Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Perth Australia

B&B with style and grace

Posted Feb 4, 2015
We did enjoy our 2-day stay in mid summer. Current owners have built a great client base over many years. Beautiful grounds and quiet location just north of Auckland. Owners retiring soon so wait to learn whether new owners of this fine home are similarly motivated to host jaded travelers needing a place to relax and enjoy the country scene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Character and Charm

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: lovely setting quite peaceful relaxing
Cons: some little flying insects in the room at night, not a nuisance but perhaps room could have been sprayed... probably expected in the country settting
Location: In country close to City easy access to motorway. Close to shops and reasonable restaurants
Lovely house with lots of Character and charm situated on acreage close to Auckland city but made you feel like you were in the country, even a foreign country!! Great hosts ,friendly without being in your face and a fantastic breakfast, fresh and healthy!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful service, great hotel!

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful time at The Ambers. Staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was extensive and our room gorgeous. Had a lovely walk around their gardens on the first day. 10 mins to Orewa shops and beach! Would definitely stay again!! Brilliant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessfrom New Zealand

Ambers B&B review

Posted Feb 5, 2013
Pros: The special touches were really appreciated
Cons: Because of the lack of rain at the time, the fish pond was pretty empty and the grass pretty dry- not their fault at all though!
Location: Beautiful country setting
Diane and Gerard were lovely hosts, we were upgraded as the room we had booked had been flooded by an overflowing bath; we ended up with the top floor to ourselves! The special little touches really made our trip worth it- beautiful bed linen, vintage china etc. We would definitely come back again, for a romantic weekend.
5 out of 5
by Ngaire Watsonfrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Beautiful setting
Location: Perfect, Away from it all
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Included breakfast; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2012
Thanks Carol! I've only just realised I can respond to guests reviews so please accept my apologies for belated reply!! I hope you are well and look forward to seeing you again some day!!
4 out of 5
by Michael Fannfrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Private space while attached to larger property.
Cons: The sink drain.
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Distinctive; Value: Inexpensive; Service: Professional, Respectful, Courteous; Cleanliness: Beautiful; Can see me using the property again for different purposes, i.e. conference
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2012
Sorry Michael, I've only just realised I can respond to your review. But I am glad to be able to report that the sink drain issue has been resolved: no more slow drain - all very fast now! Come back and inspect please?.
5 out of 5
by Declan Freemanfrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: The whole place I definitively will be returning
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Fantastic; Service: Phenomenal; Cleanliness: Immaculate; the breakfast you couldn't get anything better
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2012
Thanks for this wonderful review Declan! I've only just realised that I can respond to reviews so that is what I am doing now. I hope you are well and that we'll see you again sometime? All the very best!! Gerard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Clermont Ferrand France

Ambers BB Auckland gjo

Posted Sep 17, 2011
Cadre charmant et maison de style , endroit très calme Petit déjeuner Anglais très copieux Hôtes qui reçoivent parfaitement , très" british " Pour des Français qui ne maitrisent pas parfaitement la langue Anglaise ce BB est l'endroit idéal , les propriétaires parlent un peu Français Rapport qualité/prix imbattable Auckland n'est qu'à 15mn A voir absolument G et JO
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels.com