Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila from Poole, Dorset

Great base for exploring Tuscany

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Everything, very high standards, very comfortable, although not right in the oooohh-ahhh stunning beauty of the hills, vineyards and olive groves.
Cons: Restaurant facilities.
Location: The world (as in Tuscany's delights) is your oyster.
Chosen for its geographic location - close to some favourite Tuscan gems - and transport systems - I was concerned about the main road and the walk into town. I needn't have. Certaldo station and town were within 10 mins easy walk; Certaldo Alto, the old town, was a few more mins via a Funicular, restaurants in old and new town, were great and each with their own character. But Hotel Certaldo? It is lovely. Fresh, well appointed, comfy, stylish and spacious. The standards are high, the staff - well, they are brilliant sweet, friendly and efficient. Other hoteliers should look and learn. Only thing is, they do need to offer a better food service - breakfast is great but after that, you really need to eat out as snack menu is very limited. Good bar service though! We were also very happy with the deal on Expedia, very good value for peak season!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fiona from UK

Quality!

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location for visiting Florence, Siena and Pisa. The staff were extremely helpful - with great advice about the best way to explore the cities. The room was fantastic - huge comfy bed and lovely bathroom. Excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOvely Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Excellent service, lovely friendly staff, extremely comfortable hotel with lovely grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fiona from London

Gorgeous, relaxing stay

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here with my best friend (two 24 year old girls) as a 4 day break in the middle of some serious sightseeing in Milan, Florence and Rome. The hotel is lovely, staff all very helpful. Pool and pool area were always very clean and quiet. Breakfast was amaaaaazing as I am a lover of meats and cheeses and bread but lots of other choices too. Even my vegan friend had lots of fruit and nice bread and jam to choose from. Local town (Certaldo) is about 10 - 15 minute walk. If you want some simple but incredible italian food (with no annoying tourists around) go to Sale e Pepe which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and has delicious pasta, pizza and fish. Note - be careful if you purchase the wifi, it didnt work by the pool or in our bedroom so I could only use it in the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave and Sally from Hampshire

Hotel Certaldo -

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Staff, pool and room
Location: Near railway line midway between Empoli and Siena
The staff made the difference. Really friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Room clean, quiet and spacious. Shower on the small side but not a problem. Easy access to town and alto where numerous restaurants. 10 minute walk to railway station and thus access to Florence, Siena and Pisa and all stops in-between. Pool was great at end of the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Atlanta

Nice hotel but surroundings not so nice.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Large cool room quiet
Cons: Housekeeping services
Location: Used it as a base for northern Tuscany for day trips to a few wineries.
Hotel near a busy roundabout, rooms large and cool, but had to request towels and toilet paper... Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jwies from Canada

Hotel certaldo

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel! If you are looking for a wild late night fun, it is not for you. This hotel was beautiful, great views and pool, amazing staff and rooms. Certaldo is a great town and Certaldo alto is a beautiful hilltop town with amazing views and resteraunts. I would recommend this place, and I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Solihull, West Midlands, UK

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Luxurious and quiet rooms. The breakfast area was a joy and the service was second to none.
Cons: N/A
Location: Beautiful setting near the river looking up to the medieval town. Ideal for exploring Florence, Pisa and Sienna.
We chose this hotel for the wedding of our daughter and the staff could not do enough to make it an unforgettable and special occasion. So much so that the staff were included in the official wedding photographs on the wedding day. The whole stay was a dream and we will definitely be going back. The rooms and views were fabulous. The locals were the friendliest people we have come across and they helped in making our stay and our daughter's wedding a memorable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by giuliano from canada

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Immediate surrounding neighborhood is limited, although distance to other major locations is quite good. Overall rating is good for cost, room size, parking , etc. Slight negative with internet service. In todays era, wireless needs to work and not be complicated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dom from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful hotel in Certaldo!!

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We decided to stay at Hotel Certaldo because we booked last minute & couldn't find any decent hotels in Florence. It's about a 10-15 min walk from the train station to the hotel (no cabs were near the train station), so it's a bit of a hike with lots of luggage. However, once we got to the hotel we were greeted by a very helpful employee. She personally showed us to our room, which was large, clean & wonderful. Very large bathroom, but very small shower (those europeans love small showers). We had a nice view of the Tuscan hills. Breakfast (included) in the morning was excellent as well: Eggs, bacon, yogurt, pastries, fresh squeezed juices & coffee of all sorts. Very relaxing & wonderful hotel. Asked for dinner recommendations & had incredible food at Taverna Antica Fonte. Will definitely come back!