Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ilonafrom Uk

Superb location for visiting Tuscany

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Setting and grounds. Also lovely pool but too cold to use when we were there.
Cons: Adjoining room door even though it was locked
Location: Down a long track not far from Monteriggioni.
Lovely setting, although a bit tricky to find even with GPS. Superb breakfast. Room very comfortable. Only downside there was a (locked) adjoining room to ours. There was a second door which one could close but needed to open this to use bathroom. As the people in the other room smoked one could then smell the smoke in our bedroom in the middle of the night. You could also very clearly hear people coughing talking etc. Mentioned this to the hotel staff but nothing was done. Otherwise though, great hotel in perfect location as long as you have a car. We visited Florence, Sienna, Monteriggioni, Casa Maritimma and Vinci whilst we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Gold Coast QLD, Australia

Stunning location

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Lounge room not very comfortable
Location: In Tuscany region & very relaxing
The resort itself is absolutely stunning. We found the hotel staff in Italy generally not very friendly & only mildly co-operative, mainly due to the language barrier I'm guesing. It's a beautiful location and the breakfast every morning was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Collins Familyfrom Ashford, Kent

Relax or Explore - You can do both

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Quiet, peaceful and tranquil
Cons: Slow to replenish the breakfast buffet and too few staff on hand to assist at busier times
Location: Perfect for exploring the smaller Tuscan villages and the major cities of Sienna and Florence.
The Borgo San Luigi is one of three hotels owned by the same person. Fantastic location for exploring Tuscany. Beatuful and tranquil spot 2km to the nearest town, so eating at the hotel recommended if you're having a drink too. Meals were not great, quite disappointing for the price. Expensive if you're feeding children - Chicken Milanese and Chips €16 plus 15% service charge was a bit bit much for a very basic kids meal. On the other hand, The manager Fillppo was particularly helpful as was Marco the evening bartender. Nice feel to the place, plenty of space around the amenities, but they find it difficult to cope when they are very busy. All rooms have air conditioning, private terrace with matching chairs, table and sunbeds. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarahfrom Kent UK

Stunning location, superb resort!

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: The views and location
Cons: Breakfast could have been more interesting
Location: Tranquil, beautiful and very green
This Hotel is in a stunning location. Its tranquil and calming, and the appartments are situated cleverly around the grounds making you feel like you really are the only ones staying there. We went in a party of 8, myself and my husband in one room, our 7 and 4 year old children were in an adjoining room with us. Then 4 other adults in the other rooms. The rooms were a good size, although the pillows were awful, too hard for us but thats our individual taste. The swimming pool was great, although very cold which was a shame as the weather was boiling but the children kept getting too cold in the pool. There was a childrens section of the pool which was nice and shallow but be aware that if you take young children the rest of the pool is very very deep! This place had a real rustic feel to it, and I would say makesure you take a stroll round the resort as it is really is lovely. Its just a shame that we didnt spend enough time there. Finally the restaurant, breakfast was ok a little bit basic, limited pastries, streaky fatty bacon, scrambled egg and some fruit and cereal, but good tea and coffees. Lunch and dinner menus were very nice and the food was fantastic a bit pricey though so be prepared to spend a bit on the food. All in all a lovely experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Staceyfrom New Orleans, LA, USA

Wonderful Tuscan weekend Getway

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Pros: I loved the road as you drove up to check in.
Location: Perfect location in Tuscany. Easy Day trip to Pisa, Florence, wineries, etc Staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do.
Wonderful place to stay in Tuscany. It is in perfect location for day trips to Florence, Pisa and even some fantastic wineries. The place is beautiful even in the winter for "off Season" as that is when we went. The food for dinner was also very good. Would definely stay here again if we ever return to Tuscany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrianafrom Torino, Italia

