Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Room Lottery

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Where to start? The tiny room, the double bed which was two singles pushed together with a sheet over the top, the miniscule bathroom, the noisy extractor fan, the towels like flannels, the TV with a screen-burned line down one side or the overall 70s decor? In truth the room was so bad it was funny (I must be in the Christmas spirit). To be fair the proprietor was perfectly nice and friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and of a good quality, and I slept well. Based on other reviews the quality of stay seems to vary on which room you get, perhaps I was unlucky!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Celiafrom Truro

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a great stay. The room was lovely and comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Welcoming & Homely

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and welcoming staff, hotel was very homely & comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

One night stay after a gig at the LG arena

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: - Friendly staff - Lovely room - Great selection at breakfast - Decorated well - Homely bar area
Cons: Possibly extend the breakfast times by a small amount The fan in the bathroom was very noisy, possibly faulty
Location: Only a 5-10 minute walk to Olton train station, with regular links. LG Arena, NEC and Bull Ring al easily accessible Quiet residential location
I stayed 1 night at Tudor Court, with my boyfriend after we had been at a gig at the LG Arena together. I know there are a lot of hotels that are closer, but we didn't want to stay in Birmingham itself and Tudor Court was the highest standard hotel I could find for the best price within our budget and desired area. There was easy access and regular trains to the LG Arena , and even when we missed our train home, the taxi back from New Street cost less than £20 (much less than we expected). The hotel is lovely, with an old fashioned homely feel, and even though we're a young couple we didn't experience any hostility (some hotels wouldn't even have us as we're both under 25). The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast in the morning was amazing! We loved our stay in a lovely room with an ensuite, everything was clean and pleasant. Very quiet at night too. Overall we loved our stay here, would definitely recommend the hotel and would love to return ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Very nice stay

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel was individual, we were treated as individuals and made to feel welcome.
Location: Although in a residential area the hotel was well placed for the NEC
We received a very friendly greeting and this friendliness was maintained for the whole of our stay. The hotel was charming and the breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to requirements. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and hope to do so soon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One To Avoid!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The receptionist was friendly on my arrival and took my cases up for me. The lobby was nice.
Cons: Almost everything!
This so-called hotel was very disappointing. The photos they’d posted on Expedia were extremely misleading and bore no resemblance to reality. My room was freezing cold and the heating didn’t work. It was meant to be a double room but was smaller than some single rooms I’ve stayed in for the same price and had only one (rather small) chair. The so-called double bed was in fact two singles pushed together, meaning it was extremely uncomfortable down the middle. The hotel’s advert on Expedia also states that all rooms have hairdryers and desks. My room had neither. Mind you, there was a television – but unfortunately, the screen had been damaged, meaning there was a permanent glowing line down the screen, making watching it annoying. There was also a rickety unadjustable TV table, which was about two feet taller than the room’s sole chair! Also, the bathroom was tiny, had no shelf or ledge and didn’t look like it had been cleaned properly. It also had what was possibly the World’s loudest extractor fan (it was almost deafening), which would stay on long after the bathroom lights had been turned off and didn’t have an off switch. This room (and the management’s lack of attention to detail and hygiene) can be summed up nicely by the bowl of sweets that had been placed on the bedside table – I don’t know how long they’d been there but they were congealed to the point where you couldn’t even get the wrappers off! I can’t, however, comment on the breakfast, because, although I was
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by simonfrom Gloucestershire

it's nice but the room was quite stele

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is really nice with a great garden .the breakfast was really good and served with a smile. However the matress was terrible and the room was not ventilated at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gailfrom Birmingham

Nice and quite

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable stay, welcoming and helpful. I knew breakfast was going to be good when I saw they had prunes, grapefruit and yoghurts - always a good sign. I couldn't make the kettle work but found out on exit that one plug socket works but not the other. It's in a quiet road considering the area is heavily residential which made for a good nights sleep. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Leefrom Australia

Isolated but nice

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I sought out this small private hotel for the quality of the area in which it was located. From this point of view I was not disappointed and breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately when I was there the chef had been called away on personal matters and no evening meal was offered and as the only public restaurant within a reasonable walking distance was a nice Indian restaurant it meant on my second day I ensured I ate heartily at lunch time whilst in the city picking up a meat roll from a supermarket on the way back to the hotel. The advertised bar was not lit and manned and to secure a beer it meant knocking on the door of the hosts private quarters and requesting a drink which was provided but for a cost unknown. This was provided the following day. All in all a disappointing stay when the advertising offered so much more.