Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northamptonshire England.

A great place to stay in beautiful Siena.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: A lovely old building full of character, well kept and comfortable.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Within easy walking distance of all the interesting places in the city, but buy a map. Easy taxi ride from station. (not that easy to find by car)
I had a problem with my suitcase, I had locked it and lost the key to the padlock. However the very resourceful lady receptionist, with help from the internet, managed to pick the lock with a bent paperclip! I was of course very impressed and extremely grateful. Also Robert, in charge of the breakfast room, always ready to provide an extra cappuccino, was a very nice guy, very efficient and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in a XII century monastery

Posted May 11, 2015
We loved this place--so much character being an old monastery. The age of the building prevented certain "modern" updates i.e.: no elevator. But the rooms were very large, airy, clean, and quiet. We had everything we needed, and the Duomo and El Campo were just minutes away. It is independently owned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

13th Century monastery in Siena

Posted May 5, 2015
My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights at Chiostro del Carmine in Siena. This beautiful old monastery turned hotel is on a quiet back street but is close to all the major sights. The rooms are basic (they used to be monks cells) with added modern bathrooms and closets. The view from our room, #25, was great, with the rooftops of Siena close by and the hills of Tuscany in the distance. The old stone stairs are worn with centuries of use and the cloisters make a perfect place for a quiet read in the afternoon sun or a drink before dinner. The breakfast (included) featured a variety of choices - cereal, pastries, cakes, tarts, yogurt, cold cuts and cheeses, coffee and juices and Roberto, the breakfast guy, was quick with any request for special coffees or drinks. The reception staff, who all spoke very good English, were very helpful with booking us a wine tasting tour on one afternoon. Highly recommended if you have the time. They also had no problem letting us store our luggage once we had checked out until it was time for us to go to the train station. I would recommend Chiostro del Carmine to anyone thinking of staying a few nights in beautiful Siena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds, UK

A great one night stay

Posted May 1, 2015
A quick one night stop to sample Siena and cycle the countryside around. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely building, very atmospheric. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: The wifi connection was intermittent and kept dropping off, even in the wifi area.
Location: Short walk to the Campo and other historic sites.
So much nicer to stay in an old historic building rather than another generic hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nice

très belle situation de l'hôtel dans un cloitre

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: le site dans un cloitre. Le reste est ininteressant.
Cons: Tout dans l'hotel, il n'est pas entretenu, rideaux qui pendent, poignée des sanitaires absentes !
Location: hôtel bien situé, par très loin du centre (10mn à pieds) beaucoup de monuments à visiter, le campo, et particulièrement la cathédrale qui est sublime
Mise à part la situation de l'hôtel dans un ancien cloitre, nous avons été très déçus par cet hôtel. Il est très loin de mériter ces 4 étoiles. les chambres sont vieillotes (rideaux pendouillant, matelas un peu défoncé et surtout salles de bains en état désolant. la restauration du petit déjeuner, présentée par un buffet, est tres simple. Pas d'ascenseur pour monter les valises jusqu'au 2ème étage ! cet hôtel est loin de mériter ses 4 étoiles !! juste à peine 2. Seul le site est superbe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
It was a character room with a view up 3 flights of stairs. Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay in Siena - wonderful staff!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The staff were real standouts here - accommodating us after many travel mishaps. The room was comfy, with an amazing little terrace. Breakfast was minimal but pleasant. The courtyard at the front of the hotel was especially great - a real suntrap & very relaxing. We loved our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Personale molto disponibile, posizione comoda per arrivare in centro a piedi in dieci minuti
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stéphane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com