Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Thailand

Bat Horror

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was very friendly, however, my room was not. Upon arriving in my room I quickly notice black mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and sleep area right over the bed. I immediately requested for another room. Got a different room. Took off my shoes and noticed the floss felt grimy so I took a tissue and wiped it on the floor and it turn to a dark earth color. They say premium bedding. That is not the true. It is old and spotted with stains. The pillows were old and stain with spots as well. There was hair on the bed as well. Even the walls were dirty. In my state of dissatisfaction I was challenged with do I stay or do I go. My expectations were based on the reviews and on every count this hotel failed to deliver. So I chose to fly out like a bat in the night. Thanks to my Reward Silver, this reservation was cancelled. In a matter of minutes I was being met the van of the new hotel and transported just minutes away. Message to Siem Reap Bat Hotel. You need to take care of the mold problem it is a serious issue. And clean the place. It's a nice property and has the potential. And as your description states premium bedding. Either change the bedding or change the hotel description. Message to Hotels.com. The rooms photographed do not match the actual experience. I would follow up with this listing and get current and accurate content. And thanks again for being my preferred hotel service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vusal from Baku, Azerbaijan

Friendly Staff - Good value

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Staff
Location: Good Location!
Stayed 6 nights, staff is very friendly.. Close to the Temples, Free Ride to Pub Street..
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Traveller from San Francisco, CA

Look Elsewhere

Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Based on reviews from numerous other sites I booked this hotel expecting at least a clean and presentable place to stay. Between the moldy smell of the room to the large water stain on the wall by the stairwell, it seems this place isn't what it used to be. Ironically the other room I booked that was facing the back of the hotel seemed a lot better maintained than the room facing the front. I also found some of the staff members upon check out extremely rude. Upon checking out and asking if he received all the keys for the rooms booked, he proceeds to yank them out of their cubbies in the front desk, throws them on the counter, and walks off to the "staff" office. No explanation on where he was going e.g he was getting someone to help us, would be right back etc. I was left standing there until another person came in and continued the check out process for us. She was at least apologetic about the experience. There are better guesthouses in the area for the price that are cleaner and staffed by much more professional people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cecelia from Toronto

Good location if biking

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, good location for biking
Cons: Difficulty organizing trips
Location: Closer to the temples
I would recommend this hotel based more so on its location. If you are planning on biking to siem reap, it is much closer than hotels located on pub street. However, it is not in the downtown core, but they provide a free tuk tuk ride to pub street/the night market and you can pay around 2$ US to get back. I do not recommend renting a bike from here, though they are cheap, $2US each, they are very unpleasant if you are planning on biking all day. In addition, we requested in advance to have bikes ready so we could catch sunrise at Angkor Wat one morning and they staff insisted we did not need to see the bikes before hand, come 4 am, sure enough one of the bikes was broken. Instead of offering to fix the problem, they insisted we pay for a tuk tuk, which would have been more expensive. But after some convincing, they finally fixed the bike. Though we were we assured we'd receive bike locks, none were present, so we worried for a bit that someone may take our bikes, but they were fine luckily. Also, it's about a 30 min bike ride to Angkor Wat... On a crappy bike. It was a little difficult at times to coordinate day tours to the temples, sometimes the staff were very inflexible. But beyond that, the owner and the staff at the front desk are great and very friendly, breakfast is delicious, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the location is just fine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Toby H

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Surprisingly good at this price / location. Very efficient
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to Anchor What, THE must see and airport

Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent service, poor English speaking but owner assured he is working on that. Nice and clean, spaceoues room and bath room. Grand enterance and plenty of tuk-tuk available
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Siingapore

Cheap and Best

Posted Dec 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
Good Hotel with affordable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Avista HOTEL

Posted Dec 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
There must have been a mistake when they named this accommodation as "hoStel", as they are offering HOTEL services. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The bed is also comfortable - relaxing after a long day at the temples. They have free wifi, towels and toiletries. They also have great breakfast! You can choose between several options, we had an omelette every morning - that kept us going until well in the afternoon - even though we are big guys! :) The staff at the reception is more than friendly, they really helped us and made us feel super-welcomed. We could also leave valuables at the reception that we could take out every evening and return the next morning - they always put it in an envelope and asked for my signature on the seals. Plus, it seemed to us that they always have security guard upfront, which I'm not sure is necessary, but made us more comfortable. They could also organize for anything you need, from massage to tuk-tuk or driver, you just need to ask. Location is not perfect, but it's only about 6 minutes to downtown (Pub Street and Old Market) with tuk-tuk, which costs 2 USD. You could also walk, but after a long day at the temples, you will probably choose the tuk-tuk like we did. However, if you're a bike-rider for example, this may be ideal for you, as the hotel is on the side of Siem Reap that is closer to Angkor Wat and the entrance of the park - you get there earlier in the morning. Overall, this is an exceptional accommodation for the price they charge, and if you're a travel enthusiast like I am, this hotel will be perfect for your sleep. And to have a nice breakfast. All the other times you will be exploring the temples and the city anyways...