Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Taipei

Hotel 1929 is at a good location.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
It is convenient to go to anywhere from hotel1929. The room is small and sometimes noisy, but clean, and fair enough for me just needed a comfortable room to clean up and sleep, and had simple breakfast to start one day travel in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Character hotel in China town

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, restaurant, location and character were all great.
Cons: The rooms are tiny, but that is the result of being in an old, characterful building, so there's little opportunity to improve this.
Location: China town is great and there is much to do in this area alone - temples, mosques, street markets and restaurants. The metro is a short walk away.
Lovely hotel and staff, with an excellent restaurant (Ember), we loved the location and building, BUT the rooms are tiny, which may not suit some people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Très bien situé

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Même si les chambres sont petites, c'est décoré avec goût. Le personnel a été très gentil. Et j'y retournerais sans problème
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Clean and friendly hotel in Chinatown.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Good position in Chinatown.
Cons: More information about room sizes - ours was only about 8' by 10'
Location: Very close to North Bridge Road, Pagoda St and food. Chinatown and Outram Underground Stations are a few minutes walk away.
Good Breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. However a "Superior" room was very small - only just enough room to put cases on the floor. Free Wi-Fi, drinks and nibbles. Walking distance to shopping, food, bus and underground trains with direct connection to Changi airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

friendly staff, but strange rooms

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Staff & location. Bed was comfy, water & juice were plentiful. Good breakfast.
Location: MRT (Outram & Chinatown stations), New restaurants/cafes, Chinatown
Pros -- the wonderful staff; the restaurant; the location (close to two MRT lines, great new cafes & downtown chinatown). Bed was comfy. cold water, juice & snacks were plentiful. Full cooked breakfast was great (eggs, meat, fruit, coffee, danish, yogurt, etc) Cons -- the rooms themselves are a bit awkward: extremely small, most do not have closets, dressers or any space for clothing; some of the larger rooms feature a "hook on a wall" to accommodate some hanging clothes. The 4th floor "suite" with outdoor patio (really one room) does include a closet. The bathrooms are interesting, a combined shower/toilet room. It gets a bit loud a night, between trash collection (massive class bottles) and trumpets & drums blaring from the Indian Temple around the corner (the hotel offers ear plugs, just ask).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Great location. Try to find "The Library" for a night cap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Päivi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jesperfrom Vietnam

Nice but noisy

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staying at the second floor facing back towards the atrium was a noisy experience. From 7am to 11pm a big A/C unit is running generating a annoying low frequency noise that may the room stay uncomfortable. Otherwise the hotel is nice and the service is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristyfrom Brisbane, Australia

It's okay!

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's easy to walk around Chinatown & the Chinatown train station is close by. The staff are super friendly and the interior is really cool. The rooms are great and in good condition except that they are super small due to the building and a bit noisy. We had a superior double room which I would only recommend if you were solo. The basin isn't in the bathroom but in the bedroom. If you would like a comfier room Junior Suite or Terrace Suite. The hot water also didn't last for me and became cold. That wasn't good considering my partner didn't use the hot water and had a cold shower beforehand. Breakfast is good and again the staff are super nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location great staff tiny rooms

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved most aspects of this place, the location was excellent, the rooms were incredibly well laid out, but I should probably reiterate what other reviews have said. The rooms are really small. E.g. you could brush your teeth from the bed. Also I want to note the door to the bathroom was glass and only partially frosted. Not a lot of privacy if your sharing a room. But I liked the hotel overall and would definitely stay there again