Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miho from Sydney

Great location for airport- BUT

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to MRT and airport
Cons: Enforce no smoking policy. Put sensitive smoke detectors in the rooms maybe
This hotel was in a good location to access the airport. The rooms were clean- But even though there are signs plastered everywhere that it was a no smoking facility- obviously people ignore them. As soon as you enter the foyer you can smell cigarette smoke. When signing it ( hassle free) you can see that there is a fine for smoking and as you enter the lift it stipulates no smoking. However, it smelt like it was coming through the air conditioning system. Even when we turned the air con off, it made it worse. Maybe that's why they supply you with air freshener. The room itself is clean and the linen doesn't smell like smoke, but the air quality was overbearing at times
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic room, friendly staff but no hot water at all

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Cons: Hot water.
Title says it all - basic room for a transit hotel only. Staff was friendly and informative - also helpful. Room was clean and provided essentials but had absolutely no hot water. I can deal with no shower curtain and a very plain room as long as it functions effectively. This one had no hot water so it ruined the otherwise fine stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ng from Singapore

Tiny space despite staying in Superior room

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
- Room is simply too small. +Staff remember my room number and pass me my keys when she see me.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by ivan from singapore

Don't let this hotel ruin your holiday

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Smelly room, noisy, small. Avoid this hotel unless you have no choice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Budget Hotel with convenient location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The location is convenient. Everything works. The staff is always friendly and courteous. It's a small hotel, so you can get in and out quickly.
Cons: Free WIFI is a big plus, but you have to log in with a different code each day.
Location: There are many Hotel 81 locations, and each is unique. Please note this is Geylang Serai, not Geylang the red light district. Taxi to "Joo Chiat".
What distinguishes the Classic is it's proximity to the heart of the Malay shopping and eating district. You cannot get any closer! Literally across the street is the new public market and food center with cheap tasty meals, fresh fruits and vegetables, and fine fabrics. On weekends it's packed with locals doing their weekly grocery shopping. Many other places to sample local delicacies line the block. Stayed for two weeks during the Christmas break and had a very nice time. The room was quiet and fairly comfortable. If possible, get a window room even though it may be more cramped. We've stayed in smaller rooms in London and Japan, but not by much. The rate is very reasonable, given that real estate in Singapore is extremely expensive. Although some reviewers seem to think a shower curtain is a necessity, they are wrong. The local standard is to tile the entire bathroom. I like it. If you want to go local, you need look no further. Public transportation is very convenient, especially if you get an EasyLink tap and go card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by shannon from nz

Posted Dec 22, 2013
the hotel is close to the bus stop and train station. It it very tired but is one of the few hotels that accommodates 4 people. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was the cheapest option for us since we have 4 people in the group needing 2 double beds. Other hotels in the city are easily twice or more the rate we paid here. Not exactly the best hotel, but we got what we paid. Just don't expect too much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from toronto

Hotel missing shower curtain

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Cons: provide shower curtain. and better direction to MRT subway station.
Location: many good restaurants nearby but motel staffs not friendly to point out.
is a budget Motel in an expensive city, but far away from downtown. my room has no window and I guess it is not required by law. shower without shower curtain is kind a interesting.
2 out of 5
by Incoming47 from Brisbane Aust.

Around $12 cab fare from Changi A/P

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Location: Plenty of eateries nearby.
A windowless, cheerless box that passes for a room. Uncomfortable hard bed. No place to put your suitcase or anything else for that matter. Tiniest bathroom/toilet. Shower head broken. Towel was old and had no drying properties left in it. TV was an original 1950 model, barely watchable. Avoid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

struggling to reach zero.

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Not recommended even for a few hours. Try a different location