Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: staff
Cons: cleanliness
Location: far from everything
terrible, hec with kit it was terrible, nothing more to say
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Needs improvements

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I had a great time at Riu Palace St Martin, however I need to be honest. Hotel is old and need updates in all carpet of rooms and halls. They are very but very old and stained. I was assigned a room with stained and old carpet, but after my complaint I was upgraded to a nice suite in front of the marina immediately. towels and lunen changed every day and in great conditions very white and like new. I want to thank the staff at the hotel that made a great vacation for my family. Entertainment needs a lot but a lot to be a real Riu experience. No service around the pool. Need to walk for drinks every time all the way to the bar. Buffet is great with many choices. Beach is not too good in comparison to other beautiful beaches close but is ok, secluded and calm. Landscaping would be beautiful if more rain or sprinkle system installed. I had a great vacation and I would recommend it as a 3 to 4 stars hotel, no more than that. Again staff is wonderful, and assist inmediately with any need. Only Riu management need to work on making a real Riu experience with the updates and work needed on property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston vicinity

Nice resort focused on water activities.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The pool complex was outstanding. Views both day and night were lovely. Lounging at the beach in the dark looking at the stars was special.
Cons: The open hours for the pool bar, towel service and DVD librarycould be extended another our or two from the 5 PM we experienced.
Location: The location was remote not near much else. Rental cars or taxis were about the only option to get around outside of the resort.
This resort is nestled into a beautiful cove on St. Martin's northern tip. As the location is rather secluded from the rest of the island, the hotel is best enjoyed through in-resort activities and functions. The pool complex is outstanding, featuring an infinity edge over a long section. The Coco's bar beside the pool provided excellent drinks with very short waiting. The beach while not overly large, had plenty of lounge chairs with umbrellas. The ocean water (which was right adjacent to the pool) was warm, clean, beautiful blue, and tranquill. The sand was clean and powdery white. Strong points for the resort were the food choices and quality. The buffet meals offered a very large variety of well prepared dishes. Meals at the specialty restaurants were quite good. All the restaurants offered al fresco dining. Servers were attentive but not intrusive. We only experienced the French cuisine LeMer and the L'Ille Steakhouse. The French cooking was outstanding, while the steakhouse meals were quite good but not outstanding. Room service was very prompt and efficient. We had a second floor suite in the Marina area. This offered views both in the front and rear of the suite. There were seating verandahs in both locations. The bed had a very comfortable Sleep Number type mattress. The bath was large, nicely appointed and functional. Because it's remote location we needed to use taxis to get to town and other areas of interest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pool great beach!!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Hotel totally needs a remodeling from top to bottom. Does not meet Riu standards..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Great Location and Staff

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: location and friendly staff.
Cons: the fitness facility, better pastry chef, and more water sport activities included.
Location: there is absolutely nothing near except the ocean and beautiful reefs but that is what we were looking for.
The location of this hotel was exceptional and the staff were the best - all extremely friendly and ready to help. For an all inclusive, however, the facilities were a bit lacking. The fitness room, for example, had old nautilus equipment. You also had to actually rent snorkel equipment and paddle boards but you could take a Kayak out for free - no real reason for the difference. All the food was exceptional except the desserts - they all looked wonderful but tasted like nothing. Strange! The 3 restaurants on site that were included required a reservation. They were all good in their own way but we were there 7 nights and were only able to get reservations for 3 nights - we had to eat at the buffet the other nights. Although the buffet was fine. In general, since we went off season and the price was reduced, we are very happy with our experience and would go back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennlysvania

Riu Palace Resort in St. Martin

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Horrible, everything Service was bad, General Manager was unprofessional and Assistant Manager was rude to me, other guests and to the employee I have never seen this behavior to a guest in my life. There were roaches in by room. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this resort to nobody. My rating zero (0) being worse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GLasgow

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Nicely presented and feels like the Caribbean. Any hotel is only as good as the staff and those we dealt with were cheery and helpful
Location: At the top of the island and you require a taxi or hie car should you wish to explore. Good nature paths nearby though good footwear essential.
Lovely hotel in a secluded location. Found staff to be friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a relaxing week, good food, nice calm waters and a wee drink by the pool this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel, beautiful location

Posted Jun 17, 2015
great comfortable rooms, very attentive staff-bartenders were great, average all inclusive food-get out of the resort for a couple of fantastic dinners. Tropicana is a great restaurant and so was Oceans 82. This was a great value and fun for our whole family with an age range of 19-50
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A recommander !!!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Un rapport qualité prix excellent dommage toutefois que les animateurs ne s'expriment pas vraiment en Français.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Nice place

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Beautiful resort right on Anse Marcel cove. The staff is helpful, and very friendly, and the grounds are gorgeous. The only problems we had was pluming, and electrical which made us switch rooms. If you don't want to eat buffet every night, make sure you make reservations at the 3 restaurants a day or two in advance( they fill up very quickly)