Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaymie from New York, ny

Short Stay Only

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: The beds and shower
Location: just a short cab ride to the Gardens by the Bay and the Singapore Flyer.
The rooms are SMALL. I know this is a common statement among the reviews, but I can't really express how tiny it is. For me and my friend, we were tripping over each other's bags. The toilet and the shower and pretty much on top of each other. For one night, it was fine. Wouldn't recommend it for much longer. The shower is AMAZING though. And the bed is like sleeping on a cloud. It is so comfortable. Besides the room size I have no problems with this place.
2 out of 5
by bob from cyprus

Chinatown revisited

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Not a lot. Typical boutique style so take a cat. Breakfast minuscule. Dinner expensive for the portions, but very tasty. Room facilities non existent.
Cons: Better room facilities a better choice of TV programmes.
Location: Chinatown for eating and shopping. Local transport easily available as well as tourist attractions.
Ideally situated for Chinatown,MRT and the Hop on Hop off bus which great for seeing the sites of Singapore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from New York, NY

A good (if compact) choice in Chinatown

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable rooms/beds, dependable a/c, very cool bathroom design, great location overall...
Cons: Storage space is kind of at a minimum in the rooms...perhaps a shelf or two on one of the walls might help.
Location: Very near Chinatown and lots of restaurants (including a great Malay place just down the street).
I used Hotel 1929 as a before and after base during a 2-week exploration of Malaysia and found it acceptable and lovely in every way (though the rooms are small; avoid Room 211 if you can). The staff was very accommodating and let me leave a bag filled with cruise-ship clothing for two weeks while I tramped around the Malaysian countryside. They also allowed me to keep my room for an extra half a day (for half a day's rate) when my flight was changed and I had to leave for the airport in the evening rather than the morning. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate (I usually just had fruit and toast and croissants and skipped the egg dishes) and the location was perfect: near Chinatown but not right in the madness, with a number of restaurants and cafes right on the same street. Two MRT (subway/metro) stops within easy walking distance as well...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa

Adequate for a short stay

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Good location, free wifi, breakfast was included and was good
Cons: When booking check the room size
Location: In china town, short walking distance to Clarke quay, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was adequate for a short stay, the room was very small but was clean and the hotel was tidy. Limited facilities but suited our needs as only there for 3 days to explore the city. I think we had the smallest room in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Kev from Newcastle Australia

A pokey hotel in the heart of Chinatown

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly
Cons: Refrigerators in the rooms or an ice machine in the foyer
Location: In the heart of Chinatown, great shops, markets and places to eat
The room was very small and noisy, Street noise, Temple bells from 5 am on wards and the walls must me made of paper. The price quoted is not the actual price, there is a daily service charge and GST to go on top. There was no refrigeration in the room and no ice was available. The "Buffet Breakfast" left a lot to be desired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ana from Moscow

Great hotel in Chinatown (no windows though)

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in this great Chinatown hotel for two nights because we wanted to explore other neighborhoods in Singapore other than the Orchard Road. It was clean. The only disadvantages were that there were no windows in the room, it was very tiny without refrigerator and closet, and breakfast was not very tasty. However, the price was great and the air con was working, which were the main factors for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Arlington, Virginia, USA

A "Singapore Fling" (please forgive the pun)

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Quiet and friendly. Well decorated public spaces.
Cons: Tea and coffee is provided in the room, but an additional bottle of water would be appreciated!
Location: China town and all its excitement is nearby, but it is easy to reach all other parts of the city by bus or by foot.
The Hotel 1929 is a delightful boutique type hotel. It is adjacent to China town, but on a quiet street where one finds similar small hotels and nice restaurants. We arrived mid morning, and the staff stored our bags until our room was available. Upon return after lunch we found ourselves fully installed. The rooms are tiny, but comfortably furnished with all the amenities one expects. Even an umbrella is provided in each room . . . a nice touch to ward off the afternoon showers. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the premises. One can have either a cold buffet breakfast, or one of eggs and the "fixings" cooked to order. We checked out in the morning, but were able to store our bags for the day at no extra charge, picking them up in time to leave for the airport and our late night flight. Furthermore, it is close to transportation, and the "hop-on, hop-off" bus stops at the corner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertford, UK

Good value for money

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Very clean, I am very sensitive to this and it gets my thumbs up.
Location: Near Chinatown and the MRT.
Everything in Singapore, is expensive, but this hotel gives very good value for money. It is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only criticism I could give (and it is a struggle) is the rooms are very small! We got by easily because we always travel light, however anyone with a lot or with large bags would find it a squeeze.
3 out of 5
by Naj from uk

Room and hotel review

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Good location, helpful staff but the room size is very small and no cupboard. The breakfast is very basic. I thought I booked 4 star hotel rating but this is 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Single person from West Yorkshire

Lovely small hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff; nice atmosphere, good breakfast.
Cons: Reduce the noise of the room air conditioner and the hotel's larger air conditioning system
Location: Located in Chinese Quarter with Temple at the end of the street; many restaurants in near vicinity and small supermarket close by.
A lovely hotel, nicely situated in Chinese Quarter. Good clean room if on the small side, but I suppose most rooms in Singapore are on the small side.