Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Lovely staff, good breakfast and wifi signal

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Location: Very central even though there are bigger, fancier places nearby.
The staff are really lovely and they provide a good spread for the breakfast buffet, and a good wifi connection. It is a little under-maintained, but clean enough. But because it was summer, either the windows needed to be open at night or the air con needs to be on. Unfortunately it can be pretty noisy with the windows open, but then there was a kind of unpleasant smell coming via the air conditioning. My stay was pretty last minute as I'd discovered some friends would be in Sofia whilst I was visiting Europe. They had booked into the Grand Hotel Sofia (there were no other vacancies at the time) which is a huge contrast with Hotel Maria Luisa and does end up meaning HML reflects poorly! However, if you're looking for a safe place to sleep and don't mind some night noise the HML is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLL

Very old furniture, outdated hotel...

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Over all the hotel is nice.... Furniture and building needs fine major updating. The staff is friendly and there is a great breakfast spread. It's on the opposit side of vitosha street and need to take the underpass to get to the action... It can be a little scary at nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gregory from Illinois

Clean and cozy hotel

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was very good except for the bath tub that was not fixed properly, so water was leaking on the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graeme from Perth Australia

central location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The Staff were brilliant,the hotel was small ,quiet and very neat,and the location was central
Cons: i would have liked to use the e-mail.
Location: you can walk to all the sights of Sofia. Public transport is nearby.There are lots of shops and restaurants close.
i was visiting a friend, and stayed in Sofia for 10 days
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Melbourne, Aus.

Toilet absolutely stunk and curtains too small

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Toilet absolutely stunk and curtains too small to cover the whole window. We checked out a night early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by iva from Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Yes, folks - all the positive reviews are true! This is a wonderful retro-style centrally-located city hotel - a mere 10 min walk from Sheraton. Small, exquisite and hidden - like a well-kept Sofia secret. Will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the centre of Sofia.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
The Maria Luisa hotel is located at the City center end of Maria Luisa Bld i.e. a prime location. The hotel room, staff etc were perfectly ok. The window was frosted over in my room and I had to turn the light on during the day time which made an otherwise ok room feel a bit like prison.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was good, friendly and helpful staff and the service was good. I'm not sure about the 4* status. A bit of renovation will help. Not having a window to open isn't pleasant if you like fresh air and don't like air conditioned air. Overall it's not a bad hotel but considering the Sheraton was £40 more for the two nights without the breakfast maybe I should have went with that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic in every possible way. Highly recommended.