Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sabah

Great getaway

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities in room and dining, great location and so very close to needs.
Cons: Check-in services...please don't leave guests standing and waiting at counter.
Location: Everything....from a cool bar to 24 hrs food, supermarket...any closer and it will be in the hotel itself!!
Great location....great room & facilities.....check in service - could improve but still acceptable as staff was polite...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice location but room can be better

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Accessibility
Cons: The bathroom should be scrubbed clean. The mattress is too hard.
Location: Market and food centre opposite the hotel.
It took me 20 minutes in line waiting for my turn to check in. It gives me the impression that they are understaff. The room is fairly ok with no view as the hotel is smacked between other tall buildings around it. The bed is rather disappointing. I find the mattress too hard and the pillows too soft. The bathroom is fairly basic. However, there were stains on the wall in the shower which was obvious the moment you enter the bathroom. They only have one movie channel. The hotel is fairly convenient with easy access to trains and buses. Good for a night's stay but with the price, it would better to seek other comfortable hotels elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Good hotel close to CBD.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This is one of my several stays in this hotel. Good service and friendly staff, although room is a little dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceptive Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Free WIFI
Cons: Service Room Amenities Room Facilities
This hotel looked very nice at the lobby but once I got to the room it was a whole different story. The room smelled funny (damp, mouldy), the toilet while big was not well maintained, the grout was black, shower would not maintain a constant temperature, towels were graying and thinning. The air-conditioning was very warm and regardless of setting the thermostat to 16c the room would not get colder. The staff were especially slow at responding to requests and felt unfriendly. Calling reception/operator, housekeeping or in-room dining from the room was difficult as often no one picked up the phone or if they did it would take a while. I once called in-room dining to ask for a food grade plastic bag (after trying to call the operator several times to no avail) only to have the person on the other end of the line curtly tell me that my request did not fall under his department (even if I was asking for a FOOD grade container) and to try the other departments. The staff generally seemed disinterested, unfriendly & uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

superb. close to business center.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
fantasitic. no thrills but no complaints. convenient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Sydney, NSW

Losing its touch

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed a week at Amara. Upon entering my room the first time, it was not cleaned up and I could see the previous guest's leftovers and dirty bed sheets all over the place. Then, later during my stay, the room service forgot to clean my room. The minibar was free of charge, but it was only filled on two occasions during the 8 nights I stayed there. I have stayed many times at Amara, but I feel it is now losing its touch. The Carlton City Hotel next door is much better, I do not intend to go back to Amara after this bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Quality service

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I usually stay at Amara for business, and this was my first time to check in at amara for leisure, and I was not disappointed. The front desk gave us an early check-in, and the proximity of the hotel to tanjong pagar mrt makes it a perfect place for leisure travelers. Sentosa is about 10 mins away by MRT. Service was excellent, the staff took care of our requests promptly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee

Revisit

Posted Jun 24, 2014
It's my second time here. The hotel is as good as I remembered from my last visit. Though I'd say again that the shower heater is inconsistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Young Ty from Singapore

Stayacation

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bath tub looks old hence didn't use. Concept of separating standing shower and bathtub is good. We are happy overall with our stay.