Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom norfolk

Great central location.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Lovely clean room with four poster bed, great breakfast to set you up for the day. Friendly staff & not forgetting snowball the resident cat who sits on the reception desk waiting to greet you. The patio garden opposite is a fantastic place to sit at the end of the day with a drink looking across to a floodlit Wells Cathederal. Hotel is situated just around the corner from the market place. Ample parking at the rear of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Good friendly hotel, well situated.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The food was excellent, served by helpful, friendly staff. The hotel is perfectly situated right in the middle of town, but no noise, and close to the cathedral and other attractions. Only criticism is that there were not enough tables to accommodate everyone at breakfast and people were having to wait for a table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon & Suzyfrom Wellington, Somerset, England, UK

Great location and setting!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Fabulous location, with views of the stunning Wells Cathedral from most public areas within the hotel. Good quality and nicely presented for its star rating. The AD 15c restaurant was very dark. The food quality and presentation, in general, was of a pretty high standard, although the service was somewhat impersonal and unattentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anonfrom scotland

City Centre Hotel very central location

Posted May 12, 2014
Ticked all the boxes for a hotel. Bit noisy with doors banging in night. Noise from pigeons that sound like they nest round the hot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gillfrom Dorchester on Thames

Perfection

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The staff were wonderful and the décor is tasteful.
We were in Room 41 with a fantastic view of the cathedral. We loved everything about this hotel, though with no lift, it's not ideal for everyone. Also, some guests may have a problem with the fact that there is no air conditioning in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Olde worlde hotel but modern facilities and fabulous view of the Cathedral from the bar, and from open air terrace across the road. Good Christmas decorations. Recently modernised room spotlessly clean. Staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe

Nice Hotel. Incredible location

Posted Sep 13, 2013
we had a very good time. the staff is friendly. the restautant is nice. the town (city) is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrickfrom Burbage, Leics

Delightful hotel in prime location in Wells.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The view from the bar- west front of Wells cathedral. The staff were attentive and informative.
Location: The hotel is in the centre of Wells with views over the cathedral.
We stayed for the August bank holiday weekend- The staff of the hotel were all polite and helpful. Breakfast was lovely - cooked to order and well worth the extra money on room only rate. As it was bank holiday the restaurant was fully booked both nights, this didn't bother us as there are plenty of places to go within walking distance of the hotel. The whole stay was enjoyable and good value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location in Wells

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: Food
Cons: Car park
The Swan is in a very good location for the Cathedral, shops and market place. There is a bus stop opposite. We were able to park in the car park at 4pm on Friday and not use it again until we left on Monday morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia, USA

Lovely Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: The heated bathroom
Cons: The thin walls
Location: Within view of the Cathedral and a 8 minute walk from the bus station.
I ended up staying here because it was the only location in Wells with vacancies at the time. It turned out to be a wonderful choice. The bed was fairly comfortable and the bathroom was lovely with a deep tub. The tea and biscuits were also nice to relax with while watching the television. The only downside was the walls were very thin. A loud conversation can be heard pretty well from a neighboring room. However, the breakfast was very nice and the staff were very helpful with any questions I had.