Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Trading on past glories

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Character & history
Cons: A manager on the front desk to welcome guests.Housekeeping could be more timely and the standard of the restaurant food we tried was below par
Location: good central location
Our recent stay at Raffles was well below expectations hearing in mind that this is an iconic hotel with a reputation to live up to. The welcome was unimpressive and although the room was comfortable and full of character we had to wait until 4.30pm on the second night before it was serviced and then only after the housekeeping staff had been reminded. Although the restaurant where we had breakfast was an impressive room the food was below average and the Indian festival food served in the same restaurant that evening lacked variety and wasn't up to the standard required for a hotel of this calibre. I did mention my concerns on checking out and was told that they would be in touch and have since received a survey form which had expired by the time I returned from my holiday. Overall impression was of a hotel trading on past glories & not up to the standard expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Beautiful step back in time.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Provide free shuttle to and from the airport.
Location: Green oasis in the middle of glass and steel Singapore. Everything you want is a S$10 (or less) taxi ride away.
The hotel and staff are wonderful. Our lovely suite came with a private butler, who delivered morning coffee! We spent 5 nights at Raffles and it was always with a sigh of relief I came back to the beautiful green gardens and exclusive pool at the end of the day. It was expensive, but worth every penny. Raffles Singapore is a once in a lifetime experience I recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel with fantastic history and service

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Service is fantastic, architecture is true to the 1920s
Cons: TVs in rooms are still CRT - if they could be from 1920 then it would be more authentic
Location: Raffles Place, but make sure you walk the hotel grounds and use the Tiffin room for breakfast and/or tea
Brilliant warm welcome to the hotel from the Sikh doorman to the check in that walks you to your room and introduces you to the butler. Room is old fashioned - we paid extra for a Palm Court room which is wonderful and you are woken not by traffic noise, but tropical birds. breakfast is excellent and tea is great (though strangely no choice of tea)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Simply sublime

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The absolute authenticity of it's grace and elegance.
Cons: Let's be fair, Raffles isn't for everyone. If you want lightening speed internet and a plasma screen TV the size of a commercial fridge, try the MBS.
Location: Stay in the hotel, savour Raffles history and walk a little slower than the folks outside.
I'd had enough of a chaotic new 5 star in Singapore and so checked in-to my favourite hotel in Asia for the night. From the moment you're greeted at the door, you know you're somewhere special and while it's one of the most unique hotels in the world the staff make you feel at home. It's one of the few hotels where the staff really seem to care and then succeed in delivery outstanding service. I was on my own and just needed some time out, so avoided the Long Bar and opted for the curry buffet. The smiling chef offered to make me something spicier; it knocked my socks off. I went to bed a happier man.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: the character and the history. Alvin at the pool was exceptional. Knowledgeable courteous and a great bartender!
Cons: beds were very uncomfortable!
Alvin was fabulous at the pool . Friendly, knowledgeable and so professional. Thank you Alvin!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay at the Raffles

Posted Sep 18, 2014
It has always been my dream to stay at the Raffles Hotel in Singapore and I was not disappointed. 5 star in every way with the old world Colonial charm it is known for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

A Deserving Icon ... Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the lobby, the breakfasts, the grounds are all exquisite.
Cons: Each day, they forgot that I take my Gin and Tonic with a twist of lime. They would bring cucumber each time and each time I would send it back.
Three day stay for business. Very comfortable and all the modern conveniences in a spectacular old world setting. Of course, a drink at The Long Bar is a Must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Overwhelmed

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: A far east classic that fully lives up to its reputation. Every traveller owes it to him/herself to stay here once in a lifetime.
Arrived at 6 am after an overnight flight. The receptionist asked the reason for my visit to Singapore. Told her rather incoherently that I was to attend the 90th birthday party of my wife's aunt that evening. An hour before leaving for the party I was given a complimentary birthday cake to take along.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old school

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Service was spectacular
Cons: 24 inch TVs is not 5 star
This is like taking a ride back through the century, put on a white hat and sit on the porch with a gin and tonic like the upper classes of the beginning of the century. Hard to beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Glasgow, Scotland

VERY FAMOUS HOTEL

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: Some parts (very few) appear "worn" and could do with a refurbish.
Location: Central location - handy for City Hall MRT station and Raffles City Shopping Mall. Many museums are within walking distance.
Very famous hotel in which many famous people have stayed - from Presidents to Film Stars to Sportstars. The list is endless. The elegant early 1900's style makes it special - and the rooms renovated in the old style retains the Colonial feel. Food is superb - and the location is central. Staff seem to know your name and call you by it even if they have not met you before - puzzling!