help inform your plans with local knowledge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: LIFT and Carpets in room.
Location: Very good and good for shops and history,GREAT LOCATION.
Location Good,HOTEL needs updating,ie carpets Lift and bathroom,Also NEW CAR PARKING charge from November which was Free before is annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel full of old world charm and character.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Old world charm but with modern facilities.
Location: Sightseeing. Charles Darwin born here. Shopping. Beautiful bridges. Cobbled narrow streets. Tudor buildings,
We stayed overnight as a couple. We stayed in a mansion suite which dated back about 400 years. A large room with an iron bedstead which was very comfortable. Bathroom had a deep roll top bath.The door frames to the suite were very low so care must be taken? Steep steps to the suite. Very pleasant staff. Car was taken and parked away from the hotel. Location of hotel is ideal for shopping and sight seeing. Excellent breakfast and three restaurants to choose from for an evening meal. A very elegant hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Prince amongst Hotels

Posted Nov 25, 2014
A lovely stay at this town centre spot. With a sense of history this does not give fully modern rooms but where facilities matter (like the bathroom) nothing is spared. Nestled in the centre of the town this is also a wonderful spot to explore from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Cons: Wi fi in the rooms.
Perfect, couldn't ask for more. Will be more than happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robinfrom Newcastle under Lyme, Staffordshire

A very pleasant stay

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant stay in an historic building. Room very clean and well kept and staff very friendly and helpful. A very handy location in the centre of Shrewsbury. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
by tessa mannis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Nice hotel in the city centre

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Prince Rupert Hotel is ideally and centrally situated in the very interesting city of Shrewsbury. This was our first visit to the city and we were very impressed.