Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Good hotel good location, small rooms

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: location, clean, modern, everything works as expected
Cons: room is small
Location: close to Neil Road gay bars and clubs, in Chinatown, loads of restaurants, close to MRT
it's a good hotel, the location is great, it's very clean and everything works as expected the staff are friendly and fine. The rooms are small though, apart from that it's totally fine and I'd stay there again. The breakfast is also good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegenes Hotel mit platzsparenden Zimmern

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Das zuvorkommende und höfliche Personal.
Cons: Eine bessere Zimmerbeschreibung. Die Bilder entsprechen zwar den vorherschenden Bedingungen, lassen aber auf eine komfortablere Unterkunft schließen.
Location: Zentral in Chinatown/Singapur gelegen. Von dort aus kann man prima zu Fuß die Umgebung erkunden.
Sehr nettes und hilfsbereites Hotelpersonal. Das "Superior" Zimmer allerdings sehr eng bemessen. Kaum Platz für die Koffer. Die Toilette befindet sich direkt vor der Dusche in der Duschkabine, wird also beim Duschen komplett nass. Das Bett füllt das Zimmer komplett aus. Das Zweibettzimmer ist eigentlich maximal von 1 Person bewohnbar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

OK hotel, good location

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location near to China town.
Cons: Size of the room and a shower separate from the toilet.
Location: Chinatown is nearby so a great place to get food and go wondering around
Singapore is not cheap and wanted a hotel in a good location. I feel that the location was good as it is near China town which I enjoyed but down the road was a temple which I think was place making lots of noise at night and early in the morning which was not fun. The room was tiny and to hang your clothes was a pole that sticks out by the shower/toilet which I didn't use as they would get wet when I stepped out of the shower. Using the toilet after having a shower is not fun as the floor is wet and potentially the toilet if you did not lower the lid. By reception is some sweets and drinks (water and coke) which are complimentary and very handy to save a few quid. The breakfast in the morning was not great as it was not hot when served to me. The hotel is not perfect but location is good and price was OK so I would say give it a try if your on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, in Chinatown, convenient to rest city

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Location: Right in Chinatown, close to MRT (subway), easy walk to city centre and many tourist attractions
My first experience in a compact unit, it was easy, everything was close and convenient. Bed was comfortable, shower had lots of hot water and power. Staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Complimentary water, pop and cookies. Comfortable areas to sit outside room - 2nd floor patio and living space on main floor. I recommend the hotel and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Friendly staff. Excellent welcome snacks.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly, from reception to restaurant to housekeeping, fluent in English, Putonghau and Cantonese.
Cons: Their breakfast is not well prepared. Not enough staff and too little choice of food. I suggest Set Breakfast for everyone with prior booking.
Location: Ann Siang Hill is a really nice location. Walk to Tiong Bahru or Chinatown for sightseeing or shopping.
My family booked 4 rooms in Hotel 1929. This is a cheaper choice when compare with other hotel package. However, their location and service are beyond our expectation. It's near Chinatown (just 8 minutes walk), near Outram Park MRT station, and surround by heritage of Ann Siang Hill. We stayed 3 nights and leave in full satisfaction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Taipei

Hotel 1929 is at a good location.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
It is convenient to go to anywhere from hotel1929. The room is small and sometimes noisy, but clean, and fair enough for me just needed a comfortable room to clean up and sleep, and had simple breakfast to start one day travel in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Character hotel in China town

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, restaurant, location and character were all great.
Cons: The rooms are tiny, but that is the result of being in an old, characterful building, so there's little opportunity to improve this.
Location: China town is great and there is much to do in this area alone - temples, mosques, street markets and restaurants. The metro is a short walk away.
Lovely hotel and staff, with an excellent restaurant (Ember), we loved the location and building, BUT the rooms are tiny, which may not suit some people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
good location, clean, nice service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

房間太小,CP值不高

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
房間太小
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DanielRfrom Chicago

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I went to Singapore for my birthday. I had been to Singapore before but never needed a hotel. This hotel is the best choice you can make if you are ok with a hotel without a pool. The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly. There is a complimentary breakfast which saves on money for meals. They give you free water and soda which in Singapore is greatly needed. Its easy to get taxis right next to the hotel and the train stations are less then a couple of blocks away. Its also near a lot of night life and great food. There have been reviews of noise complaints but I am a light sleeper and we had the corner room right on the street on the 2nd level and I use earplugs regularly for sleeping in strange places. But I never needed them at this hotel. The staff even noticed on the copy of the passport I gave them that it was my birthday during my stay and when I got back to my room from sightseeing on my birthday they had left me a nice card and a small bottle of wine for me. Great hotel!!