Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Portland Or

Nice place!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: All the staff were very sweet. The hotel is older looking with cool wood paneling and a curved staircase. Very clean!
Cons: They did a nice job...wouldn't ask for anything more.
Location: Great location. Quieter street but close to the center of town. Bicycle shop right across the street. Good restaurant next door.
The hotel has a new owner and they are working hard at customer satisfaction. The people were all very friendly and helpful in booking things as well as getting better deals from the tuk tuk drivers. It is well located very close to the center of town but quieter and less busy. There is a bicycle shop right across the street where you can rent bikes for $3 a day. Great way to see Siem Reap! The hotel was very clean, good breakfasts with eggs and fruit, and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful experience at Wooden Angkor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James from China

Very comfortable and convenient

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helpful and professional staff, I felt like these were the only people in Siem Reap trying not to rip me off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Melbourne Australia

Good value for money in Siem Reap

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the pond and the fish in the front of the hotel, with the walkway to get to the hotel.
Cons: Fix the smell problem- Retain the pond in front--they were beginning to fill in in while we were there Provide more local food choices at breakfast
Location: It is an easy walk to the markets and the centre of the town. There is a good laundry across the street (one US$ per kg)
We spent six nights in this hotel. The room was large and private--there were insect screens on the windows so we didn't need to use air conditioning. There was an intemittent sewage/drain smell in the room which was at its worst on our last morning. On this morning the smell extended to the rooftop breakfast area. Unless you have come to Cambodia to eat Western food, you have two choices at breakfast; a plate of noodles or a plate of rice. Plus, if you want the rice option you need to come a fair bit later than the 6.30 start for breakfast. The reception staff were good and there are plenty of good places to eat in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sherhen from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cute place, wooden, great rooms, fantastic staff. Overall great time! great location and a fantastic town overall.
3 out of 5
by KRB from London

On the trip of a lifetime, pay a little extra

Posted Jan 12, 2014
I booked the Wooden Angkor Hotel based on positive reviews and a wish for somewhere fairly quiet. And overall it was... OK. The ground floor room I had was clean, if somewhat dark and cell-like, but at least I was spared the worst of the overnight racket of amplified songs, prayers and speeches from nearby. The wifi was free, but more often than not it didn't work. The staff were very friendly but not particularly helpful or knowledgable, while the recommended tuk tuk drivers arranged by them (the original and a replacement) both started asking "you return to hotel now?" after a couple of hours of a 'day' hire and both tried to insist that returning to the temple sites in the afternoon would cost extra. It required in intervention of hotel staff to stop this nonsense: so much for the 'recommended' drivers. The breakfast was essentially inedible and I stopped bothering with it after my second attempt, although it was included in the price. A visit to Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples is a trip of a lifetime and it's important to be able to relax after a hard day clambering over ruins. The Angkor Wooden Hotel doesn't really provide a place to relax, just a place to sleep. With so many other better reasonably priced hotels in Siem Riep, including a number on the same street, it's worthwhile spending a few dollars more for the extra comfort. I loved Cambodia, was blown away by Angkor, but wish I had spent a little more on my accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Adrianne from Ashburton

Helpful, attentive staff

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay . I was met at the bus station by complimentary tuktuk and at reception had only to wait a couple of minutes for my room to be ready. Every time I passed by reception the staff knew me and had a chat. When I was working at the downstairs computer they brought water for me to drink. They also were very concerned for me to be on time for my departing flight. I went out very early on my first morning so had my complimentary "breakfast" at 1.00PM I found it pretty basic but the following day when I ate about 8.00AM it was much better with toast and jam included plus a lovely dish of fresh fruit (too much to eat) Some folk are concerned about removing their shoes for inside but it was no problem at all for me. A nice hotel, entered using stepping stones across a fish pond
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Irelandy from Belfast

beware of hidden commissions!

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location. Hotel policy to mark up everything they do for you. 10US$ on our bus to HCMC. They also charge tuk tuk drivers 3$ a day for providing you with their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff great location and awesome value for $!

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Location: Close to pub street
Would stay again. Very friendly staff and very accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Magalie from London

Fantastic Service

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was beautiful and spotless. The staff service amazing. I couldn't have asked for more. They make you feel really welcome; they attend to your request immediately. It is the best hotel I stayed in during my trip by far. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The roof terrace is great. The hotel is located at about 5 mins walk to the night market so really well located. I definitely recommend this hotel !!! 10 out of 10 for me.