Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rolls from NY Metro

Good Stuff

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, friendly and the restaurants/shops are reasonably priced (using NY as a comparison). Stayed here to ride the Cass Railroad, no interest in the ski side of things but the resort does a good job with providing lots of entertainment. Remember that it is way up in the mountains and you can't just run to Target or Wal Mart if you forget something. There is no cell service, but many would consider that a benefit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Extremely disappointing!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: NOTHING. The room was tiny and dingy.
Cons: How about a little service.
Location: We went there to ride a train in Cass, WV.
The place, unlike the add revealed had nothing for us. We had our 9 year old granddaughter with us so we picked this place because it had pool and playground. Those were not in use. Pool was being worked on. The room was so cramped that you either cooked or slept but there was no room to do both. Disliked so much, we left a day early and gave up our money. Since we booked through expedia, there was nothing to get back from Rimfire.I would sure think the place would have informed expedia that all their amenities were not in use. There was not even any staff at Rimfire. Not even for checking in. We had to go elsewhere to check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Memphis

Location great! Cleanliness could be better.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Location was great right in the village. Quick easy access to starbucks and the slopes and the restaurants. It was a comfortable condo. The building was somewhat beat up with lots of scuff marks and dings on the wall. Our particular unit (152 which was actually 151 & 152) was nice because it had ample space for equipment in a private locker area. The jacuzzi was good and the proximity to split rock pools was also a plus. The underground parking was also very nice thought the stalls were very close together. The biggest complaint was that the kitchen sink area had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Also the blankets on the beds had hairs and some other 'stains' on them. The staff was quick in bringing us new blankets and sheets however. Unfortunately by then my wife was not confident in the overall cleanliness of the condo. Other complaints was that the wind kicked up on the third night causing internet outages and our gas fireplace pilot to blow out. Again, the front office was aware and worked on both issues quickly. Overall I enjoyed the convenience of the location, underground parking and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John from DC area

customer service

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location, cleanliness and room were excellent. The resort needs to work on its customer service. There are many options other then this resort to go to from the DC area. The employees could make the difference and out if the numerous contacts we had only one employee showed true professionalism. Several were out right rude during our stay, as if we were putting them out to actually due the job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kris from Columbus

Rimfire, convenient and small

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beds and size of room remarkably small, said it was queen bed and sofa bed, actually was murphy bed that prohibited opening the refrigerator when open, really small... Great location though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rimfire efficiency

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Great location in the Village at Snowshoe. Room was clean but space was tight for me, my wife and 11 year old son. As we spent most of our time on the slopes it really wasn't a big issue and for the price it was well worth it. Requiring the skis be kept in a locker not in the room at first looked to be a major pain but turned out to be a great idea since we didn't have to carry them back and forth. Overall great experience and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ben from Northern VA

Good value

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rimfire was a good value. It's the oldest of Snowshoe's mountain top resorts, so it's a little dated, but over all we were satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to the slopes

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice accommodations, hide-a-bed mattress needed to be replaced 10 years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LAX Family from Maryland

Rimfire

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were really nice and the bathrooms were a nice size - we had a two bedroom unit on the third floor. Elevators were not crowded and did not take too long. They did not have all the pan options for cooking your own meals but I brought two of my favorite pans that we use the most. The restaurants in the village were good but you need to get there before 7pm to not be in really long wait lines during the weekends. We ordered pizza and salads for takeout one night from the pizza place there in the village - convenient. The service for taking out the trash and bringing us fresh towels was good and kept up with our usage of them. The underground garage was nice for unloading out of the elements but the spots were very small. Be extra careful of the underground garage door! It came down on us twice - once going in and once coming out (it hit us once and did minimal damage, the second time the sensor registered us there and reversed the door so it did not hit the vehicle) - and yes we used our key to access the garage as per the instructions on the garage sign.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Maryland

Ski week

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Very close to resturants, our room was just above Starbucks. Easy access to slopes.
Cons: Hotel needs it's own wifi network.
Location: All resturants, shopping, equipment rental and mini store were close to hotel.
My wife and I had a pleasant experience. No issue with check-in or check-out.