un angolo di paradiso

Posted Jan 13, 2012
Pros: la location...immersi nella natura
Cons: la strada sterrata per raggiungere l'hotel
Location: L’hotel è nel comune di Monteriggioni (da non perdere il castello), dista 20 km da Siena e 16 km da San Gimignano…entrambe stupende.
Siamo stati al San Luigi Resort per capodanno.Innanzitutto abbiamo avuto subito una calorosa accoglienza accompagnata da un ottimo aperitivo offerto dal proprietario che ci intrattenuto dandoci qualche notizia sulla zona e sulle iniziative dell’hotel: giro con i quad, passeggiate a cavallo, visita alle case vinicole e il cenone di capodanno. Il San Luigi è una sorta di borgo medioevale con strutture in pietra, immerso in un bellissimo parco, con gli alberi e una bella piscina grande.D’estate deve essere stupendo rilassarsi a bordo piscina. Le camere sono carine con i letti a baldacchino, riscaldamento e condizionatore. C’è la tv a schermo piatto.La colazione è ottima: con pane fresco di tutti i tipi, macedonia fresca, yogurt, uova, formaggio, prosciutto, succo d’arancia.Fanno caffè, cappuccino e cioccolata calda al momento; passa il cameriere a prendere l’ordine. Lo stabile dove si fa colazione e gli altri pasti è bellissimo con vetrate che danno sul parco: c’è una zona con divanetti, caminetto dove si può leggerei i quotidiani e riviste.Unico neo, se proprio vogliamo trovarne uno, è che per raggiungere l’hotel è necessario percorrere un tratto di strada sterrata (circa 1,5 km). Comunque noi, andando piano, non abbiamo avuto problemi pur avendo un’auto ad assetto ribassato ed essendo in 4 persone. L’hotel è nel comune di Monteriggioni (da non perdere il castello), dista 20 km da Siena e 16 km da San Gimignano…entrambe stupende. Per concludere consiglio vivamente questo hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

san luigi resort

Posted Nov 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
in posizione ottima immerso nella campagna toscana ideale per chi cerca tranquillità posto incantevole servizio molto cordiale ma un po sprovveduti nella resezione per rispondere alle domande ci vorrebbe un po più di informazione sulle attività della zona, abbiamo ottenuto di più domandando a delle persone in cita consiglio vedere castel val'delsa . abbiamo mangiato nel ristorante, buona cucina, ottima fiorentina, dolci pessimi e deludenti, colazione molto scarsa e povera, ma personale gentilissimo.Sono piccole cose da aggiustare ma nel complesso si sta molto bene da raccomandare grazie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London, United Kingdom

Cosy and romantic!

Posted Oct 26, 2011
It was my second visit to this hotel, and I was just as impressed. There was initially a mix-up with our rooms but this was quickly resolved by the manager who was very obliging. The rooms are comfortable and generally quite spacious. The hotel grounds are beautiful and relaxing with lots of outdoor seating to allow us to sit and enjoy a bottle of the local vino. The bar area is great to, and always has a fire going which makes it that bit cosier. It is worth taking the time to go for a walk from the hotel to local villages, the walk is off the beaten track and very relaxing, staff can provide you with a map too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lyon

Presque parfait

Posted Aug 27, 2011
Hôtel très agréable pour se reposer et bien situé pour visiter la toscane.... Le personnel est serviable et parle pour la plupart plusieurs langues ( français anglais allemand) Le petit déjeuner est tout simplement fabuleux en revanche le dîner est a mon avis le seul point négatif de l'hôtel( très cher et de qualité moyenne) mieux vaut aller manger ailleurs le soir .......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney australia

Fantastic hotel right in the centre of town with great sound proof windows and fantastic views!

Posted Jun 30, 2011
If u want to be able to walk everywhere and stay in a great hotel with spacious rooms and terrific views, this is the hotel for u! Ask for room 36 for the best economy room without a balcony as it had 2 windows- 1 overlooking the famous square and 1 overlooking the valley n countryside. Wifi is free for the 1st hr and u can use it anywhere in the hotel. There is a rooftop jacuzzi and small basic fitbessroom too which is a bonus! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Best hotel in the best town in Tuscany San Gimignano.