Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest

Excellent Value

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, staff attention to detail, excellent breakfast, ample parking (the hotel is part of a football complex, I've not stayed on a match day).
Cons: Unlimited WiFi, only 24 hours free is old fashioned for a hotel of this type.
Location: Handy for Ironbridge museum and the outstanding Cosford air museum. Nice countryside, abundant National Trust places in this area.
I've used this hotel many times and this was the first time there was the slightest problem - breakfast wasn't ready on a Sunday morning. The staff seemed to take the equipment failure which caused the delay quite personally and did their commendable best to keep guests informed of progress with the fix. I felt quite sorry for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for V fest, great hotel and staff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pleasantly surprised after booking a family room. Stayed 3 nights, had access to pool, sauna and steam room. Every single member of staff from cleaners to reception were lovely and always said hello and were happy to help us. Only complaint would be beds aren't all that comfortable but for the price we paid a massive thumbs up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South London

Bigger than average room, friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, friendly staff, shower and excellent breakfast
Cons: pool is great, but the water can be cleaned a bit more
Location: Iron bridge and surrounding attractions, Wellington market
The room size is bigger than average, so easy to move around even with kids. Plenty of storage space for a family too. The shower is amazing with very strong water pressure! Breakfast is not included in the price, but kids eat free which is great, they have everything, all very well cooked. We have stayed in similar kind of chain hotels before, but this hotel is much better than any of them. The only negative thing is it is located slightly away from all the tourist attractions, but if you have a car, it is absolutely fine. Over all great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from basingstoke

nice on route hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: nice and local
Cons: the long corridoors were use as running space for childern
Location: lots of large shops and history can be found
nice clean large bedroom great bathroom helpful staff good food relaxing swimming pool large safe car park. will stay again on route to north. so glad travel lodge was full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Great friendly Staff. Always very helpfull. Lovely big rooms especially in the family room. Really enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to staying again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Functional hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It was convenient for my needs, clean and functional.
Cons: It lacked personality, and this was compounded by the fact that the staff are clearly motivated to focus on protecting cost and profit.
This hotel was functional and clean. It had effective staff, the food was nice, and things were carried out efficiently. However it lacked any sparkle or personality, and the team are clearly driven to focus on protecting profits over and above making guests comfortable. I came to this conclusion based on experiences I've not had at other hotels (including budget ones)... 1) Being forewarned that my breakfast was not included, and asked if I would like to pay in advance 2) Having to then go into the kitchen to find a member of staff to pay 3) Being phoned in my room at 11:10 to be reminded that checkout was to be at 11 (based on there being literally on other guests in the restaurant at 8:30 I presume the hotel wasn't packed to capacity) These days, it costs nothing to have a little warmth and personality in how you deal with people regardless of the message. Premier Inn get this SO right, sadly the Whitehouse didn't.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

nice but noisy

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was clean and you could use the leisure facilities
Cons: Staff training and air conditioning.
Location: Not much to do nearby but a good location next to the football ground.
The hotel was ok but the staff in the restaurant could do with some training in being attentive to their customers, liaison with the Reception so that they are aware of offers. As an example, the restaurant staff were unaware of the current offers being promoted by Reception staff, we were served an un-open bottle of wine (luckily a screw cap) and had to keep asking for the water jug to be refilled as the dining room was unbearably hot - the portable air conditioning unit was totally inadequate. The rooms were reasonable, clean and tidy, but again very hot as there was no air conditioning in the rooms. No fault of the hotel but we had people running down the corridors at 1:00 am then again at 2 am. For the price paid it was ok and as I say, it was clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from norfolk UK

Handy to get about county

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location and lift. It overlooks the football ground and has a big car park.
Cons: Billing. Later check out time as 11am a bit early.
Location: Plenty to do. Wrekin just up the road. Iron Bridge near and easy access to Telford and Shrewesbury. Lots of tourist fodder.
The hotel was fine with a good overall standard. Breakfast very good value and dinner OK. We decided not to use the swimming pool as some appeared to be using it as a shower after the gym! We did twice have issues over bills. Overcharged at dinner and then by £120 when checking out. We managed to sort both problems but this should not have happened. Overall no real complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

nice hotel near to all our planned destiations

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: clean comfortable very good breakfast
Cons: none that i needed
Location: we booked because we where spending the time going to the ironbridge museums
really good experience although they have charged us twice i rang and the overcharge should be returned to us. but i think they should know what they are doing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to family when visiting amd sight seeing

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This is my 3rd stay at the hotel and this is why i return as it is very comfortable, staff are excellant as is the cleanliness of the hotel, bedrooms, bathrooms etc The breakfast was very good and the restaurant choices, staff were very efficient and hospitable