Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Beautiful remote resort

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The setting the views the staff
Cons: Need chaffing dishes for food so it doesn't dry out and isn't exposed to elements
Location: Location is remote but its an easy drive into town. Although the locals drive fast.
My initial thought while driving was it was too far, the winding road was scary, and the palace appeared dated. However, it is truly an experience of exquisite beauty and impeccable service. The staff truly aims to please. Of course we tipped everyone because they give so much of themselves
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn,NY

Nice that its right by the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Overall I had a good time at the hotel every one was friendly and the bartenders were all great.I wish that the hotel had more entertainment as far as an actual club or 2 would be great. More shows on a nightly basis which they would need more staff because they didn't seem to have much entertainers. It would also be nice if they actually had more signs directing you to the Hotel and advertising. Overall the island is beautiful i would definitely go back and my friends that went on this trip agreed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Beach is very nice

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Overall great place. Secluded from action. Administration is not that friendly. But bartenders and other staff is excellent. For the price it is a great place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great for family or large groups!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Hotel stay was nice. Limited getting a reservation to restaurants on property so ended up at buffet most of the time. The bed was very uncomfortable but overall it was a nice stay, friendly staff and decent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunnyvale, CA

Amazing Vacation!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Loved the place, staff were excellent, very friendly & attentive. My room was clean, fridge was stocked every morning, special requests were taken care of promptly. The food was great and nicely presented. Beautiful beach. Had a wonderful time relaxing on the beach. Free WiFi everywhere. Excellent Vacation !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Yorker fees cold

One of nicest hotels on St. Martin

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Nice pool and beach
Cons: Rooms smelled musty and like the toilet. Bathroom could've been updated with stall shower. Pull out bed in living room was thin.
Location: Go to Anguilla for the day. We absolutely loved it!
Riu is a nice hotel for the islands. It is right on a pretty beach in Anse Marcel, on the north and quieter side of the island. It is all-inclusive, which is good for where it is because you are definitely not near Marigot or Philipsburg, where all the action is. You are not near a casino. The pool is one of the bigger ones on the island. There are plenty of chairs, although, most people put towels on the ones with umbrellas by 8am, so they are taken. There is a constant breeze here, so it's always cool. The staff is super friendly. They come around once and introduce themselves and tell you about activities, but there is no pressure to join if you prefer not to. The food is ok...not all that great, but certainly there is plenty of it and it is decent. Breakfasts include lots of eggs, omelets, french toast, breads, lox, meats, etc. Lunches always have fresh salad, hamburgers and hot dogs, pizza and french fries, as well as seafood, stews and other hot dishes. We ate in one of the reservation restaurants, the steakhouse and it wasn't all that good. The alcohol is included in the price, and they are not stingy about drinks at all....all top shelf liquor. The guests were a mix of French, European and American and Canadian, mostly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stony point ny

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Loved the place, staff were excellent, very friendly & attentive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a quiet cove

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff. Relatively quiet.
Cons: Smoking restrictions.
Location: Not much. Butterfly farm is interesting. Otherwise rent a car and go down to the Dutch side for partying, gambling, shopping.
Lovely location but off the beaten track. Small but pleasant beach. Great for getting some rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Beautiful setting!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The setting on a secluded beach. While it took a while to get there in our rental car, it was well worth the drive.
Cons: While the all-inclusive dining options were great, many of the breakfast & dinner buffet options were the same every day.
The staff at the Riu were amazing. Everyone was very welcoming, and they even sent up a bottle of champagne to our suite as we were on our honeymoon. It's not the newest of resorts, but the facilities were pretty modern. The best part was the setting for the hotel (even though it was very remote); in between two hills on what feels like your own private beach. They have several restaurants on site, but I would strongly making reservations for their finer ones on the day you arrive (reservations booked very quickly). It is unfortunate that they lost about 5 feet of beach during the recent hurricane as some of the sand was washed away, but that is a minor detail. Overall, my wife & I were very impressed. However, I suggest renting a car and exploring the island. You will be surprised with how kind the locals are and how very affordable & delicious the meals are off the resort. We promised ourselves we would come back to the Riu St. Martin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Enjoy able in every way

Posted Mar 16, 2015
We stayed at the Riu from March 1 thru the 11th and thoroughly enjoyed it. We almost decided to change resorts after reading that one scathing review...but glad we didn't. Our room was clean, fridge was stocked every morning, special requests were taken care of promptly. Originally we were given a garden view room on the first floor, but they graciously changed us to marine view second floor. This was perfect. The beach was great with plenty of shady or sunny spots to choose from. There was seaweed, but they raked it and pretty much stayed on top of it. We walked down to the other end of the beach several times which was a nice option. The food was good and nicely presented. Yes, there was repetition but with so many choices we enjoyed our meals. Monday night was lobster night on the buffet....delicious! We took the "review" suggestions and rented a car from Hertz located at the Riu. We were really rushed when signing up for it, but other than that, everything was fine. We rented it for a couple of days rather than a week which worked great for us. We followed someone's suggestion and contacted.Visa before we left home concerning overseas rental insurance...good idea. Suggestions I would make to the Riu: 1) a coffee/pastry shop with expanded hours. 2) complimentary water sport equipment. 3) snack bar, esp. for kids, that would be open throughout the day. 4). A kid activity schedule...there didn't seem to be anything special for the kids to do.