Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emily from Colorado

Easy walk to all sights and pleasant hosts

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Upon arriving Palazzo Masi, we were quite pleased with the location. With Il Campo just a few minutes walk down the street, the location was excellent for exploring the heart of Siena and strolling down smaller side streets for slightly less expensive goods and food. Be sure to go to the two restaurants (Hosteria Il Carrocio and Pizzeria Antica Trattoria L'Aquila) which are on the same street of Palazzo Masi and come recommended by the hosts. They both have very good Toscana delightful people and food! Palazzo Masi was a good home base for our two nights in Siena. Note: most B&B's we stayed at in Italy did not actually include breakfast; breakfast would have been an additional fee per person. It was nice to have a room on the street, though a bit noisy. I would stay here again but maybe would ask for a softer pillow. Bring some earplugs and you'll enjoy your stay ay Palazzo Masi!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, many thanks for your nice review.I'm very happy in reading that you appreciated the location of our building, that is less than one minute far from the main square, the restaurant we use to recommend as our favourite, and your stay at our medieval building.Sorry if you hear some noise during the period of your stay: it was a special event for Siena and usually people choose the heart of the city to live at the top this special occasions.Our superior rooms have all windows with double glasses, then strong shutters, and close the windows at night let guests to sleep better.The precedent reviewer says that the room was quiet and the guest arrived few days before you.It's true for the largest part of the year, excepting festivals and events when Siena's center is full of tourists.About breakfast, and it is clear before the booking, it is possible to book only the room or the room and the breakfast.Our guests pay for breakfast only when they do it.Other guests preferring to sleep until the late morning and don't care of breakfast, pay only the room.Many thanks again and I hope to meet you very soon.Ciao!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from New York, NY

Unique room in an 800 year old building

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The bed was very cool (old brass bed) and there were 800 year old beams on the ceiling in our room - very romantic.
Cons: It would have been helpful to get an email before we arrived explaining how to get to the hotel and the unusual parking/driving situation in Siena.
Location: The hotel is a block from the main square in town and a 5 minute walk from the big old church (the Duomo). There are many historic frescoes to see.
We drove right up to the hotel despite several signs saying that you shouldn't drive in the old city - no one seems to mind if you are just dropping off luggage. I would not like to maneuver a large car or SUV through Casato di Sotto though! We then parked in the nearby municipal lot, which is a 5-10 minute walk away. We met Daniela at the hotel when we arrived, at the time we had pre-arranged, and she was very nice and helpful. She gave us a useful map of the town and pointed us to a decent and reasonable restaurant down the street. We were surprised that the private bathroom was down the hallway from our room, not adjoining the room, but it was private in the sense that it was for our use only and we had a key for the door. The room was very dark and quiet, which was a positive for us, but some might feel claustrophobic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear James, I haven't enough words to thank you for your excellent review! You are a very good driver: in fact, you arrived until the front-door with your car, that was good for dropping off the luggage, thanks to the special permission provided from the local Police station to our property for our guests.Yes, it seems that nobody matter of the car entrances in our "A area" where's not allowed to drive, but you know that are very good cameras everywhere taking pictures of each car entering.For this reason you provided me the number of your car.Very good idea was to park in the nearest parking lot, at the special rate reserved for our guest: you knew that in this zone, so centrally located, isn't allowed to park. Expedia shows correctly all the four kind of rooms we have, their pictures and their characteristics.L'Arco room has its private bathroom seven steps far, in the corridor.It is made by two rooms with a beautiful medieval arch in the middle, has two windows -one of them enormous- and it's dark only if you close both the windows, all the shutters, and get off all of the eight bulbs.Chandeliers and lamps are everywhere in that room and claustrophobic people usually book l'Arco.A big hug for you and your wife, hoping to meet both of you at Palazzo Masi very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by chuck and barb from Michigan , U.S.

Location, location, location

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, right in the middle of everything. This hotel is located just off the center of the city on a quiet street. The inn keepers are very accommodating and friendly. The place takes you back in history but with modern facilities, very comfortable. . Just outside the door is a great tratoria. We would highly recommend a stay here, when you walk out the door you feel like you are part of the neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck and Barbara, I'm very happy and thankful to Expedia that, with this new function, give the opportunity to reply each review.I'll do it for all our guest, from now. You have been so nice guests, and we'll never forget both of you.You completely understood our mission, that is letting to experience our guests how is to live in Siena's center as a local, not simply as a tourist.If you felt, as you wrote, like a part of the neighborhood, we reached our mission.As you know, Palazzo Masi is the Alizzardo's family building and only him and his wife (me, Daniela) run this place.No agencies, no companies.You know that the owner was born right here, and all his ancestors lived here from generations: sharing our love for this historical building, for the original ancient furniture and objects it contains, telling their stories, make us very happy, when we find people, as you two, that appreciate the historical value and the unicity of the place where they spend their holidays. Then, we're happy in reading that our building is on a quiet street, and really honored in having had the possibility to meet a so special couple as you are.Looking forward to meet you next time, with our warmest regards Daniela and Alizzardo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mychelle

