Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Wonderful location, Beautiful place. We loved it.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The building, the decoration, the views, the location.
Cons: Wonderful place.
Location: Fabulous location very near the city. Quiet and peaceful at night. Very close by a wonderful restaurant with the best meal I had in Italy.
What a wonderful place to stay - just outside Siena (7 minutes walk to the city gate). Our host was very welcoming and helped with our luggage. The room was large and beautiful with fantastic views. Breakfast was good - with a tasty selection of foods, but the best bit was being able to sit on the terrace and enjoy the views whilst eating it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

A wonderful welcome.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We didn't have a car but you don't need one to explore Siena.
From the minute we arrived to the minute we left nothing was too much trouble. The room was fabulous, as was breakfast on the terrace with breath-taking views. The breakfast itself was the best we have had in Italy. Try their "nibbles and a drink" on the terrace or in the shady garden. The walk into Siena isn't far ,but if you don't fancy that shuttle buses run every 15 minutes from just outside the hotel. A superb meal, for a modest price, excellent local dishes and wine, can be had at Fori Porta, a small restaurant just across the road from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Serene hilltop views of Tuscany

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location within walking distance of Siena. Breakfast al fresco on the patio.
Originally the summer home of the Piccolomini family (Pope Pius II), the accommodations retain the charm of those times. The rooms and patio look out over the Tuscan countryside, and the nearby town of Siena. Breakfast on the patio under the olive trees or a glass of wine there after a day of sightseeing are most pleasant interludes. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful, making suggestions for activities in Siena and for restaurants. Siena is within easy walking distance, and we left our car in the hotel parking area for the duration of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union, NJ

Classy hotel with a lot of character

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The view of the countryside is worth it on its own, buffet breakfast, great staff, and the biggest room of any hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon
Cons: Wifi could be upgraded for better consistency and the shower stall could be a hair larger.
Location: About a twenty minute walk into the town of Siena, where you can see their famous Duomo, museums, town square, and their many decent restaurants
We stayed for three nights as part of a honeymoon vacation throughout Italy. We arrived by train and getting to the hotel was a quest in itself, I recommend double checking with the hotel as to what the best bus routes to take are instead of winging it like we did and taking three hours instead of the half hour it should have taken. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, supplying us with maps and general information, giving us restaurant recommendations and being honest about the walk into Siena (about twenty minutes uphill although not as bad as it sounds, and we like the exercise anyway). Our room was pleasant and spacious, maintaining a quaint old feel with modern amenities like a private bathroom and air conditioning, as well as as wifi. Every morning we could open our windows to a beautiful view of the Tuscany countryside, or sit out on the terrace while having breakfast. In between the bustle of Florence and Rome it was a welcome bit of calm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Virginia

Great View

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: The location was a short walk and a bus ride to the city center so it was not easy to come back and forth to the hotel.
Stayed two nights in the Palazzo di Valli and most enjoyed the patio and the great pastoral views of Tuscany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Boston

Charming hotel with beautiful view

Posted May 28, 2014
If you want a charming hotel with a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside, and a friendly, helpful staff, then this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ivan Friedman from San Marcos

charming b&b just outside city walls

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here especially the breakfast, view and location. Staff very friendly. Room a bit outdated, particularly mattress and bathroom, but even our ground floor room had a wonderful view and was clean. Walking distance to town just outside Roman gate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely views of country yet 15 minute walk to city

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: The view, location, breakfast, staff, interior and exterior features.
Cons: Nothing. It was perfect!
We stayed four nights in the last week of April 2. Our room, # 23, had a wonderful view of the country as well as of the rooftops of Siena, nice furnishings and lovely hand-painted ceiling. Room was very nice, bathroom modern. The staff was so helpful making arrangements for dinner or transportation. HIGHLY recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

mini break

Posted Apr 14, 2014
excellent hotel, really helpful and friendly staff and a short, enjoyable stroll to siena - great place!