Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the centre of the vilage

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly welcome. Great location
Cons: Toilet was very difficult to flush. Need more drawers for clothes
Location: Excellent location - short walk to Dunster Castle
Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room was spacious and stylish. very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chippenham

Lovely location in the centre of Dunster.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Good choice of restaurants and pubs nearby and of course the Castle!
Good friendly welcome good rooms and dinner. Just beware the narrow entrance to the car park!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel in lovely location.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Location and helpful staff.
Cons: Ensure rooms ready for guests (these things happen!).
Location: Dunster Castle is very close and there is good access to Minehead and the North Somerset coast.
Not a great start to our two night stay as our room had not been prepared. However, problem was swiftly resolved by giving us an upgrade to a larger room for the first night. Hotel was comfortable, food was good and staff keen to please. Dunster is a lovely location as well as being convenient for touring Somerset and Exmoor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge, uk

good location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: NA
Cons: NA
Location: NA
could not get to stay in hotel, due to severe illness leading to hospitalisation. hotel staff very rude and were very unsympathetic, they would not consider a alternative stay to stay with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Devon

Centre of the village

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Everything. Staff friendly, food good.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Dunster castle. Good walking.
It was our ruby wedding so we wanted to do something special. We have never been to this part of the country, which is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torbay

Weekend Refresh

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, good food, good décor and central location
Location: Central village location and 2 minute walk to the Castle.
We arrived at the hotel to be warmly greeted and immediately shown to our room, which was the former stables. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We decided to eat in the Hotel, and the food was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean, although we wondered how warm it is in the winter months. Good choice of breakfast, and we both opted for the Full English, again all products were of a high quality. We both enjoyed our mini break and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Dunster.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely hotel nestled in this beautiful village

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Perfect location for Dunster Castle. Didn't have to use the car. Walked everywhere. Hospitality second to none. The staff were so friendly and helpful
Location: Dunster is a beautiful medievil village set in beautiful countryside on Exmoor National Park. The castle is a must to visit.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Our room was small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Ate both nights in the hotel, with their 321 offer, food was lovely. Breakfast was probably the best we have had anywhere. Owner upgraded us to the Dower Room 2nd day as it was our wedding anniversary. Just perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

A very warm welcome awaits

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The food, the staff and the location.
Cons: For the rates charged they offer all we required and more.
Location: The village is beautiful plenty of walks around the town and Dunster forest. There is also Dunster Castle which is less than five minutes walk away.
We had a 3 night stay at the hotel. From our arrival, we found the owners welcoming and engaging. The staff were excellent by being both friendly and professional. There are many places in Dunster to eat, yet such was the the quality of the food we ate there every night.The Friday night special menu was great value. Room was more than large enough and warm on a couple of chilly days. May sound somewhat of a gushy review, but after such a great stay I review as I experienced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

My room was no more than two star

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Central position. Friendly staff.
Cons: Bathroom needs a toilet roll holder, toilet flush lever needs to be fixed, so it flushes first go. One of the windows needs the catch fixed.
Location: Dunster Castle. Lovely medieval village.
The staff were wonderful; I have no complaint about them. They did more than I expected of them, except appear to take seriously the lack of hot water. It was the room that was the let down. If I had had hot water, I might have thought more of it, but for my two nights stay there I had only cold showers, and I did not get the feeling my complaint was taken seriously. In fact, I had the impression the staff knew I would only have cold, or at the most, mildly luck warm water, and I wondered how long it had been that way. The previous hotel I stayed in was a two star, and my room and facilities there were far better than the so-called four star room in this hotel. There might well be four star rooms, but the attic room is not one of these. I have stayed in hotels with different rooms rated differently, but they have been upfront about this. There was no extra blanket that I could find to add to my bed, and each night I was cold and needed to double over the bed cover to keep warm. I would expect a four star room to have a spare blanket. I would also expect more than a single cake of soap and a shower cap. All the four star hotels I have stayed in have had at the minimum soap and shampoo, and most have had more, such as body lotion, body wash, etc. Even the B&B I am staying in now has shampoo and body lotion. Dinner was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
It is a beautiful hotel with stunning decor.The room was stunning with a lovely view.Staff were extremely friendly and food was very reasonable.I would definitely recommend to stay at this hotel.I hope to stay there again soon!