Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Sunshine Coast, Australia

Very Cambodian in decoration

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The very comfy, beautifully carved bed
Cons: Get rid of the barking dog next door, on and off all night. {I know they can't do anything about that}.
Location: Lovely silver shop a couple of doors down.
I stayed here in February 2014, in a Junior Suite. I had been travelling in Thailand, and the beautiful carved bed in this room was the most comfortable of my whole trip! The staff were very helpful, and the free ride into town between 5 & 7pm came in very handy. In any case, as this hotel is not right in Siem Reap, it still only costs $2 by tuk-tuk each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Scotland

A charming experience

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The wonderful wood interior and furniture.
Location: Well placed for Angkor Watt but on the edge of the main town of Siem Reap. There was very little to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
This hotel was most impressive with its wonderful wood interior and furntiure; such a pleasing change from the usual bland hotel interiors. The staff were very helpful especially the desk staff who spoke quite good english. The staff in the restaurant were very obliging but understood only a little english. The hotel was well placed for visiting Angkor Watt but was a lillte way out of the main part of town. The dinner we had a the hotel was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Justin Menard from Ottawa

Quiet Retreat

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel: the location, the beds, the rooms, the lobby, the pool, even the tuk-tuk drivers working for the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, but I have to say that it always took a very long time to receive it. This was especially frustrating on the day we had an excursion reserved. We got there at 6:30am opening time, and said we had to leave at 7am. We received our breakfast 6:56am. Fortunately, they were a little late picking us up so we had time to wolf down our meal. But apart from this one incident, our stay was truly wonderful. The front desk man (the one working during the day) was most excellent, providing a service beyond expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from Germany

Fantastic Service

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at Shining Angkor Boutique very much. Very friendly personal and a very comfortable stay over all. Highly recommendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jose from SINGAPORE

NICE BOUTIQUE HOTEL CLOSE TO THE ANG KOR WAT TEMPL

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: STYLE
Location: CLOSE TO DOWNTOWN SIEM REAP AND CLOSE TO THE ANG KOR WAT ZONE
THIS WAS A NICE SURPRISE, A CHARMING HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY STAFF AND GOOD LOCATION
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike R. from Hawaii

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent, well run hotel for the budget conscience person. Beautiful solid wood interiors and furnishings. Free Western or Eastern style breakfasts were delicious. Staff is courteous and flexible for planning transportation and/or trips. Away from the busy part of Siem Reap, but only a short "tuk tuk" ride to the action. Quiet neighborhood and closer to the Ankor Wat temples, so you can sleep later for the required sunrise visit. If you want to stay at a "local" place, this is it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from Gold Coast, Australia

Great hotel with good facilities

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and breakfast. Very pretty
Cons: Aircon left big puddles on the floor in the room. Minor problem that I am sure they are onto.
Location: We hired a tuk tuk driver for the day who waited for us outside the hotel and took us everywhere we wanted so everything was close!!!!
We had them pick us up from the airport as we had never been the Phnom Penh before. Driver was great, hotel and facilities were good. Pretty place in the middle of the craziness. Only there for a day but the staff were excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Shirley Tay from Singapore

Near Angkor Wat

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is one of the nearest to Angkor Wat. Other plus points: spacious rooms and bathrooms. Theme & d├ęcor is very traditional Cambodian so it's interesting for a change. However, the interior of the hotel and rooms may be too dimly lighted for those used to bright lightings. The other aspect is there are no eateries or convenience stores near this hotel. But since we stayed only 2 nights, this is bearable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robin from England

Excellent For Angkor Wat

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff. Were able to organise all our requirements. They organised our driver for two days round site and he was excellent and extremely helpful. Hotel itself on road to Angkor, too far to walk into Siem Reap but only $2 for tuk-tuk. Local area seemed safe but but not much in regards restaurants. Hotel very interesting decor with heavy wood.
3 out of 5
by Mone from Auz

Quiet Traditional Hotel just outside of Siem Reap

Posted Dec 30, 2013
The hotel is great from the outside. A very traditional feel to the hotel which we loved during our stay, however I wished the same feeling led to the room. The room had a stench similar to a mouldy smell which we tried to get rid off but didn't disappear the entire 3 days we stayed. I think it may be due to the room not getting enough light as nothing in the room quite dried properly, always damp. The hotel was clean but cause the fittings are quite old you couldn't really tell. Staff are lovely and beautiful apart from a couple of exceptions, just don't ask for anything that requires extra effort otherwise you'll be met with a sour face! We almost missed our bus due to them telling us the wrong time, and to make it worse we were on the top floor and nobody helped us with our luggage down the flights of stairs. However they rectified it by calling the bus back to the hotel and taking our luggage to the bus. Not far from the centre of town. Just a $2 tuk tuk ride if you're looking for somewhere quiet, which we liked. Be careful as they like to charge more! The hotel was okay for the money you pay, however I would suggest just forking out a bit more money and staying in better accommodation.