Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel right in the center of town

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Centrally located, pleasant feel in the room, close by to lots of restaurants, the harbor, public transit, etc. The staff was excellent
Cons: EVERYTHING in Singapore is extremely expensive, the hotel even moreso... The elevators are slow enough to make you contemplate walking - 16 stories..
very easy to get to and get your way around - either by taxi or the metro which is right there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth australia

nice hotel close to every thing

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: good service close to marina bay
Cons: room décor a bit old looking
Location: close to marina bay & raffles hotel
the staff where very friendly & happy to help with all our needs great views to marina bay / clean free wi fi but you need to log on every day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Break your arms flushing the toilet

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Change the toilets to something that is easier to flush
I hope you've been lifting weights, because it takes a very hard slam on the flushing plate to cause the toilet to flush. Older people are probably just going to have to put up with the toilet not being flushed. The hotel seemed dead--hardly anybody staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

'don't stay here'

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: staff pleasant
Cons: everything about the room and the facilities
Location: location very good for trains
Very tired room interior, unclean bathroom, smelly toilet, dripping taps, luke warm water in shower. Overall very disappointing stay. Not sure if all the rooms are like this or just the ones reserved for bookings via web agencies but based on this stay we would say 'just don't stay here'. Internet access counted as extra and not included….its 2014! Having stayed in various hotels over many years we would confidently return to a number of them who have had consistent standards. This hotel is not one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth

Good Hotel in Convenient City Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, swimming pool and generally service
Cons: See note above on service
Location: Swissotel the Stamford is connected to a number of under cover, air conditioned shopping malls (Raffles City, Marina, Suntec)
Good start to our stay with check-in being quick and friendly and room was upgraded. Reception told us that our upgraded room had recently been renovated and it was nicely appointed and consistent with a 4-4.5 star hotel (not sure it would be 5 star). The only minor thing I would say is that I wouldn't have chosen the selected carpet for the upgrade and it could have been laid better (had a few lumps). The room was kept very clean during our stay and also every toiletry accessory you needed was provided (toothpaste and brush, shaver etc.). As far as amenities go the kids loved the swimming pool and we were down there nearly every day. The hotel's location was perfect being right in the middle of the city and connected to a major shopping mall complex. If you are taking younger kids they will most likely not be keen on walking around in the Singapore heat so the air conditioned shopping mall is the way to go (the one we were connected to also had a bowling centre and movie theatres). The service at the hotel was generally very good in particular the concierge. The one negative was when my wife was getting (I was brave and travelling with two young kids by myself) a little worried when we got back late one night from the Singapore Zoo night safari (yes I should have told her I was doing this) and the hotel staff member she talked to was not very helpful (and hung up on her and would not put her through on her third call later at night).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel but would not return

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Excellent location
Location: MRT located below hotel is a great efficient form of transport near a lot of tourist attractions around the city. Easy access to shopping mall
On check in one of our rooms was not ready. We had to wait almost two hours however we did ask for extra time to check out which was given to us. Being such a large hotel I found it to be very impersonal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FYF

Great view of the bay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Overall experience was great with the exception of the room not being made available only until 430pm, or more than 2 hours after in initial stated check in time. This was supposedly due to the high check in numbers and the rooms not being able to turnover in time. Excuses nonetheless. Room was very big and spacious with a nice work desk and side sofa. Television was initially not working but got rectified after about an hour of waiting, once again I suspect due to the shortage of manpower in the operations. If you want a spectacular view of the Marina bay district do ask for rooms numbered 52-58 which has a direct view at the bay else other rooms may have a restricted view. Another thing to take note of is that certain high level floors are not able to open/access the balcony due to safety reasons. Access to the balcony would definitely be worth it as you get to enjoy the natural breeze of the bay, especially at nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yokohama

Special service of early check in

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I got hospitality from hotel staff that I could check in early time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic location and staff.....But....

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location and excellent staff.
Cons: Bathroom fittings to be updated and rooms to be refurbished.
Location: right next to Raffles City shopping centre with its shops and numerous eateries in the lower basement. On top of City Hall MRT station.
This is our regular hotel whenever we passed through Singapore. The location is excellent being central to shops, MRT station and away from the heat and humidity of having to walk down Orchard Road. The staff is very helpful and efficient. But over the years, (started staying here when it was the original Westin Hotel in the 1980s), the rooms can do with a refurbishment. The bathroom fittings are dated and could be more efficient. Nevertheless, the rooms are spacious when compared to newer hotels in Singapore. But the housekeeping staff is excellent and kept the rooms spotless and tidy even when I left things lying around. Very well done. Ideal for family that requires a rollaway extra bed. The Lobby can be enhanced to give the hotel more presence in keeping with its star ratings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

An Excellent Hotelingapore

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities are excellent
Cons: Nothing that I can suggest
Location: The location is excellent. It is in the centre and historic part of Singapore. Visit the Botanical Gardens, Orchid garden, Garden by the Bay, Shopping
Had a very enjoyable stay in the hoteeeryl and that made my vacation all the more enjoyable in Singapore.