Perfect Location in Siena

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed four nights at this B&B and really enjoyed the location. It was close walking distance to all the main attractions of the city. It is tucked away on a nice fairly quite street. You can get a real feel for the local color. Be prepared to share a shower room with the other three rooms on your floor. I would say that was the only downside. Also, note that even though it is called a B&B they don't include the breakfast in the price of the room, there is an additional charge. The hostess was very friendly and gave us great tips on places to eat and what to see. She booked a wine tour and taxi for us which was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear Mychelle, first of all, thanks for taking your time in writing a nice review for our property.Thanks for have noticed that during your stay, in a busy period, the street were Palazzo Masi is located, was fairly quiet. Alizzardo and I appreciated very much your feeling for the local color. Regarding the shared bathroom -with two, not three bedrooms-, you booked right this kind of room, being well informed both on Expedia, then by me via e-mail, also reading the detailed informative document I send every guest. You could also choose a superior room with ensuite bathroom, or a superior room with private external bathroom, or another standard room with only toilet in room, as Expedia displays. Probably you made this choice depending by your budget, or by the availability during that period.However, I'm happy in reading that you was fully satisfacted, that all our tips have been appreciated, including the complimentary services we provide all our guests with a lot of pleasure. Yes, breakfast, as written everywhere, is not included in the room rate: this option is preferred by guests that want to sleep a lot, or save money (the same reason for what somebody choose the standard rooms with shared bathroom).Obviously, we are very happy when our guests require breakfast.Then, starting from this year, it's provided sitting in front of the tower, right in Piazza del Campo: the best way to start a day in Siena in a unique location, tasting good local products.Thanks again and our best wishes for the future. Daniela and Alizzardo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Danelia

Posted Sep 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
Danelia doesn't live on site but is just an email away. She helped us many times with setting up taxis. She provides the internet for free. We were right on Il Campo. Great location. The only down side is we had to share the shower. I could have booked a room with one, but paid less. Guess I can't complain. Must say the people in Siena were wonderfully kind and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear Evie, it's always a real pleasure to read a so high rate and a so nice review. You honestly focused some good points.First, your choice for the standard room with toilet (the shower is in the shared bathroom), in order to save money, mention that we appreciate.In fact, the third floor of the building where the standard rooms are located, is the part of Palazzo Masi were Alizzardo was born and lived.It's full of memories, and for this reason, during the restoration, we decided to leave the original arrangement of rooms and bathrooms, offering this kind of accommodation at a lower price than the superior rooms, all located at the second floor. Thanks for remembering that I promptly use to reply each requests: e-mails, Whatsapp, iMessage, are all the modern ways to stay constantly in touch with people, and we use them with our guests 24 hours a day, also for curiosities and quick suggestions.Happy to do it, and happy to call a taxi, as you wrote, or book a restaurant and much more can satisfy our guests. Then, being sienese people since generations, and loving at the top our city, your nice comment about the people living in Siena can't be more appreciated. Many thanks, dear Evie.Alizzardo and I are looking forward to your next visit! Greet Colorado for us. XOXO Daniela e Alizzardo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

mixed feelings

Posted Aug 11, 2011
We were at Palazzo Masi from June 27th until July 4th. You could not fault the position, so close to the campo. Unfortunately we found even with ear plugs the noise level (which i was prepared for) was unbelievable!! You could not sleep with the windows open which meant the room was very hot. No air conditioning or fan. We met Daniella on check in and did not see her again until our 4th day when we had not been left any soap and sent a text requesting some! On the 5th day we had a folder with information on the area and palio left in our room, not sure why it wasn't there to start with. might have been helpful. Our room was spacious and clean and overall we were pleased to be staying there. To experience Palio was fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Daniela, Hotel Management
Dear Philomena, thanks for taking your time in writing your review.I couldn't forget you, starting from the e-mails exchanged with you in advance, some months before your arrival in Siena for the best period: the Palio.People sometimes book Palazzo Masi some years in advance to be sure to be so close to the Piazza, where the Palio is held, and so close to the dinners, immerse in the unique atmosphere that only during those special days, Siena offers.In all of this cases, is included the noise at night, for the reason that contrada dinners are few metres from us, and Siena is full of tourists.Mostly of our guests, after they experienced the Palio at Palazzo Masi, will come back again and again: they know that the noise is forgettable and is the last thing they remember staying in the heart of the Palio's life. Siena is full of accommodations outside the city-center, where guests are not disturbed by the noise, during the Palio.Unfortunately, although I usually spend a lot of time in proving information and tips regarding the correct use of windows and shutters at night and especially during the day, you didn't care of them. Regarding the limitate times we met: we are present at Palazzo Masi every morning and very often during the afternoon.We have two floors of the building to manage in only to persons, and can happen that, especially in busy days as The Palio period is, we meet less people in our living room than usual.You used to leave the room very early in the morning and came back late in the evening, rightly to attempt to the horse-races and enjoy the Palio, but you were rightly informed that for each needings, we were always available.So, when you advised me regarding the soap, I arrived bringing you the two soaps.Sorry, but I learned in that occasion that you didn't like to use the same soap provided one day in advance,that was just unpackaged on the sink, accompanied with a variety of personal soaps.I didn't care if I had to across the city, with the streets full of tourists and horses, for two pieces of soap, after taking care of the rooms all the morning. The folder arrived 2 days before the Palio-At your arrival I provided you a large variety of free brochures regarding Siena, maps, business card and information: all I had available.Two days before the Palio, a clerk of the Siena's Municipality ringed our bells bringing some new depliants, specifically dedicated to the Palio.Immediately I left one copy per room, and is a bit unpleasant to read that I would have provided them in advance.I didn't have had them before. Thanks for the compliments regarding the room, the care in cleanings, and happy to read that, although some small things, experience the Palio was fantastic. For one of the next Palios, I hope you'll book a room in our property in country listed on Expedia. Best reagrds Daniela