Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Nice family run hotel near San Gimignano

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Accommodating staff, cleanliness.
Location: The closest town is San Gimignano (10-15 minutes), but there are vineyards and olive gardens nearby to tour.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from San Gimignano (going toward Volterra). The facilities were clean and in good condition. The staff was courteous and accommodating. Plenty of room inside and out for friends to gather and relax. There is a do it yourself laundry on site, which came in handy. Hotel is a reasonable value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by ME from New York

Great Location

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient hotel near San Gimignano (and other places to visit in Tuscany). Great for families. Staff very helpful with planning our days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in the tranquility of Tuscany.

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Difficult to find since the GPS did not pick up either the name of the tiny hamlet (San Donato) nor the name of the Inn. However, a wonderful place to stay for refreshment and renewal. It is a family-built Inn and family-run. Ten minutes to the historic medieval town of San Gimignano. We drove a half hour to pick up the train to see Florence and then, the next day drove a little less than an hour to see Siena. Excellent food on site. Wonderful grounds. Hospitality was the best that we experienced in Italy. Price was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel over sold itself

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: One of the reception staff was unpleasant, but all others were very cordial.
Location: The local village San Gimiguanio was only 5 minutes away and very interesting. A worthwhile day trip! Other than that, everything else is a drive.
The hotel was fine (nothing more) as it is newly renovated to appear "historic". With so many ancient and impressive options to stay in, this hotel was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel's restaurant is over priced for satisfactory dinner cuisine, however breakfast was very good. The rooms are standard and satisfactory.Overall - over sold and over priced.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cold & careless service, poor value, avoid at any

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel must have a new and old wing (obviously we were dumped in the older part & then tild to pay much more to upgrade to a slightly larger room within the same old section!! The hotel doesn't even have a view! It's on the opposite side of the road, so no valley, mountain or good views either. The staff only cater to tip friendly Americans so be prepared to tip big or get 2nd class service! With so many better options in this beautiful city, we regret staying here, but the area is beautiful so do visit San Gimignano!!
3 out of 5
by Elblue from saint louis, mo, usa

Good, but with some effort could be better..

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: The room was good sized, and so was the bathroom, minus the shower.
Cons: See above. The swimming pool is decorative, because the water is not heated. I did not see a single guest daring it throughout my entire stay.
Location: The town of San Gemignano, at a few km. is great. You may drive to Pisa, Siena, Florence, on a daily trip.
Thre is no sign at the entrance, and since there is no number identifying it at the provincial road where it is located, the hotel parks a van with the namenear the road, making difficult to exit right since it remains parked all the time. The room is clean and large, the safe is minimal in size, you will have to leave a deposit to get the key. The bathroom is large, has a bidet. The shower is smaller than the criuise ship we had just left. No tissue paper, so you should bring your own or use toilet paper if till you get it. The breakfast is ok. In a region that prides itself of its fruit, the fruit salad comes off a can, and the available fruit, with no exception, is off a fridge and not ripe. The same applies for the artichoke contorni. The restaurant pasta was great. The lamb I requested was the grand father of the lamb, crusty and dried. The meal was comparatively overpriced, and if you ask for an extra grisine, you will be charged two extra euros. Ok for no more than two days stay. We had booked six, via Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Huntington Beach, Ca

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The most peaceful play we have stayed. The customer service was fantastic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Manchester

Fantastic views in middle Tuscan countryside

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Surrounding room cliliness and pool area great. plenty of parking and nice comfortable rooms free wi fi
Cons: resturant coutyard needs a good jet wash and a little dressing and a little more effort from resturant staff or maybe a few more of them when busy
Location: local historic hill towns very interesting and beautiful area. wine tasting and regional foods were fantastic
Very comfortable hotel in fantatic surrounding but not very friendly staff at times. The eating area which was a central courtyard was based on dirty brickflooring with no ambience. Could do with a good jet wash some attractive flower pots or displays and good staff training put in place so when they are not busy they are not huddled around the kitchen steps talking to each other. The regular items on the menu were great but the expected experience of the wild boar which is a speciality of the area very disappionting as contained a lot of tough meat. Perhaps eating out rather than using the resturant would have given a better experience.General the other areas of the hotel were really quite good, plenty of sun loungers and good amount of outside space so you do not have to compete around the pool. Very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by CG from Auckland, NZ

Family friendly, kid friendly.

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay here. Lots of families with children who had a lot of fun by pool during the day and were very very quiet at night. Hotel run by a family who were friendly, helpful and ran a great place. Beds were too hard for me, needed an extra layer for comfort but that is my only complaint. Showers were fantastic. Breakfast pretty good. Dinner OK but staff are very busy, general basic italian food. Location great. San Gimignano is a delightful town. Bought leather bags here rather than Florence and very happy we did. They seem better quality and cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CBEB 1 from Boston

Good hotel, uncomfortable beds

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good, clean rooms but terribly uncomfortable beds. Great pool and outdoor areas. Good breakfast. Ok wifi speed. Short drive from San Gimignano.