Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by unhappyfrom PLYMOUTH

Location not good

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Following my satnavs instructions, I thought that it must surely have led me astray. Being two females in an unfamiliar place the location of the Furnival Lodge was no less than frightening. We were in the middle of a council estate, in an area of lock-ups. We could not see the Guest House. We left the area and later phoned to verify if we had been in the right place. We were told that we were, we needed to go a little further down the road. I explained that the picture on the booking site depicted a large leafy garden, to be told that that was at the back. We cancelled our reservation, we were told that we would be refunded within 72 hours. 10 days later still no refund. We contacted the booking site who then contacted Furnival Lodge. They have reassured us that we will get our refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elliefrom Oxford

Lovely family run guesthouse

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful owners
Cons: The interior could do with a bit of updating.
Location: We stayed here and went to a concert at the nearby Stoke Park Country Club (6 minutes away in car)
Greeted by the lovely owner. Very polite and happy. Couldn't do more to help us with our stay. Interior is a bit old fashioned but comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

More like a hostel than a guest house.

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We used this guest house the night before our flight home. The room was clean and the bathroom had been updated, but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have probably ever tried to sleep on. The mattress was so thin I could feel the springs stabbing me in the back. I considered sleeping on the floor it was so bad. The breakfast was mediocre. The TV would lose its signal every half hour, so you'd have to turn it off and on again. The location was convenient to Heathrow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 2, 2014
good with nice garden would book again if required
2 out of 5
Recommended
by candmresfrom Half Moon Bay CA

Not up to standard billed

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I expected more of a property rated 4 stars and given a rating of 3.9 from 107 reviews. The bedrom was very small. The neighborhood was marginal (but safe) and there was not enough parking (and no close by street parking) The bathroom had a small corner sink and the toilet had mould under the rim. The bathroom wasn't very clean. The breakfast was not up to 4 star standards. No fruit or yoghurt was offered and only one cup of tea - no refill. I expected clean and comfortable but really wasn't and I was glad to get out of there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overall great, but no food/drink in rooms is odd?!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine, however the location is a bit odd. Its basically in the middle of a narrow residential street, amazing that they got permission to put it there! Some say the area is rough, but I know it quite well and it's not bad, there are also lots of shops/eateries a short walk away. The rule that really got me is that there is no food/drink permitted in the rooms?! Of course we just snuck some in. They provide a fully fitted kitchen and common room and expect you to eat there, but privacy is what you pay for in a hotel so why would you do that?! Otherwise the place was very clean and tidy, service was great, free breakfast wasn't bad considering it was still cheap overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant service

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant service, comfortable room and good Internet connection. A good hotel to someone picking up from Heathrow airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kevinfrom chatham

Odd but ok

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I found it odd that you had to go to the kitchen to make yourself a hot drink and then stay there until you had drunk it, as the notice in the room said it was against the rules to eat or drink in your room. Although there was a thermostat on the radiator in my room it was electrically operated from some other location and so i had to add extra bedding to keep warm. On a plus side the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com